Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > 35mm Film Range Finders > Olympus RF

Olympus RF This forum is for the Olympus rangefinders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Olympus 35RC Meter
Old 08-30-2007   #1
tkgross
Registered User
 
tkgross is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Olympus 35RC Meter

Received an apparently great shape 35RC from ebay seller. In manual mode, everything seemed to be operating properly.

BUT when I put battery in, and put camera in "A" mode, as I depressed the shutter, the aperture needle always went into the RED zone, preventing picture taking. This happened regardless of shutter speed (whose needle indicated the correct speed) or ASA setting.

I did all this without film in the camera. Do I have to have film for the meter to work?

Seller is willing to refund, but I would like to keep if I can get it to work.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-2007   #2
kully
Happy Snapper
 
kully's Avatar
 
kully is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Age: 35
Posts: 2,537
You don't need film in the camera to test the meter. Are you sure the ISO speed is set correctly and the shutter speed is "sensible" (i.e. not on 1/15 in sunshine with ISO at 800 or 1/500 indoors)?

The other thing is the speed at which the shutter button is pressed matters - it must be a slow depress, too quick and you will get the red lockout or the wrong reading.

Is the battery in the right way?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-2007   #3
tkgross
Registered User
 
tkgross is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Unhappy

Well, I tried ASA400 with 1/30th sec inside with window providing light. As I SLOWLY depress shutter, the needle gradually moves to the left. The more I depress, the more it moves until with shutter all the way depressed, it is in red box.

Went outside, changed to ASA100 and 1/250. Same thing. I guess meter is not working.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-2007   #4
greyhoundman
Registered User
 
greyhoundman is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
Dollar to a doughnut the battery wire is corroded off at the battery compartment.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-2007   #5
tkgross
Registered User
 
tkgross is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
After reading much info about battery substitutes, I decided to try inserting an aluminum foil shim, AND IT APPEARS TO BE WORKING.

Will load film and see.

Thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2008   #6
malkmata
Registered User
 
malkmata's Avatar
 
malkmata is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 519
tkGross,
I just got an Oly 35RC a couple of weeks ago with the same meter problem. How did you innsert the aluminum foil? I would like to try it. Is it still working for your camera?
Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:10.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.