PDA

View Full Version : Focus problems Trip 35

Tim Read
09-12-2008, 04:30
I am a newbie with this camera which seems to be in excellent condition but my results were badly out of focus despite my careful estimation of distance and use of zone symbols. Am I making a fundamental error? Thanks in anticipation.

Petroleum V. Nasby
09-12-2008, 04:46
Insufficient data.

TheHub
09-12-2008, 05:42
Can you give us some more info? What kind of film, specifically speed, did you use? What kind of lighting conditions?

Has the Trip recently been serviced?

Muggins
09-12-2008, 05:43
Hmm, I can do one of two things here.

1. I can post a pointless and ill-tempered remark to someone whose only "crime" is to be a bit wet behind the ears (a whole 24 less posts) or

2. I can try to help.

Luckily today I choose 2.

In terms of Trip expertise I'd try the group on Flickr, who seem to spend a lot of time fiddling with Trips: http://www.flickr.com/groups/olympustrip35/

If you post a scan or two it might help as well - and perhaps a close-up of the lens. It's possible that someone has had it apart and not got it back together right (there's very little difference in distance between close-up and infinity, so it's easy to reassemble incorrectly) - can't think of any other likely reason at the moment, though can think of one or two unlikely ones .

Adrian

Tim Read
09-12-2008, 11:41
Thanks for these replies and sorry to post insufficient data. I will get my act together and firstly put another roll of film through the camera and be more careful. If the problem persists I will post more details. Thanks again.

Gadge
09-12-2008, 11:51
try taking some pics that correspond to the pics on the trip 35 zone focus e.g. half a person, a whole person and some thing far enough away to be infinity (the mountains). Make sure you hold the camera still when taking those pics. If they still are not in focus then maybe something is wrong with the camera.

It is pretty basic so hard to go wrong really.