PDA

View Full Version : Talk me out of buying a XA

MarkoKovacevic
02-10-2009, 12:09
I already have a stylus epic, but I want a XA for the old style and the quiet shutter. It is $110 canadian with shipping from KEH, which was the price of my Stylus epic new.

I really want it, but I don't know what I would do with the Stylus Epic.
Talk me out of buying one!

capitalK
02-10-2009, 12:22
I recently got a Stylus Epic second hand and used it as a backup snapshoot camera on a road trip last weekend. My friends are emailing digital P&S snapshots and in my opinion there's no comparison.

Missed focus a few times so the manual-focus XA could have come in handy, but I have no experience with it.

benlees
02-10-2009, 12:31
I recently got an XA and love it so I am not going to try and talk you out of it- except maybe say look for one for a little less $$.

Bike Tourist
02-10-2009, 12:39
Okay. Don't buy an XA.

funkaoshi
02-10-2009, 12:40
You can find them for much less than $110, on ebay and on craigslist. My friend has an XA. It's a nice camera, but the rangefinder is almost unusable. Perhaps this is just an issue with his copy. If you already have the Epic, i'm not sure what you gain the with XA. Also, max ISO is 800.

xayraa33
02-10-2009, 12:42
do it , go buy it.
enjoy your money before your lawyer does.

Ducky
02-10-2009, 12:42
The Epic is tough to beat.

rbiemer
02-10-2009, 12:45
OK, talk you out of it: It is too small to hold well, the shutter button is very sensitive and can fail before the rest of the camera, max iso of 800, focus is "fiddly"--very short throw from near to far, not built in flash and when the dedicated flash is attached the package is no longer the small pocket full it was, it's old.
The same arguments could be used in favor of the XA too, though...:)
Rob

Borghesia
02-10-2009, 12:59
I got a XA+flash for 12 euro's, 110,- dollars is too much.