Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > 35mm Film Range Finders > Leica Screw Mount / LTM Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Leica III with flash socket - advice needed
Old 01-11-2012   #1
RFH
rfhansen.wordpress.com
 
RFH is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 303
Leica III with flash socket - advice needed

Hi all,

I have this Leica III with a flash socket. I assume it's been added sometime after the original manufacture of the camera. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
My question is, would any of you care to venture a guess as to which shutter time(s) the socket is synched with?

  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #2
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 37
Posts: 2,960
1/30th or 1/25th and longer as I recall. The shutter is completely open at these speeds, instead of a just a sliding slit.

But I think you are limited to using flash bulbs.
__________________
Rick - "If you're gonna shoot, shoot! Don't Talk"
Loaded with film: Kodak Signet 40

Latest Toys: reprint of HCBs The Decisive Moment
Latest Activity: Out and about with the Graflex Combat 45
My Blog/Galleries
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #3
RFH
rfhansen.wordpress.com
 
RFH is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 303
If the info helps, the shutter is split at 1/20.

So, no electronic flash possible? If so, can anyone explain to me why? I definitely won't be using bulbs...
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #4
wolves3012
Registered User
 
wolves3012's Avatar
 
wolves3012 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Age: 57
Posts: 2,590
Simple way to find out: connect a flash, remove the lens and aim the flash into the shutter, preferably in a poorly-lit scenario. Cock and fire the shutter - if you see any portion of either curtain, you would not have got a full-frame exposure. Sync speed is likely to be around 1/20-1/30th. If you see the entire pressure plate area through the curtains, the frame was wide open at the selected speed and you'd have got full-frame exposure.
__________________
Zorki: 1e (x2), 2C, 3M, 4, 4K, 5, 6
FED: NKVD, 1g, 2e, 3a, 3b, 4L (x2), 5B, 5C
Kiev 4, 4A
Leica IIIC
Yashica Minister III
Zenith C, Zenit C, Zenit E
Minolta XG-M, XD-5, Z1
Nikon P50
Panasonic Lumix G2, 14-42 Kit lens + 45-150mm

"The way to see by faith is to shut the eye of reason."- Benjamin Franklin
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #5
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 37
Posts: 2,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFH View Post
So, no electronic flash possible? If so, can anyone explain to me why?
Bulbs need a few milliseconds to reach full brightness after being tripped.
An electronic flash fires instantaneous and would need a delay so the opening shutter curtain can finish traveling across the film plane.

Now, I won't pretend to know if there are ways around it. I'm definitely going to try Wolves3012's idea on one of my Leica III cameras that has an aftermarket flash socket hideously placed in the middle of the top plate
__________________
Rick - "If you're gonna shoot, shoot! Don't Talk"
Loaded with film: Kodak Signet 40

Latest Toys: reprint of HCBs The Decisive Moment
Latest Activity: Out and about with the Graflex Combat 45
My Blog/Galleries
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #6
RFH
rfhansen.wordpress.com
 
RFH is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 303
Thanks a lot! I'll try that once I'm through with the roll that's in it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2012   #7
David Hughes
Registered User
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,451
Hi,

Why not just take a flash picture at 1/20th and 1/30th if there's film in it? And some had an extra speed dot (red) added to the shutter speed dial; to confuse the issue.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2012   #8
RFH
rfhansen.wordpress.com
 
RFH is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 303
Ok... once again thanks for taking your time to reply. I finally finished the roll and did the test as suggested by Wolves3012. It seems there's no sync with any of the speeds and electronic flash. Now I know.
Won't be getting into using bulbs, though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2012   #9
David Hughes
Registered User
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFH View Post
Ok... once again thanks for taking your time to reply. I finally finished the roll and did the test as suggested by Wolves3012. It seems there's no sync with any of the speeds and electronic flash. Now I know.
Won't be getting into using bulbs, though.
Hi,

As you've just finished a roll, did you take any test flash pictures?

BTW, it could probably be altered to take an electronic flash.

But, it was probably sync'd for a FP bulb which has a flatter peak.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2012   #10
colyn
ישו משיח בנו של אלוהים
 
colyn's Avatar
 
colyn is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CowTown, Texas
Age: 61
Posts: 4,191
Most of these aftermarket flash sockets were capable of working with electronic flash but went out of sync quiet often since the method used was to add a contact in the bottom that used the brake ecentric for contact.

I've had a few of these cameras and my fix was to remove the socket/wire/contact and fill in the hole in the shell with JB Weld. After smoothing it I then recovered the shell.. Be sure to smooth both sides if you go this route..
__________________
Colyn

The Lone Star State....

Leica M2 | M3 x 2 | IIIa x 2 | IIIc | IIIf black dial | Kodak Retina IIIc | Kodak Retina IIIC |


Flickr

My website

My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2012   #11
charjohncarter
Registered User
 
charjohncarter's Avatar
 
charjohncarter is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Danville, CA, USA
Posts: 6,595
Have a IIIf that I bought almost 50 years ago. It has a stock (not added) PC socket. I have the dial that is under the shutter speed dial. When this is set to 20 I can use 1/50. When it is on 0 it is 1/25. Yours looks like it does not have a micro second delay dial, so you may have a IIIc. But not being an expert don't take my word for the difference between IIIc and IIIf. Also, I've had some trouble with flashes that have hot shoes potential shorting out and flashing even though they are attached to the PC socket. So best to test the flash with your Leica to be sure it works smoothly.

Now the PC socket: if it is a real Leica socket it has a locking system that only will lock if you use a Leica cable. You can use a 'normal' PC cable, but they are sometimes loose. This is frustrating as the cable slips out and you don't notice. I use blue masking tap (3M) to hold the cable in place.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.