PDA

View Full Version : It's Alive My RC is Alive.


flashover
01-26-2007, 17:20
Got this little RC a while ago at the Goodwill. It was missing the Speed dial and when a battery was installed nothing. A kind fellow from BC sent me a dial and screw. So I had been using it with my VC meter mounted. Looked a little funny. 3 buck camera and 100 dollar meter in the shoe. Anyway opened it up and popped out the battery case. What do you know the wire was corrorded off. A little work and some solder and it works. Me so happy. :D

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/61/196571942_1e0cb4c48b.jpg

Lou Iaquinto
01-26-2007, 17:35
Very nice John, well done!

Lou

Solinar
01-26-2007, 17:35
It looks like a clean one, too.

back alley
01-26-2007, 17:35
one of my all time favourite cameras!

flashover
01-26-2007, 17:37
now I need to figure out what size the lens is for a filter and cap. Hum sounds like work.

back alley
01-26-2007, 17:57
43.5


not so hard

flashover
01-26-2007, 18:00
nope not now..........thanks Joe

Archie
01-27-2007, 01:54
The patch is quite small but otherwise it's a great little camera. So have fun with yours.

What kind of battery do you use? (Just shooting sunny 16 atm)

flashover
01-27-2007, 05:51
a zinc/air hearing aid battery. I use an o ring on the battery and it fits very well. Also plugged 4 of the little holes to reduce air entering and prolong the battery life.

Igor.Burshteyn
01-27-2007, 07:15
It always feels good to salvage camera. Post some pictures - those that I saw from 35rc were very sharp - as sharp as it gets in 135 format. I still need to shot with my 35sp something that compares (sharpness-wise) with my brother's 35rc.

Trius
01-28-2007, 15:34
The lens is the reason I hold on to my RC. The filter ring is dented in which bothers me, though of course it doesn't affect the photos. I think the meter needs calibrating, the seals need replacing, I have a QL GIII cla that needs to be completed, and a ton of other things to do. But the RC lens ... hmmmm.

flashover
01-28-2007, 15:53
Bin playing with the RC on and off all day. I am now sure it's working well and Just loaded a roll of film. Checked the seals and to my surprise they were in very good condition and didn't need to be replaced.