PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to rangefinders

Michiel Siegers
01-08-2016, 02:52
Hi all,

I am new to rangefinders. I have treated myself to 2 Olympus rangefinders.
Trip35 and 35SP.
Will take some time to get used to shooting a rangefinder opposed to a SLR or my Hassy for that matter.
Here they are...
The 35SP came without anything, so I made my own neck strap out of a leather shoe-lace and some left over leather offcuts and some string. Cost: 0 as I had everything lying around.

I do have a question though about the meter in the 35SP.
When I meter a scene and then use the spot meter, it always without fail jump up an EV or so, no matter if I point to a lighter area or a darker area. I have checked it with my Minolta Spot meter and that one does go down in value when pointing to a darker area. Is this behaviour due to the Alkaline (1.5V) battery I am using or is there something really wrong with the meter in the camera?
I am still going through the first roll and conducting several tests, but thought asking the question on here might be useful anyway.

Cheers,

Michiel

tyrone.s
01-09-2016, 23:59
:)Hi Michiel and welcome to the forum!

I've not got a lot of experience with the Olympus 35SP, but I believe that the meter won't work correctly with a 1.55volts alkaline battery. You might be able to address the issue by altering the ASA setting for the camera - up perhaps if it's reading too high?

There are, I think, adapters that you can fit that add a resistor to lower the voltage to the correct 1.35 volts.

Alternatively you can buy a Wein Cell MRB626 which provides equivalent voltage to the old mercury batteries - these cells are used for hearing aids I believe. They don't last as long as alkaline or the original mercury cells, but they're pretty cheap and will get you out and using the camera. Just keep a few spares as they tend to die and they also don't discharge in a helpful way - i.e. voltage drops and meter readings go off, I think.