PDA

View Full Version : My Oly SP35 arrived, time to get acquainted


ishpop
01-22-2007, 11:19
This is my first rangefinder actually (won it on ebay mistakenly after already purchasing a yashica GSN from a fellow RFF member), so looking through the viewfinder I quickly was able to determine how to focus, although I admit it felt a bit strange. ;)

I picked up some film to try out, was curious what you all recommend, here are my options:

Kodak Professsionla ultra Color 100uc
Ilford Delta Pro 100
Fuji Super G +
Fuji Superia 100

I have been checking out sites like Cameraquest for info on this camera, but should probably read something a little more in depth before I start wasting film... :)

Thanks in advance for any pointers!

Scott

Trius
01-22-2007, 12:20
Congratulations & Welcome! As the 35SP evangelist around here (I think Rich Silfver still reigns as the high priest), I am certainly pleased we have a new convert.

You will enjoy drinking the Oly kool-aid ... er, using the camera. :D

shadowfox
01-22-2007, 12:42
If Trius is just an evangelist, I'm but a mere scribe or acolyte (y'know, the ones you kick up from their slumber to fetch a pail of water or light the gazillion candles around the monastery ;) )

Welcome to the Brotherhood of 35 SPness! post your pics often and be careful with the sharp lens...

Oops, forgot about the film suggestion, this one using cheap expired Ilford XP2:
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/117/297834338_1170fabe26.jpg

zuikologist
01-22-2007, 12:45
Any of the films you mentioned should be fine. It might be worth experimenting to find your own preference. I mostly use Fuji Superia and Neopan 400Cn or Ilford XP2 - all work well.

ishpop
01-22-2007, 18:52
Well it looks like my spot-metering button is missing... So maybe will have to use this baby in auto-auto mode untill I get it fixed. What are all your thoughts on doing this? Does it defeat the purpose of getting this puppy in the first place to use it in auto-mode?

ishpop
01-22-2007, 19:02
I just used baby and puppy in a matter of two sentances, for that, I will understand if none of you want to reply...

:angel:

flashover
01-22-2007, 19:11
I just picked up a 35 SPn on Sun. Looks like a nice little camera. The metering takes some getting use to. The rf is a touch off at infinity. Anyone know where you adjust it?

Bill58
01-22-2007, 19:47
Well it looks like my spot-metering button is missing... So maybe will have to use this baby in auto-auto mode untill I get it fixed. What are all your thoughts on doing this? Does it defeat the purpose of getting this puppy in the first place to use it in auto-mode?

The guys in Dallas (email: [email protected]) might be able to help w/ missing button IF they aren't shut down already. Rumor is they are in the process of doing so.

Bill

ishpop
01-22-2007, 20:45
Thanks Bill, I sent them an email.

Trius
01-23-2007, 03:14
ishpop: The SP should work pretty well without the spot meter button, but of course getting it replaced is preferable and increases the utility of the camera. The viewfinder, handling and lens are other strong points, so no, it's not the sole reason for having an SP.

John: There is a recessed screw just above the top film rail that adjusts the horizontal alignment. I've never fiddled with it (haven't had to), so I don't have experience but I presume the procedure is the same as with other RFs.

I think the vertical adjustment is beneath the top plate, but it's too early in the morning for me ... ;)

ishpop
01-23-2007, 19:26
ishpop: The SP should work pretty well without the spot meter button, but of course getting it replaced is preferable and increases the utility of the camera. The viewfinder, handling and lens are other strong points, so no, it's not the sole reason for having an SP.

John: There is a recessed screw just above the top film rail that adjusts the horizontal alignment. I've never fiddled with it (haven't had to), so I don't have experience but I presume the procedure is the same as with other RFs.

I think the vertical adjustment is beneath the top plate, but it's too early in the morning for me ... ;)

Thanks Trius, I will shoot a roll with it as is and see how I do. Certainly seems like it will be a little tougher to know I have "exact" focus, but as I seem to have read in these forums, thats not really the point of RF photography. :)

ishpop
01-27-2007, 14:51
Well, it looks like my 35SP is broken. I have wasted two rolls of film now trying to get the shutter release to advance properly. I load the film, then try to take the first shot after cranking once, and I cannot press down with normal strength. If I use my thumb and press harder, with considerable force, it will then release the shutter and advance the film count in the window. I think my shutter button/mechanism needs an overhaul, or I can just watch ebay for the next "good condition" 35SP that comes up...

:confused:

Andrew McPhee
01-28-2007, 02:01
Shame about your SP being broken. I haven't any experience of the problem so I can't offer much advice, maybe others can tho. If you got it cheap and the rest of it is in good nick then maybe its worth getting a tech to look at it. But they are fairly common on eBay so it might be just as well waiting on a known good one...it's a tough decision.

ishpop
01-28-2007, 11:09
Yeah I might just opt for one that is either CLA'd or seemingly in better working condition. Maybe a RFF member will be selling one soon.

:)

Trius
01-28-2007, 14:08
I'd agree to shop for one in better condition. A top-notch CLA wil run about $90USD, plus shipping both ways. This one seems to have a problem that could be serious.