PDA

View Full Version : Rangefinder Problem with Leica Summicron 35mm


Unregistered
05-31-2005, 10:12
I tried a Leica Summicron 35mm on my RD-1 this week end and the rangefider window moved from the middle of the framelines closer to the upper left hand corner. Same thing with all other VC lenses. Has anyone had the same problem?

Thanks

Sean Reid
05-31-2005, 10:30
Please let me correct my earlier brain lapse, the rangefinder window only appears to move because of the moving frame lines. Thanks to the posters below.

Cheers,

Sean

pfogle
05-31-2005, 10:31
it's not a problem - it's a design feature ;)

the range finder window stays put while the frame lines move to correct for parallax. Hence the impression that the r/f window is moving.

Hope this helps
Phil

Ed Schwartzreic
05-31-2005, 10:48
This is actually an advantage for me over Leica's arrangement where the frames and the RF patch move together. It makes it easier to test lens focus with the camera on a tripod, just because the patch stays constant.

Philippe KIEFFE
06-01-2005, 02:24
I am sorry my message was perhaps not clear. The RF patch does not move when I change the framelines but it is not centered anymore. It shows up closer to the upper left corner. Is that an alignment problem or have I missed anything? I don't have that problem either on the Bessa R2 or on a M6.

Thanks for your help/

LCT
06-01-2005, 02:40
Hi Philippe.
With the R-D1 the framelines are moving when you focus but not the RF patch so that the latter does not stay in the center.
With a Leica M both the framelines and RF patch are moving simultaneously so that the latter does stay (approximately) in the center.
Hope this helps.
Best,
LCT

saxshooter
06-01-2005, 05:02
My guess that the RD-1 has a simpler (cheaper?) rangefinder/viewfinder mechanism than the Leica M so that only the framelines move to compensate for parralax. The rangfinder stays "put". Not a big deal.

I just got my RD-1 yesterday serial number 45xx and in a sealed box from B&H. I have been running it through the tests. So far no stuck pixels. My framelines don't seem "drunk" (still doing tests) but my rangefinder patch is ever so slightly tilted -- I noticed this because it wasn't parrallel to the framelines. I read some other posts on this. Not a big deal?

Sean Reid
06-01-2005, 10:39
Not a big deal.

Cheers,

Sean

pfogle
06-02-2005, 02:43
with mine, the rangefinder patch is also slightly tilted, and this seems to have the effect that the vertical alignment of the two images changes a bit with the distance. So I've had to adjust the aligment at a compromise distance of about 3m.

I might be wrong about this, but it seems to be connected to the tilted r/f patch. Anyone else noticed this?

Phil