PDA

View Full Version : Colorblind photographers??!!?

Bryce
11-18-2006, 15:58
In the thread about the hideous (or not) Ralph Gibson MP, the subject of colorblindness has come up. As a colorblind photographer myself, I do have to wonder... How many of us are there? Do we tend to favor B+W? For those who work in color, how you manage it?
The poll is anonymous, for those who'd rather not reveal their identity. Yes, there is stigma and misunderstanding out there towards the colorblind.
Also, the poll allows multiple answers; the last three questions concern how your vision affects your choices- do you shoot color, and if so how do you deal with color correction?
I'm deuteranomalous, shoot mostly B+W, and survived color class by getting help from friends.

MinorTones
11-18-2006, 16:06
I mix up a few colors, blacks, browns, purple, blue and gray to name a few. Its not bad though.

It takes practice. I sucked at color printing in school, but as soon as I got to work with photoshop I started to pick up color correcting a lot more. I bet I could color print very well now, but I dont have the supplies for that anymore.

I like B/W but I'm just as comfortable shooting in color.

-Mitch

Bryce
11-18-2006, 16:43
Mitch-
I've never worked with chemical color printing, but I struggle with it on screen. I just get help when I need it.
I took a certificate course in photography, and half of it was color. I got through it just fine, but something came to light during this- how much disagreement there was about color balance and naming among my color normal classmates.
I don't think I ever told my teacher or fellow students about myself; just compensated as best I could, asked for help at home, and otherwise winged it. I decided I'd "come clean" if it became necessary, but it never did.

wolves3012
11-18-2006, 16:44