PDA

View Full Version : Buying the same camera twice

Roger Hicks
03-27-2011, 01:40
Sell a camera (or lens)... Realize you miss it... Buy another the same. Surprisingly many RFF members seem to regard this as the norm. Why? Who else has never done it, and who makes a habit of it?

The only time I've done it was with a 135/2.8 Elmarit-M, because it was so much better on an M8 than on film. If I found a 58/1.4 Nikkor I might consider it, or a 150/6.3 Tessar, but even then, I doubt it. I sold both 30 years ago, but I've never really missed them that much.

Of course there have been times I've bought a camera cheap, to swap or sell on (my last M3, for example), but that's not quite the same thing.

Cheers,

R.

Austerby
03-27-2011, 01:50
Agree entirely: I've often noted correspondents here describing how they have had multiple copies of the same model. I've owned several different M Leicas but never the same model more than once.

fixbones
03-27-2011, 01:52
Since I started shooting film, I have sold:

Nikon D700 and lens, Konica Hexar AF, ZI, Zeiss 50 C Sonnar, CV 28mm f3.5.

So far, no longing to revisit all those gears........ yet

ReeRay
03-27-2011, 02:05
Frequently reminisced but always avoided the temptation.

Pickett Wilson
03-27-2011, 02:23
I've bought again a couple of cameras I owned years ago out of nostalgia, but you really can't go home again. Contrary to my memory of how great they were, in reality they were just old, clunky cameras.

HuubL
03-27-2011, 02:35
I'm a shooting collector. I sometimes get two of the same, keep the nicest and sell the other. The only M I've two of is the M4. Can't decide to keep the Cla'd one with the original levers or the very late one with the M3 style levers...:)

Jamie123
03-27-2011, 02:42