PDA

View Full Version : Serious about photography?

Roger Hicks
05-08-2011, 13:59
All counterfactual conditionals are true. But here are three questions.

1 For those who earn(ed) a living partly or wholly from photography, how many of you reckon you could earn/have earned more from something else? For example, I have a law degree; studied accountancy; and am a qualified teacher. Even teaching would probably have paid more than what I chose. Then again, "what I chose" embraces, to a large extent, "what I damn' well feel like doing, which doesn't include working hard at things I don't like doing."

2 For those who earn/have earned their living elsewhere, how many of you reckon you could earn/have earned more from photography?

3 Do you regret your choice?

Number 3 is of course the kicker. And for what it's worth, my answers are 1, Yes, 2, Not applicable (at least since the age of 31, which answers the question), and 3, No. At least, not usually.

Cheers,

R.

srtiwari
05-08-2011, 14:07
In my case, I thought often about not going into my current profession, and instead choosing whatever happened to be my passion du jour - Photography, Golf, Music ,etc. Luckily for me, I did not give up my day job for any of these. But do I regret it anyway ? Of course, I do !

SciAggie
05-08-2011, 14:19
My point of view is that making my primary income at something other than photography is what allows me to be serious about MY photography. I do make a fraction of my annual income from photography, but that involves work that I WANT to do and I am interested in doing.
My answer to your second question reflects the first; I could make more money from photography, but I would have to do work I don't want to do and put up with people and situations I had rather not deal with. I have found a sort of niche of clients that like what I do and that, in general I enjoy working for.