PDA

View Full Version : what film setting do you use?


pete
02-04-2005, 08:54
i use the "standard" setting on mine. i also use the epson raw converter instead of cs camera raw. it seems to do a much better job with little other than the occasional white balance tweak. if you use something different, what are the settings, and why?

Sean Reid
02-04-2005, 11:50
Pete,

I work primarily in B&W with the R-D1. I shoot everything in RAW with the camera set to B&W so that all my previews are in B&W when I'm sorting and editing. I do all RAW conversions in PhotoRAW.

Cheers,

Sean

pete
02-04-2005, 12:53
sean, i meant which "film setting" do you use. there is a menu option that allows selection of noise, edge, tint, saturation etc. you need to choose one whether you shoot color or black and white.

thanks for the reply...

jlw
02-04-2005, 14:05
sean, i meant which "film setting" do you use. there is a menu option that allows selection of noise, edge, tint, saturation etc. you need to choose one whether you shoot color or black and white.

thanks for the reply...

The "film" settings (really groups of preset values) don't apply if you're shooting in raw format -- but I usually shoot in JPEG because I need the larger capacity and faster write speed.

So, I have a couple of different film settings I use. One is for dim, contrasty lighting such as stage lights: the contrast and edge settings are set to the lowest values. (The reason for turning down the edge setting is to avoid sharpening noise pixels.)

Another is for when I want "crisp" results when shooting at low ISOs: it has the edge and saturation settings turned up one notch above the middle.

I'm still experimenting with these, and they don't have a HUGE effect on the image -- more for fine-tuning. Still, it's handy to have them, and nice to be able to store several pre-set combinations.

imagineitframed
02-04-2005, 16:24
I believe the film settings you choose can be overridden in raw conversion, however, if you do not override them, they are automatically applied by the raw converter.
I personally set noise reduction to high when shooting at high ISO's. When converting the raw files I just tweak color balance and the noise conversion takes place at level 4 rather than the default of 0. I think this would apply to saturation, edge, etc.
(all this assumes using photoRAW, not CS)

Sean Reid
02-04-2005, 16:29
Hi Pete,

I should been clearer in my post. I always shoot RAW and thus ignore the in-camera settings entirely save for the B&W setting. That was my point. I then make decisions in RAW conversion but only for those few files that survive my edits.

Cheers,

Sean

David Kieltyka
02-04-2005, 19:16
One thing to note is that you must have noise reduction enabled in the camera if you want to avoid lots of hot pixels with long exposures. I use the Film 1 preset with NR set High, which turns on dark frame subtraction, for such photos. With NR on High the R-D1 can take clean photos with exposures in the six to seven minute range. Beyond this thermal noise starts to creep in at the top right of the image.

-Dave-