Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Digital Rangefinder Cameras > Digital Leica M8 / M8.2 / M9 / M-E /Mono / M10 aka "M"

Digital Leica M8 / M8.2 / M9 / M-E /Mono / M10 aka "M" Discussions about the Leica M8 /M 8.2 / M9 / M9-P/ M-E / M Monochrom / M10 aka "M": Leica digital M mount rangefinder cameras. Naming the new digital M the "Leica M" is VERY unfortunate as it will only confuse newbies with other Leica M cameras of the the past. Happily there is room for confusion with only the past 59 years of Leica M production ... since Leica introduced the Leica M system in 1953. All Hail for the Leica Marketing Department learning Leica M history!

Leica M8: Poor mans M Monochrome?
Old 10-15-2012   #1
eleskin

Leica M8: Poor mans M Monochrome?

I have been working with black and white film, paper etc,,, since 1987, and the Leica was my first digital camera. I can say the black and white I get is on par with much of what I have used since 1987 in terms of black and white image quality. Maybe this has much to do with the M8's sensitivity to IR? At any rate, I have been reading much about the new M monochrome. The files look amazing, but at $8,000, most cannot afford such a camera. The M8 is much cheaper and a case can be made that the old M8 is the next best thing to a monochrome if one wants quality black and white. I do not own an M9 but my impression was when testing the M9 was my M8 files had a crispness the M9 lacked (i thought the M9 files looked a little mushy or soft. The M8 had more bite). So to me, the M8 seems like the next best thing to the Monochrome M. The problem is the M8 high ISO is not that great above 640, although some have used Lightroom 4 noise reduction to overcome some of this. I do not have LR 4 yet, so I would be interested in anyone here who has an M8 and uses LR4 to get the most out of high ISO. At any rate, anyone else feel the M8 is a great cheaper alternative to the M Monochrome?

Old 10-15-2012   #2
eleskin

Gee,