Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Non Rangefinder Cameras > Scale Focus 35's

Scale Focus 35's Though not rangefinders, scale focus 35's are 1st cousins. This forum includes such popular gems as the Rollei 35's, Petri 35's, and the Olympus XA-4.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Minolta Hi-Matic G
Old 01-02-2012   #1
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
Minolta Hi-Matic G

Just picked up a fully functional unit in great condition for the whopping sum of $2.00. I'm pretty sure this model is from 1973?
It runs off a single 675 hearing aid battery, is very light, and has a 1:2:8 38mm Rokkor lens.
Very easy to operate with just four zone focus settings on the lens. The viewfinder is very clear and has an easy to read meter with the lens and shutter settings visible on the right side of the frame.
Spun a roll of Kodak Gold 200 through it and I am very pleased with the results.

  Reply With Quote

Old 01-03-2012   #2
JoeV
Thin Air, Bright Sun
 
JoeV's Avatar
 
JoeV is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,235
I just got one of these last week, still putting it through its paces, but so far I love the light weight, compact size and great viewfinder.

I like your sample images, hope to see more.

-Joe
__________________
"If your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light"

Inventor of the Light Pipe Array
My Blog
My latest book
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-2012   #3
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Mines got a dead meter, but it was easy to find the problem. The wire from the battery is missing! But I haven't bothered to fix it yet because I own it's mechanical twin sister, the Yashica 35-ME, which is fully functional.

Those are some great candids of your son (I'm assuming here).

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-2012   #4
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
Thanks farlymac, it's actually my Grandson. Here's another from the roll...
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2012   #5
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
Here's another shot from the Minolta...
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2012   #6
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Just wait till he's ten, and asks for the real car keys.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2012   #7
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by farlymac View Post
Just wait till he's ten, and asks for the real car keys.

PF
Hahaha, yeah, he's only 2 and he tries to drive the truck already, I gotta watch the keys!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-2012   #8
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
I also picked up a mint black Minolta G2 and took a few shots with it which came out really well. I was utilizing a roll of Costco 400 colored film which gave nice color and overall tone. I'll try and upload a couple with this post but ever since RFF's server went down I've not been able to upload any attachments. So, I'll try it again with this post but can't promise anything.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-2012   #9
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
Sorry, can't upload them!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-2012   #10
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Harlee, how are you trying to upload them? What is your process?

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-2012   #11
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
I just use Photobucket. Here's another from the G... love this little camera.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-2012   #12
pinkarmy
Registered User
 
pinkarmy's Avatar
 
pinkarmy is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 536
...have to get my G2 back to work someday...the advance lever can wind on forever without clocking the shutter...and this little fellow even has a working meter!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-2012   #13
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
Well, I click on the "Go Advanced" box, which gives me the "Manage Attachments" box, click on that and it takes me to a browser tab. I click on that and it pulls up my picture folders; I click on the picture I want uploaded and it comes up in the browser box, and then hit the "upload" button, but nothing happens when I'm ready to submit my reply.

This is the method I previously used without any problem, but the written part of the post comes up but not the picture. I've deleted all of my past attachments so that there aren't any attachments that I used previously, but that didn't help either. HELP!!!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-30-2012   #14
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Harlee, "Go Advanced Box" in what?

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-30-2012   #15
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
OK, I'm trying something different. I clicked on the little colored logo up above and it's asking me for the URL of my image. What are they asking me? BTW the "Go Advanced" is in one of the two boxes just under the message box. That was the method previously. by clicking on the "Go Advanced" it opens a drop down menu "Manage Attachments." Clicking on that opens up a browser. Clicking on the browser opens up my pictures in my computer and I click on the one I want to upload. It says it's uploading it, but it isn't there. RFF has probably added some new method for uploading your pictures, but they've kept it a godd secret as to how it's done. I've attempted to contact them, but that's a lost cause; they never answer!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-2012   #16
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Harlee, what I see is under the message box, there is a box marked "Additional Options" Under "Attach Files" is "Manage Attachments". It's the same as clicking on the paper clip icon above the message box. It brings up an action box letting you browse your computer for an image, and gives the parrameters for the file size. I tried uploading an image I did before, and after ten seconds it said it exceeded the file size. So RFf has reduced the file size allowed for uploads. You may have to go back and reprocess your files in order to get back under the limit.

If you are getting a box asking for an URL, then you are clicking on the Hyperlink icon, not the Upload Attachments icon.

If you host your photos on a sevice such as Flickr, then it's much easier to copy and paste the BB code into your post without having to resize anything. That's because only the code is on RFf, and the image is on Flickr. RFf links to the image, intead of it residing on their servers. It's only on Attachments and Gallery images where there is a file limit because those actually do reside on the RFf servers.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-2012   #17
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
Farlymac, Thanks for the info - it really sounds complicated when you compare it with the way it used to be done. Under my message box there isn't any "Additional Options" box, just a "Post Quick Reply" box and a "Go Advanced" box. When I click on "Go Advanced" box, four boxes appear withone labled "Manage Attachments." No Addition Options box appears anywhere. There is a small icon above the message box which when you click on it [left click] it asked for the URL of your image.

Are you using an XP system or a Windows 7? I have a Windows 7 system, which I do not like, and perhaps what you have on your screen is different than what I have. I attempted to contact RFF [again], but to no avail. I'm about ready to give up on trying to upload any pictures, but I'll try some more and perhaps I may find the correct combo. Thanks for your help farlymac.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-31-2012   #18
Jack Conrad
Registered User
 
Jack Conrad's Avatar
 
Jack Conrad is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,368
Harlee, I apparently can't upload that way either.
Even after resizing to stay well within the new file size parameters of under 195 kb, it tells me I'm still 116 kb over the limit. Crazy...

Anyway, just use photobucket.com or similar. It works much better. You'll be glad you did after a while.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-01-2012   #19
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
Jack, thanks for the advice; I just signed in to Photobucket and I find it a bit strange to navigate, but perhaps it's just me. Anyway, I've downloaded some pics from my Minolta G2 in it but I'm not usre how to get them into RFF as attachments. How do you do it?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-02-2012   #20
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Harlee, I am using WIN XP Pro SP2. Don't know why the uploading feature looks different on yours, but I couldn't find a place on RFf that looked like it. I'm also using the VB Graphite Expand White Font version of RFf, so maybe your version is built different. Can't help you with the Photobucket proceedure on getting your pictures here as I use Flickr, but I think they are similar. I'm sure someone on here will show you the way.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-02-2012   #21
Oldskewl808
Registered User
 
Oldskewl808's Avatar
 
Oldskewl808 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kapolei Hawaii
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlee View Post
Jack, thanks for the advice; I just signed in to Photobucket and I find it a bit strange to navigate, but perhaps it's just me. Anyway, I've downloaded some pics from my Minolta G2 in it but I'm not usre how to get them into RFF as attachments. How do you do it?
When you hover over your picture in your Photobucket album without clicking yet you will see the IMG code options. Click on the bottom one (IMG Code) and it will copy the code. Or you can simply click on your picture of choice from your album and when you see it appear larger when the page opens and freshens, you will see the codes over on the right hand side of the page. Again just click on the bottom IMG code link and it will highlight as "copied" Then just paste it with a right click in the reply area to this thread. Once you are successful I will show you how to do multiple files. Good luck.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2012   #22
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
I believe RFF has made some new changes and I'm now able to download pics in my messages. Here's some with my mint black Minolta G2.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 019_21.jpg (41.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg 015_17.jpg (42.3 KB, 16 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2012   #23
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,567
Harlee, I really like the heron photo, though it seems a bit digitally challenged. Something go wrong with the scanning?

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-2012   #24
Harlee
Registered User
 
Harlee's Avatar
 
Harlee is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 487
I no longer scan my pictures, unless they're older pics. I have a Canon scanner which generally does a good job. What I do now is simply get a CD without any pictures and then run the CD through my "Picture It" software. I must admit that much depends on who makes the CD. It's like negs, some people do a much better job making the CDs than others. I have my CDs done at Target where they use Kodak software, and sometimes I notice a big difference in the quality of the CD due in part that some of the younger guys that work there don't give a hoot. I've spoken to the female clerk who does a much better job than those young boys, and complain about the quality; unfortunately the younger guys develop and burn the CD when they're on duty in the evenings. I can usually enchance them and make them look better than the way I receive them, but not always. Thanks for your help and input farlymac!
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-2012   #25
JoeV
Thin Air, Bright Sun
 
JoeV's Avatar
 
JoeV is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,235
I've been using my Hi-Matic G the last month or so, and have some images to share.

~Joe























__________________
"If your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light"

Inventor of the Light Pipe Array
My Blog
My latest book
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:36.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.