Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Non Rangefinder Cameras > SLRs - the unRF

SLRs - the unRF For those of you who must talk about SLRs, if only to confirm they are not RF.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Oh My God, Like A Lightning Strike In The Bright Daylight
Old 12-18-2012   #1
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
Oh My God, Like A Lightning Strike In The Bright Daylight

Okay, I have to take it easy...

My seller just contacted me to tell me that the Nikon F I just bought doesn't work with the lens that it comes with, that is the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 E pancake lens, because it does not have any coupling...

And he also sold his other lenses with coupling so there is no way to check the meter whether it is working or not. But the last time he used, it, it was working perfectly.

My question is if there is anyway to couple the 50mm f/1.8 E lens (Actually the later silver rim version) to the FTn finder, knowing that the lens doesn't have any coupling?

Also do you all think that I should get the camera knowing that the finder meter may not work properly? But the body itself is in superb condition...

Have a nice day... BTW, the title is actually a Chinese metaphor...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #2
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by BNLee View Post
Okay, I have to take it easy...

My seller just contacted me to tell me that the Nikon F I just bought doesn't work with the lens that it comes with, that is the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 E pancake lens, because it does not have any coupling...

And he also sold his other lenses with coupling so there is no way to check the meter whether it is working or not. But the last time he used, it, it was working perfectly.

My question is if there is anyway to couple the 50mm f/1.8 E lens (Actually the later silver rim version) to the FTn finder, knowing that the lens doesn't have any coupling?

Also do you all think that I should get the camera knowing that the finder meter may not work properly? But the body itself is in superb condition...

Have a nice day... BTW, the title is actually a Chinese metaphor...
That lens doesn't have a coupling prong so it wont couple to the meter. If the meter is working as stated, stop down metering should still work, if I remember correctly. Or just buy and attach a prong or use a hand held meter.
__________________
flickr
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #3
funkydog
Registered User
 
funkydog is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 457
It's well documented that the old meters on those cameras have kicked the bucket long ago. It's a bit of a stretch to expect the 30-40 year old meter technology to be reliable or even work at all. I've gone through four F and F2 bodies, none of the meters worked. I'd suggest using an external handheld light meter. More modern, versatile, and reliable.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #4
Spicy
Registered User
 
Spicy is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: back in Seoul
Age: 27
Posts: 536
If you really wanted to, you could send it out to get AI'd. It's not too expensive in the grand scheme of things, but I guess it would cost almost as much as a 50/1.8E is... Up to you if that'd be worth it...
__________________
ID7P0M2F854Ior+50PdV3MSFcC05MNC00
[:] [']
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #5
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spicy View Post
If you really wanted to, you could send it out to get AI'd. It's not too expensive in the grand scheme of things, but I guess it would cost almost as much as a 50/1.8E is... Up to you if that'd be worth it...
Don't go confusing the man further!

All E series lenses are already "AI'd" from the factory. What the lens is missing is the prong I mentioned in my post above. Nikon removed the prong from E series lenses as a cost saving measure and to distinguish the regular Nikkors from the E series lenses (note that E series lenses are marked "Nikon" instead of the more prestigious "Nikkor").
__________________
flickr
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #6
yossarian123
Sam I Am
 
yossarian123's Avatar
 
yossarian123 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago
Age: 37
Posts: 741
John white over at aiconversions.com can add the prong for you. If I remember right his AI conversions are $25 so the prong wont be very much either.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #7
funkydog
Registered User
 
funkydog is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 457
It'd be less hassle to just buy a non AI 50/2 separately to complement the F for period consistent ground effects. They're not expensive.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #8
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
Thanks for the replies everyone.

Actually the seller just contacted me and he said that he will go to a local camera shop and test the meter, so I tried to ask him if he can provide him with another lens...

I think it would be expensive to AI the lens, as funkydog said... All I need is just the Pong to couple the lens right? Oh man... I really hope the seller provides me with another lens...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #9
agoglanian
Roaming.
 
agoglanian's Avatar
 
agoglanian is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 28
Posts: 464
Not to shamelessly promote myself but i happen to have an extra 50mm f/2-H I was looking to sell as I also have an AI version for my F3.
__________________
- Abram

Analog - Digital

.Blog. // .Website.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #10
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by BNLee View Post
I think it would be expensive to AI the lens
As I said before, the lens is already AI.
__________________
flickr
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #11
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
Oh... thanks for the info, jonmanjiro.

About the lens, Abram, I will consider if my seller tells me that he cannot provide me with another lens... Thanks for the offer... It is making me desperate, which is bad!!...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #12
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by BNLee View Post
Oh... thanks for the info, jonmanjiro.

About the lens, Abram, I will consider if my seller tells me that he cannot provide me with another lens... Thanks for the offer... It is making me desperate, which is bad!!...
DON'T PANIC

If you can take photos with an M3, you'll be able to take photos with the Nikon F and E series 50/1.8 lens just fine
__________________
flickr
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #13
maddoc
... likes film.
 
maddoc's Avatar
 
maddoc is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 調布市
Age: 48
Posts: 6,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonmanjiro View Post
DON'T PANIC

If you can take photos with an M3, you'll be able to take photos with the Nikon F and E series 50/1.8 lens just fine
Loading an M3 is MUCH EASIER than an Nikon F, just saying ...
__________________
- Gabor

flickr
pBase
blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #14
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddoc View Post
Loading an M3 is MUCH EASIER than an Nikon F, just saying ...
Two hands, one mouth... where's the problem?
__________________
flickr
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #15
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
Yeah... But it saddens me just to say that I am disappointed... The Nikon was actually in very, very good shape, and I really like the cool look of the Photomic FTn finder, to get it in working condition is really a bonus! For now, I just want to keep my fingers crossed that everything is working fine and that the seller will provide me with another lens. There is just something to the look of the Nikon F with FTn finder which is so mesmerizing...

Gabor, is loading a M3 really easier? Most times, I will trim the film like I do on a III series so that my film rewinding process doesn't get stuck. Usually this happens towards the beginning of the roll, I don't know, but maybe its just mine.

Was looking through your Flickr Jon, and I saw the gatherings you all had! What a great event huh! With all the famed people coming together just to talk about cameras...

Back to the Nikon, it is pending now...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #16
maddoc
... likes film.
 
maddoc's Avatar
 
maddoc is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 調布市
Age: 48
Posts: 6,494
Loading the M3 is easier because once the film is in the camera there hardly will be any mis-loading. The newer M Leicas need less time (just dropping the canister into the camera, closing and finished) but loading an old Nikon can be an adventure. I had the film slip of the take-up spool on many occasions ....
__________________
- Gabor

flickr
pBase
blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #17
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 4,352
Some time ago, there was a seller on ebay offering replacement prongs. Any camera service shop could attach one to a E lens. It is DIY if you have a basic set of jeweller's files, drills and thread cutting tools.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2012   #18
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 678
If series E is like the AF lenses, there will already be two little divots where the screws will go in. They anticipated the lenses being retrofitted. And don't start going crazy until you know your F's meter actually works.

Dante
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #19
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 4,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante_Stella View Post
If series E is like the AF lenses, there will already be two little divots where the screws will go in.
There are none on my E lenses.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #20
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevo View Post
There are none on my E lenses.
It's also possible that Series E were too low in price at the time to support something like that. The AF lenses all seem to have the pre-taps.

Isn't this problem really solved by getting an F3 body? It's better than an F in just about every way. And even if not, 50mm Nikkors with the prongs are dirt cheap.

Dante
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #21
Range Loser
Registered User
 
Range Loser's Avatar
 
Range Loser is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 127
Oh dear, I can feel the whole mechanical vs battery dependent discussion coming back.

As the previous posts have said, 50mm lenses with prongs are plentiful and inexpensive, if you need one.
__________________
D700 and D800 + Nikkors for everyday.
Fuji TX1 and a few old Zorki's/Fed's for special occasions.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #22
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
Yes I know that I can get another nifty fifty, is just that most things should be in order by now...

And Dante, I really hope the meter is working, that is why I wanted the camera! Fingers still crossed now...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #23
Fraser
Registered User
 
Fraser is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 777
Having several metered and non metered heads for my fs I found even the ones that have meters (as already mentioned) are getting so old they are not worth the hassle, better just to use an external meter or if shooting black and white just guess!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #24
ray*j*gun
Registered User
 
ray*j*gun's Avatar
 
ray*j*gun is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 1,692
Cpl of comments.

I have an FTn Nikon F and the meter is dead on. If you want to rely on that meter and its off a little Essex Camera will calibrate it cheaply.

$25. will get the lens installed with a prong at http://aiconversions.com/index.html

The Nikon F is IMO the best and toughest SLR ever made.... I'm ducking even as I write that lol! Use it and enjoy it.
__________________
Raymond
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2012   #25
BNLee
Registered User
 
BNLee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 112
No, I am not going to start a debate Range Loser, I respect Dante's choice and I have also seen his website and I liked it!

Thanks for the suggestions Fraser, but I am still hoping that the meter on this particular one is working.

Raymond, do you mean that you got your meter fixed, and not it is spot on? For now, I am waiting for the seller to reply to me... Hopefully, and I mean hopefully, he will provide me with another lens which will couple with the meter.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 23:04.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.