Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Anyone using the Epson V700 yet?
Old 05-19-2006   #1
jamiewakeham
Long time lurker
 
jamiewakeham is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, GB
Posts: 350
Anyone using the Epson V700 yet?

Hi all

Just spent an evening wrestling with my shiny new V700, and I'm nearly ready to throw it out the window...

When I use EpsonScan, it happily tries to scan all the negs I've put in (strips of six) but gets confused as to where each frame starts and finishes, so some of its images are of two half-frames. Gah.

And SilverFast SE seems determined to only let me set up one frame at a time. However I use it, it shows me the whole platen glass and only lets me select one frame area. the one frome i tell it to scan is coming in beautifully - seems much crisper than the DualScan IV I borrowed a while back - but I can't do this one at a time!

Any ideas?

Cheers
Jamie
__________________
DS M3 & RD-1 with 35/1.2 Nokton, J3, rigid 'cron and 90 tele-elmarit --- Canonet QL-17
SPII with 35/2.4, 50/4, 85/1.8, 135/3.5 --- Arax MLU with Arsat 80/2.8 and Sonnar 180/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #2
pstevenin
Registered User
 
pstevenin's Avatar
 
pstevenin is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Paris
Age: 49
Posts: 170
I usually have the same behavior with my old 4870. I still use epson provided sofware, but do not select auto pre-scan option but ask for the full page pre-scan and then select manually what I really want to scan (this is the standard way for MF). They tried to automate it, but as soon as the edge of the frame is not contrasted enough with the inter-frame space, this automation is fooled.

It is boring, but at least you scan really want you want (and I've discovered that almost all my negs are not 24*36 , depends on the focal & focussing distance...)
__________________
My gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #3
jamiewakeham
Long time lurker
 
jamiewakeham is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, GB
Posts: 350
Damn. So I'm stuck with telling SilverFast exactly which frame to scan?

Is there a way I can tell it about all of the frames and then leave it to do the scanning all at once?

Cheers
Jamie

ps I'm dying to post examples! Maybe after the weekend...
__________________
DS M3 & RD-1 with 35/1.2 Nokton, J3, rigid 'cron and 90 tele-elmarit --- Canonet QL-17
SPII with 35/2.4, 50/4, 85/1.8, 135/3.5 --- Arax MLU with Arsat 80/2.8 and Sonnar 180/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #4
butch
Registered User
 
butch is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 134
I had my third session with my V700 last night. The first two were with slides and other than having trouble with setting the resolution things worked o.k. Well last night I put in four strips of black and white. My first pre-scan gave me a complete scan of the film holder with the strips in place. After several attempts to fix this I found a button that reset the scanner to the factory defalts, I guess. After a fresh start it scanned correctly but added a couple of of the previously mis-scanned negatives. When I can get it to work, it does as well as my Nikon dedicated film scanner. I'm really frustrated with the SilverFast program and am considering getting the VueScan download. Please keep us up-dated with you progress in hopes that I can learn from your successes.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #5
jamiewakeham
Long time lurker
 
jamiewakeham is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, GB
Posts: 350
So you did manage to get to select individual frames from a negative strip? Was that with EpsonScan or SilverFast?

And did either of the programs successfully pick up all the individual images from mounted slides? I've yet to try that...

btw, have you read Vincent Oliver on the V700? Specifically, his findins regarding the height adjustment? it's here: http://www.photo-i.co.uk/Reviews/int...700/page_1.htm

Cheers
Jamie
__________________
DS M3 & RD-1 with 35/1.2 Nokton, J3, rigid 'cron and 90 tele-elmarit --- Canonet QL-17
SPII with 35/2.4, 50/4, 85/1.8, 135/3.5 --- Arax MLU with Arsat 80/2.8 and Sonnar 180/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #6
butch
Registered User
 
butch is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 134
Jamie,
When I pre scan the 12 slides, I get 12 thumbnails. I can then select one or as many as I want to actually scan. With the B&W I get 24 thumbnails and can scan any or all. They are whisked off to "my pictures" where I can open a new folder and drag the individual scans for storage. I have only gotten EpsonScan to work, At the moment SilverFast is a future learning project. What bothered me last night.was the aberrations where my film holder was treated like a document with out the top glass being covered by the white attachment. Maybe the transparency lock has something to do with it. I'll find out more tonight. Thanks for the tip on the read. I'll check that out.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #7
jamiewakeham
Long time lurker
 
jamiewakeham is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, GB
Posts: 350
Cool. I wonder if the filmbase of Tri-X is a little too dense, confusing the program as to where each frame finishes. I've a load of HP5 which (IIRC) has a less dense base; I'll try that next!

I'll come back on Monday with some scans and (one hopes) some wisdom!

Take care
Jamie
__________________
DS M3 & RD-1 with 35/1.2 Nokton, J3, rigid 'cron and 90 tele-elmarit --- Canonet QL-17
SPII with 35/2.4, 50/4, 85/1.8, 135/3.5 --- Arax MLU with Arsat 80/2.8 and Sonnar 180/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #8
butch
Registered User
 
butch is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 134
one other gripe before I get back to work. The film holder for film strips is very ill-conceived. The slide holder is great but I wish the strip holder from my old Canon would work on the Epson. I like the speed and quality the the 700 gives but there is a lot of poor design IMHO.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #9
LazyHammock
Registered User
 
LazyHammock is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 248
I just received a V700 two days ago. my first impressions are positive although it seems a little slow. Using the Epson software I've successfully scanned 35mm b+w neg and color slides, MF and 4x5. Make sure that you select the option to use the film holders, that worked ok for me - the preview brought up a thumbnail each frame ok. Silverfast seems to scan the whole platen area and you have to select each frame individually.
I haven't done any testing with the height adjuster yet. I'd be interested to hear other peoples experiences with this scanner - I suspect this will be much more of a learning curve than my older nikon IV.
Cheers,
Nick
__________________
Nick's Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #10
sf
Registered User
 
sf is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,817
Why don't ya'll post some sample scans? We'd like to see them!

Just because we're curious.

or maybe one of you wants to participate in the ultimate scanner comparison :

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=22719

see if someone there would send you their negs to scan.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #11
butch
Registered User
 
butch is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 134
George,
I have a dial up modum at the house. The last time I tried to down load a few shots of an item I was selling, I sat there for about 30 minutes and still did not complete. Is there a way to get around this? So I don't high-jack this thread, PM me if you know a way.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #12
Gid
Registered User
 
Gid's Avatar
 
Gid is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 1,591
Siverfast SE doesn't support batch scanning. You need AI for that - SE plus may have it but the Silverfast website info is a bit confusing.

If you've previuosly previewed in normal mode and selected your frames manually, I've noticed that they stay there if you set up and preview another set of negs and could well be in the wrong place. Key is, select thumbnail from the drop down next to the preview button if you're scanning 35mm negs or slides and normal for everything else.
__________________
My Gallery

My Top Ten

Gid
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #13
Jocko
Off With The Pixies
 
Jocko's Avatar
 
Jocko is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: March, Cambridgeshire
Age: 50
Posts: 1,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutterflower
Why don't ya'll post some sample scans? We'd like to see them!

Just because we're curious.
I got a 700 earlier this week. I had nearly all the problems described by other users, but got scans in the end simply by doing all I could manually, by sheer trial and error.

All the images in my gallery are from negatives scanned in the 700.

As has been said - a real learning curve.

Cheers, Ian
__________________
I'm not here any more!

Gone to Croatan - and Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/9842362@N04/

My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #14
Ukko Heikkinen
Registered User
 
Ukko Heikkinen is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
[quote=shutterflower]Why don't ya'll post some sample scans? We'd like to see them!

These are very small crops, actual side, of very large files.

Ukko Heikkinen
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Epson 4870 6x6 4800DPI.jpg (148.8 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg Epson V700 6x6 4800 DPI.jpg (184.8 KB, 80 views)
File Type: jpg Epson V700 35mm 5400 DPI.jpg (103.9 KB, 77 views)
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1795'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #15
Ukko Heikkinen
Registered User
 
Ukko Heikkinen is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 81
Hello again

The pictures in my previous message from left to right:
Epson 4870 6x6 4800 DPI
Epson v700 6x6 4800 DPI
Epson vv700 35 mm 5400 DPI

I had to post separately this
Minolta 5400 35 mm 5400 DPI

Ukko Heikkinen
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Minolta 5400 35mm 5400DPI.jpg (100.8 KB, 71 views)
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1795'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2006   #16
NoTx
Registered User
 
NoTx is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sunny San Diego
Age: 40
Posts: 325
I am impatiently waiting for the V750... anyone know when it is comming out?
__________________
Rob

Chack out my:

- RFF Gallery
- News Site
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-20-2006   #17
sf
Registered User
 
sf is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,817
I really want to see this thing perform in comparison with the Konica Minolta Dimage Scan Multi Pro. During my brief insanity, I considered selling the Multi Pro to buy a V750 and keep the change for bills.

Anyone want to partake in the "pass around scanner test"? Contact someone in the thread and see if they would not mind sending you the kit (6 frames) for a small fee.

I think everyone wants to see how it really performs on MF and 35mm, and we have a very large sampling underway currently.

go here :

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=22719

Last edited by sf : 05-20-2006 at 00:07.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-2006   #18
Guy Mann
Registered User
 
Guy Mann is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 31
I'm in the market for something that can handle at least 4x5 so I've been lookely closely at the V700 but haven't pulled the trigger yet. Presently I just have an Epson 2400 and Silverfast SE.

I don't want to derail this thread but my central gripe about scanning negs is the aforementioned problems w/ batch scanning...esp when the neg is too dark to automatically distinguish the edge. I loathe sitting around for hours selecting and scanning each frame one at a time. Are you saying that w/ Silverfast AI I can manually select each frame, apply unique adjustments to each frame, add them to a batch and then walk away and come back when it has scanned the entire batch? Are there any gotchas? Does Vuescan do this as well?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-2006   #19
sf
Registered User
 
sf is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,817
Man, I wish scanners could do that with 120 film.

Can the flatbeds do that with the Doug Fischer holders?

fisher?

I consider possibly getting one of those holders to use with the Epson 3170.

If I have to, I'll buy a V750 just to try it out. And then return it. I really want to puch it against the Multi Pro and other scanners in that lineup. I doubt that these other reviews are really unbiased. Or even 100% truthful/acccurate.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-2006   #20
Pherdinand
5000 & call it a day!
 
Pherdinand's Avatar
 
Pherdinand is offline
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: er gaat niets boven groningen.
Age: 37
Posts: 7,000
I'd also like to know the answer on the batch scanning question of Guy Mann.
Thanks!

PS: i'm quite decided to get a v700 somewhere next week. Now i just have to find the lowest price...
__________________
Happy New Year, Happy New Continent!
eye contact eye
My RFF Foolery
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-2006   #21
Simon Larbalestier
Registered User
 
Simon Larbalestier's Avatar
 
Simon Larbalestier is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Age: 51
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoTx
I am impatiently waiting for the V750... anyone know when it is comming out?
Me too. I heard from Epsom UK it was released last month but it's been slow to get to dealers......

there are third party companies making frame holders for brand name flatbeds
here's one of them:

http://www.betterscanning.com/
__________________
Simon Larbalestier
www.simon-larbalestier.co.uk
Blog: Addenda
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-02-2006   #22
ghost
Registered User
 
ghost is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 703
looking at the photo-i review, i still prefer film scanners or dslrs. the former will give you enlargeability that dslrs and flatbeds don't offer, and the latter gives you great workflow. if you want to post pics online or make small prints, go for an older model.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-2006   #23
Pistach
Dilettante artist
 
Pistach's Avatar
 
Pistach is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 277
I have a 4870 and I am very unhappy with it. The software is a shame and gave me a crash so severe I had to reformat. It refuses to recognise my whole ram (4GB). Besides, this kind of scanner neither focus nor keep the film flat and the results are very poor. I read an extremely negative review on the V700, so I will stay clear of it.
The real point is how much the various brands mind demand for better scanner. Minolta is no more, there are a lot of complains on Nikons that are not addressed by them with new models. I suspect they want us to give up film and our old photos as well, and buy a plastic digital gadget instead.
By the way, I have problems with printers too and no clear upgrade path. The 4800 cost in Europe 2 times as in the States. I am really stuck
Regards
pistach
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-2006   #24
Gid
Registered User
 
Gid's Avatar
 
Gid is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 1,591
In answer to some of the questions raised with regard to Silverfast.

SE does not allow batch scanning. AI does. You have to select each frame and you can then set the treatment and output size for those frames individually. You can then add each frame to a job scheduler with which you select the output file type (Tiff, Jpeg etc), the naming convention and the save location. Press go and then walk away. Epson's thumnail mode is easier for selection, but then you're stuck with applying the same treatment to each frame. Silverfast also seems a bit faster than the Epson software.

I've had reasonable results from both the Epson and Silverfast - Silverfast seems best for negs - colour and B&W and the Epson for slides (based on some recent scans of some 35mm Astia). I've printed some of the better 35mm at 15x10 and have been very pleased with the results and level of detail present.

BTW I use an Epson 4990.
__________________
My Gallery

My Top Ten

Gid
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-19-2006   #25
europanorama
Registered User
 
europanorama is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 108
epson 2400 or 2450-forget both. i have a large 20x enlargement here plus one made by 4990. its just day and nignht. at both scans very sharp colornegative sitting on the glass. we will see how resolution will be when using all those holders. btw i will work with julio fernandez(scanmax-wetmounting/lumina fluid(which is not dangerous and of new design). he will then offer all kind of panoramic masks. i will provide him or others with test-colornegatives-large ones 6x24cm which could be cut down then to test different scanners. i guess top-quality 15x18x or more emöargements can be achieved by v700.
i would buy v700 plus scanmx-wetmounting kit. users in europe or outside america/canada-continent must wait 3 weeks for seashipping that fluid. it will be destroyed when airmailing.
__________________
Michael Przewrocki
www.3dreal.tk
www.stereopan.org
3DSTEREO-Aeropanoramas
Marspanoramas in 3DSTEREO
under reconstruction
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epson Perfection V700 PHOTO scanner xpandebt@9% Xpan & Other Panoramics 26 01-20-2008 11:05
Epson 4490/ Minolta DSIV comparison aad Scanners / Scanner Software 32 02-16-2006 00:04
Europe: Epson extended warranty fake? willemvelthoven Digital Epson R-D1 Digital RF 5 07-31-2005 02:00
Epson Launches the World's First Rangefinder Digital Camera MP Guy Rangefinder Photography Discussion 25 11-17-2004 07:16



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:10.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.