PDA

View Full Version : Canon QL-17 & slide question.


Todd.Hanz
06-17-2004, 07:26
Is the meter on this camera accurate enough to shoot slide film with consistent results? The meter on mine seems accurate enough on my prints. I shoot alot of chrome with my Nikon gear but usually allow the Matrix metering to do all the calculation for me. I typically rate Provia at ISO 50 and wondered if anyone has had any experience with this and the QL-17?

Thanks,
Todd

pshinkaw
06-17-2004, 08:12
I would think that the QL-17 meter should be accurate enough. However, depending on how old the camera is and when it was last serviced, you could have a shutter speed problem. If the shutter has slowed down much it may not matter how accurate the meter is. When I lived in Houston, my old cameras always seemed to have sticky shutters (probably from the summertime humidity).

You might want to do a comparison test between your best Nikon and the QL-17 just to see if there is a difference and if it is acceptable.

-Paul

Kris
06-17-2004, 08:20
Your meter may be accurate but is your shutter accurate enough? Have you given it CLA recently? It is around 40 years old isn't it? As far as I remember the shutter/aperture only clicks at every 1 stop. That plus some error in metering plus error in actual shutter speed may give you over 1 stop over/under. Not acceptable for E6 unless you scan it and play around with curves.

Even with R2, my hit rate decreases when using E6 films. With my SLR, c.a. 90% of my shots are properly exposed. With R2, only c.a. 75% of them properly exposed.