Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Non Rangefinder Cameras > Digital Fixed Lens Advanced Compacts > Sony Fixed Lens Compacts

Sony Fixed Lens Compacts For the many Sony fixed lens digital compact cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

macro mode?
Old 10-14-2012   #1
back alley
just joe
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: searching for the perfect bag!
Posts: 37,998
macro mode?

macro works well when the lens is set to 28mm...but i can't figure out how to set macro for anything longer...is there a separate macro mode?
i can't seem to find it if there is...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2012   #2
burancap
\_(ツ)_/
 
burancap's Avatar
 
burancap is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Carolina
Age: 49
Posts: 1,842
I won't have my RX for a few days, but this drove me nuts with another camera! In that case, macro only at the widest as you are experiencing. That would be my guess.
__________________
Jeff
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2012   #3
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,366
I just normally use 28mm. But there is a macro mode. It is under the special scene mode (scn). I have never used it. Everyone else uses a dedicated button or similar function.

Gary
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2012   #4
back alley
just joe
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: searching for the perfect bag!
Posts: 37,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryLH View Post
I just normally use 28mm. But there is a macro mode. It is under the special scene mode (scn). I have never used it. Everyone else uses a dedicated button or similar function.

Gary
i read that elsewhere but i cannot figure out how to set it up...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2012   #5
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
i read that elsewhere but i cannot figure out how to set it up...
Bad phrasing on my part .

What I meant was other manufacturers have a dedicated button for this.

Rx100 doesn't seem to have a way to dedicate a special fn button to this. On the other hand, scn modes are semi sticky.. So long as u do not use the center ok button on the control wheel area, instead use the half press of the shutter button instead, it remembers the last scn mode u used. Use the ok button to select which scn mode to use.. Once selected, u can then go use thins such as aperture priority on the mode button. When u need macro, just turn to the scn mode and half press the shutter button.

Hope that helps
Gary
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:33.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.