PDA

View Full Version : I'm lovin my new XA so far :)


strangerbeat
03-16-2010, 11:33
Just got done with a test roll... I love the pocketability with this thing! Due to it's light weight, I have a hard time keeping steady in low light, but I'll get used to it.

Anyone have any tips? I still dont know how to properly use the A11 flash... Once I pop it up, do I just leave it in that setting or can I then move to a different aperture and still have it expose correctly? :o

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4067/4431477098_0a7e7072cd.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2673/4430705525_17c02de11d.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2721/4430705497_46f3d5b9f5.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4021/4430707615_a3a5917bce.jpg

Juan Valdenebro
03-16-2010, 11:41
I got mine just a few months ago, and it's always on my pocket, even when I carry other camera... I hope it lasts many years!

Cheers,

Juan

PatrickT
03-16-2010, 11:43
Very nice shots...I especially like the second and fourth. I also have an XA that I carry with me from time to time...great little camera.

Never used the flash though!

coelacanth
03-16-2010, 11:49
Love the cloud shot especially. I need to put my XA4 to use more.

strangerbeat
03-16-2010, 11:53
thanks all :)

the flash looks great in B/W! kinda gives you that "Weegee" feel... havent used it much, but here's a shot.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2770/4431477154_877115e3bb.jpg

I'm definitely on the hunt for an XA4 this weekend... how are macros lookin on them?

coelacanth
03-16-2010, 12:03
I just got my XA4 from an RFF member (I was lucky), haven't ran an entire roll yet because I've been too busy shooting MFs and barnack at the moment. I had XA as well, but XA4 is truly more carry-and-snap-everyday camera in good way. The strap works as macro focusing scale is a really neat idea.

Downside of XA4 (and XA3, I believe) for me is DX reader for auto ISO. I often push 400 film to 1600 so I have to either scratch out the code on cartridge to fool the reader or wrap it with aluminum foil so I can set speed manually. Not too much of problem though.

Zonan
03-16-2010, 12:09
As I recall, you leave the flash in the mode you are in after you lift up the f-stop tab (which pops the flash). It then sets proper exposure. Don't forget to set the ISO on the flash (100 or 400)

agi
03-16-2010, 12:24
Coelacanth, just cover the DX coding and change the iso to whatever you want. I juse mailing labels to cover the darn thing all the time. Quick & easy. At least it's not like the Epic where you have to alter the DX to push/pull.

camera.bear
03-16-2010, 12:26
As I recall, you leave the flash in the mode you are in after you lift up the f-stop tab (which pops the flash). It then sets proper exposure. Don't forget to set the ISO on the flash (100 or 400)


Ditto! Exactly right.

I really love my XA as well. Super size and convenience; great pics.

djamorpheus
03-30-2010, 15:41
I'd like the last shot, if only you weren't in the car :)

not_in_good_order
04-03-2010, 20:00
I love my XA. I really like using the self timer sometimes since you can just set it down on a table and the autoexposure works really well. Here are a couple of examples of long exposures with the XA:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2526/4084764560_7b0c37e3a1_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/4084764560/in/set-72157622537041879)



http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2607/3880212200_e8957b5269_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/3880212200/in/set-72157622537041879)

Harlee
04-05-2010, 19:10
I've been shooting an XA for years and I've got some pics downloaded in the forum taken in Croatia, Slovenia, Poland, Hungary, etc. I'll see if I can locate a couple of them to download here. I head into Ukraine next Saturday and just put some film in one of my two XAs to take with me. Two of the downloaded shots were taken in Poland and one in Slovenia during a snow storm

Bingley
04-05-2010, 20:23
"I love my XA. I really like using the self timer sometimes since you can just set it down on a table and the autoexposure works really well."

+1

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3008/2931064924_76740ebbfa_o.jpg

David Hughes
05-13-2010, 13:00
Go to this page:-

http://camerapedia.org/wiki/Olympus_XA

Scroll down to "Links" and you'll find one for the A11 flash. Click on it and a zip file will try and download for you. Good luck.

Regards, David

Harlee
05-13-2010, 18:45
You may have noticed that when you move the lever to flash, if I recall, I think the aperature is set to F4. If you want to get a little more distance with your flash, you can move the aperature lever up to 2.8, and you'll notice that the aperature blades open up a stop more. This will give you a little more flash distance and since the flash is automatic, it'll still adjust for the proper exposure.

denmark.yuzon
05-13-2010, 19:08
XA, My sister has one.. and she loves every minute of shooting with it.. I've seen the shots.. all sharp!! I cant believe it is really sharp.. I might get another one because she might shoot it to death.. and for me too. LOL

Harlee
05-17-2010, 18:48
I recently returned from Ukraine and here are a few shots taken on my XA. I have 3 of them, two XAs and one XA2. While the XA2 is faster and easier to shoot, I really like the versatility of the XA, with its faster lens and aperature selection. One of my XAs will always travel with me, especially when traveling internationally. I'll have it with me in London in early July and back to Ukraine the last week of July.

porktaco
05-17-2010, 18:59
i've had mine for 23 years. love it.

DNG
06-25-2010, 18:40
You may have noticed that when you move the lever to flash, if I recall, I think the aperture is set to F4. If you want to get a little more distance with your flash, you can move the aperture lever up to 2.8, and you'll notice that the aperture blades open up a stop more. This will give you a little more flash distance and since the flash is automatic, it'll still adjust for the proper exposure.
This is good to know...
I would guess this is for shooting past the far end of the flashes capability with ISO 100 or 400 films far distance?

I just received my XA today with an A16 flash that works to boot.
I'll be heading out tomorrow to run the first roll through it.

Juan Valdenebro
06-25-2010, 19:09
I wonder if the use of flash drains some extra power from the camera batteries... I don't use flash, and maybe that's why after six months of using my XA with LR44s, exposures are perfect... I also thought today, that every time I've used it, all day I've kept it open, so it has been metering permanently and using battery power for that all the time...

Cheers,

Juan

DNG
06-25-2010, 19:27
I wonder if the use of flash drains some extra power from the camera batteries... I don't use flash, and maybe that's why after six months of using my XA with LR44s, exposures are perfect... I also thought today, that every time I've used it, all day I've kept it open, so it has been metering permanently and using battery power for that all the time...

Cheers,

Juan

I don't think so. Nothing in the manual of the flash or camera suggests this. As long the flash charge lamp is depressed, no power is used. The camera/flash connection is just an electrical signal connection AFAIK.

l.mar
06-25-2010, 19:29
As far as rangefinder cameras go, they don't get much easier to carry and use (and that's a good thing!).

http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Skopar/3-1.jpg