PDA

View Full Version : Olympus DC35 Overexposure problems


angrylittleboy
05-19-2008, 09:04
Recently, I purchased an Oly DC35. It was in so-so condition and I wasn't really expecting much from it. I popped in a 625 1.5 volt battery in it and ran a roll of film just to try it out. I was a bit surprised that it was able to take photos (even if the seals were gone, there wasn't any evidence of lightleaks).

However, the photos came out overexposed. I've read that this could be due to the higher voltage of the new batteries. Is there a way to overcome this?

zuikologist
05-19-2008, 09:17
I think a high voltage gives under-exposure, ie too much voltage for a given amount of light, hence the need to expose 400ASA film at 200ASA, to give 0.5 to 1.0ev additional exposure.

This might be a stupid question - was the ASA dial set correctly.

A low battery might give over-exposure?

I've hankered after a DC. I hope you can get your working.

jesse1dog
05-19-2008, 14:10
zuikologist might have a point about the ASA setting dial.
I've just picked up a 35DC with a stuck dial and I wonder why and how its stuck. Hope yours moves freely and does its job - easy to check if the camera has no film. I think I would start with that sort of check.
jesse

racoll
05-19-2008, 18:31
I use 625 Wein cells in my 35DC and don't have problems with the exposure. I hope you get your 35DC working because it's an incredible camera with one of Olympus' greatest lenses.

angrylittleboy
05-19-2008, 23:49
The asa dial does move freely and I set it to 200 for an asa200 film. I guess this will be going to a repair shop for calibration or something to make it usable. I was originally looking for an RD, but when I saw this being sold in a used camera shop, I knew I just had to get it.

Here are some samples from the test roll:

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67/jmchua/000012.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67/jmchua/000014.jpg