PDA

View Full Version : XA - disappearing rangefinder patch


dingadingdang
10-07-2007, 15:13
I've recently purchased an XA and put about six rolls through it on a trip home to the UK.

On the last couple of films I've noticed that the rangefinder patch disappears completely on some shots and I have to scale focus, the patch reappears in the next shot.

Is this a common problem? Is there anything I can do to sort this out?

cmedin
10-07-2007, 15:20
Is there a chance you might be covering up the little rangefinder window with a finger or something?

dingadingdang
10-07-2007, 15:42
well, I think I was careful but now you say it that would seem to be the obvious cause, I'll check next time I use the XA

cmedin
10-07-2007, 15:44
It happens to me all the time with my Kiev 4...

drewbarb
10-07-2007, 15:44
The XA can be finicky- the RF patch is really small, and if your eye isn't in just the right spot, it can be damned hard to see. Plus, it's really easy to cover accidentally with a finger or even the strap. I scale focus with this camera at least as much as I use the RF patch, and it works great. Using an XA for a long time is one of the reasons I'm a pretty good judge of distance- a handy skill to have as an RF shooter.

prestonchan
10-07-2007, 18:56
did u try this out ?
http://rick_oleson.tripod.com/index-165.html

dingadingdang
10-08-2007, 15:10
thanks guys, I'm pretty sure I must have been covering the rangefinder patch!
I'll post some pics once I've scanned some decent ones in!

dingadingdang
10-10-2007, 15:58
Hmm, I had another play around this morning, it's quite strange, I'm definitely not blocking up the rangefinder window, the rangefinder spot just doesn't appear about 75% of the time when I open the camera.
It seems to be linked with positioning of the film or something, when the spot is not there if I try to move the film along there is a click and the spot pops up (although the film doesn't move).
I take it this is abnormal?

prestonchan
10-11-2007, 08:03
I guess it has nothing to do with the flim, but as dresbarb said, you have to look though the VF at a correct spot, which takes u some time to find it out.
I have the same problem as you do before and that's why I suggest the below link to u, try it out, just one little work and u can see the different
http://rick_oleson.tripod.com/index-165.html

dingadingdang
10-11-2007, 08:26
thanks but I think it's something different, sometimes the spot is very clear sometimes it's not there at all