PDA

View Full Version : Not worth the money?

Roger Hicks
06-23-2010, 05:19
Nothing to do with cameras. Or is it?

Most brandies, eaux de vie and whiskies are sold at 40% alcohol or less (as low as 37,5%).

Compare them with the real thing (cask strength) and they taste 'cardboardy'. Of course the weaker stuff is cheaper - it's diluted with (very cheap) water.

But I'd rather pay the extra, because the 'real thing' is simply better.

Quite unlike cameras, then.

Cheers,

R.

Thardy
06-23-2010, 05:31
Yes, nothing like cameras. ;)

hipsterdufus
06-23-2010, 05:46
I am no brandy expert, but I thought Paul Masson Grande Amber was a good brandy for the price. Of course, YMMV.

But generally with liquor, you get what you pay for. I've been getting into the Irish whiskeys lately. I particularly like Tullamore Dew 10 year. Scotch is still too "peaty" for my uneducated palate.

Of course, the next time I'm mixing a vodka/diet coke with (insert crappy vodka brand here) and some vodka snob comes up to me and goes off on the how awesome (insert expensive brand of vodka here) is, I'm going to flip out. When you're mixing liquor and diet coke, are you REALLY going to notice the difference in liquor quality? Especially enough to justify the price difference? In prohibition, mixers became popular to cover the taste of crappy moonshine. So why would I waste decent stuff on a mixed drink? Argh. Sorry about the rant, but it has happened to me way too much.

kevin m
06-23-2010, 05:50

It is, actually. Liquor is the end product, a camera is just a means to an end. A photograph and your favorite beverage are a good comparison, as is an oak aging barrel and a button-rewind M2.

sig
06-23-2010, 05:59