Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > 120 / 220 film RF's

120 / 220 film RF's 120 / 220 format rangefinders including Fuji, Koni-Omega, Mamiya Press, Linhof 6x7/6x9 cameras, Mamiya 6/7 among others, but excluding the 120 folders and the Voigtlander 667 cameras that have their own forums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Mamiya 6 shutter problems in cold weather
Old 10-30-2015   #1
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Mamiya 6 shutter problems in cold weather

I've found that my 6 works just fine at room temperature, but when I took it out for a shoot at 5C (about 40F), the shutter button wouldn't re-set, and thus I couldn't advance the film to the next exposure. I had a spare set of brand new batteries with me, so I popped those in. But still nothing. I thought later that perhaps if I had kept the batteries in my pocket, that might have made a difference. However, it wouldn't have taken very long for those tiny batteries to lose their small amount of heat to the massive bulk of the camera anyways.

I could use the "stop-release" button to re-set things, but I don't want to have to rely on that.

Back home, at room temperature, everything is back to normal.

Has anyone else had a similar problem with the 6 at cold temps? I see this thread is applicable: http://rangefinderforum.com/forums/s...6+shutter+cold

But I was just wondering if it's a common phenomenon? And and what temp's does the 6 start to act up? I'll have to sell the unit, but I'd like to be able to warn a potential buyer that at a certain temp, the camera is inoperable.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-2015   #2
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Now I have my doubts about the batteries being the issue. I left the unit out in the cold to equilibrate to about 5C. I quickly brought it in, confirmed that the shutter button wasn't re-setting, and then tested the battery voltages. Both of them were 1.56 volts, straight out of the cold camera. So perhaps there is some electrical or mechanical contact in there that doesn't like the cold.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-30-2015   #3
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
The following thread is interesting (see the last response regarding a magnet): http://photo.net/medium-format-photography-forum/003ieU

The description of the effects mirrors what was happening to my 6 exactly. Anyone care to guess if those magnets are still around?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-31-2015   #4
john_s
Registered User
 
john_s is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 729
There is a link to a post of mine at photo.net here:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=99875

It seems to be part of the interlock system. I still haven't had mine repaired as I have a spare body. I think the parts are available. It's about time I had this fixed. If I make enquiries soon I'll report back.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2015   #5
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by john_s View Post
There is a link to a post of mine at photo.net here:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=99875

It seems to be part of the interlock system. I still haven't had mine repaired as I have a spare body. I think the parts are available. It's about time I had this fixed. If I make enquiries soon I'll report back.
Sounds like the same issue. Thanks John.

Anyways, after hitting that emergency release button quite a few times, the camera's behaviour seems to have changed a bit. Now it works in the cold (I left it out in shed for a few hours this morning when it was a bit below freezing). And not only does it work in the cold, but at room temperature, the various clicks are a bit different. Before, there were three distinct clicks (shutter opening, then shutter closing, then a split second later, a louder click...to allow the frame advance?). But now, I just hear two clicks. Perhaps it's just shutter open and shutter close, or perhaps the frame advance click is now simultaneous with the shutter close click.

I'll have to send a roll of film through it on a cold shoot to verify that everything is working well, though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2015   #6
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
I spoke too soon. Now that the camera has warmed up again, I do have the split second interval between the two later clicks. The two-click behaviour only seemed to happen when the camera was cold.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2015   #7
Michiel Fokkema
Michiel Fokkema
 
Michiel Fokkema's Avatar
 
Michiel Fokkema is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: the Netherlands
Age: 50
Posts: 966
I had exactly the same problem few years ago. It seems it had to do with some ball bearings in the lens. I had it cla'd and the problem was gone.
__________________
Some Pictures
The BLOG
The website
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2015   #8
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
I did another test. Left it out at freezing temps for about an hour, then, with a dummy roll, starting winding and clicking. For the 1st exposure, I needed to use the emergency button to get to the 2nd. But then the next 3 or 4 exposures went OK. Then another exposure when I had to use the button. Then another 3 or 4 that were OK. But then every exposure after that, until the end, necessitated the emergency button. So now I'm wondering what would happen if I somehow was able to keep the button in the depressed position. Krazy Glue, perhaps?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2015   #9
Evan Bedford
Registered User
 
Evan Bedford is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Bedford View Post
...now I'm wondering what would happen if I somehow was able to keep the button in the depressed position. Krazy Glue, perhaps?
Scrap that idea. I tried it while holding the button in with a paper clip. It would let me advance, but the next frame wouldn't allow a shutter opening. Guess I'll have to live with it. Either keep a paper clip on hand at all times, or sell it for parts.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2015   #10
john_s
Registered User
 
john_s is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Bedford View Post
.... or sell it for parts.
I think it's repairable, but I don't know how much it could cost. Also, I did read a post where someone had a technician to disable the interlock rather than source parts. Worked like a charm but there was a downside. I think it was that it could be wound on multiple times without taking a shot, so he had to be mindful.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.