PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Do you...?

NL2377
02-14-2007, 15:25
Do you Shoot from the waist?

after voting, if you do shoot from the waist, tell us what you find the hardest part about it... If you dont, tell us why you dont...

Thanks!

M4streetshooter
02-14-2007, 15:34
Not necessarilly from the waist but I kinda float the camera around either up or down, sideways, on angle sometimes....the funny thing is that with my M4 and 35 summicron...I can just about see the final image...no matter the camera position....I am still learning to do this with my R-D1s and 35mm.....in time....

I learned this from a guy that I used to be friends with...Paul Cava...back in "72"....he taught me to be free with my vision....I still am....don

sjw617
02-14-2007, 15:36
No, not from the waist. I generally have the camera on a tripod.

NL2377
02-14-2007, 22:56
I can just about see the final image...no matter the camera position....

I learned this from a guy that I used to be friends with...Paul Cava...back in "72"....he taught me to be free with my vision....I still am....don

I've got to work more on that... that, and judging exposure value. I think that I can meter off of peoples eyes if I study it hard enough.

Xmas
02-14-2007, 23:14
The zero % success

Noel

RayPA
02-14-2007, 23:34
I do occassionally use the hipshot, but rarely from waist-level or below chest level. I call any shot that wasn't framed through the veiwfinder a hipshot. Most of my hipshots are just held near my face (off to one side, or just below my chin), or at my chest or arms-length away from my body. I rarely shoot below my belly-button. I don't like the angle. It LOOKS like a "hip"shot.

:

pvdhaar
02-15-2007, 00:16
What's wrong with bending the knees every now and then?

kully
02-15-2007, 06:41
I'm with Peter on the knee bending - I've even bought myself a knee-pad to save my joint.

I've tried, but it nearly always looks crap.

I do hip-shooting with my TLR - but then I have no choice.

pesphoto