Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

How I got a Minolta Scan Multi (SCSI) working under Win 7 64bit!
Old 11-13-2011   #1
wojtek
Registered User
 
wojtek's Avatar
 
wojtek is offline
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 109
How I got a Minolta Scan Multi (SCSI) working under Win 7 64bit!

Hey guys

I got this scanner from my friend some time ago - a great, but old Minolta Scan Multi (not Multi Pro, sadly). It worked well with Windows XP, but - since I run Windows 7 - I needed another machine to run it on. It's old SCSI controller, Adaptec AHA2930CU wasn't working with 64bit version of Win 7.

Until I performed some crazy mumbo-jumbo, that is.

I found the emulated drivers for Adaptec AIC7870. It's the chip that this card uses. And, after installing these drivers (which weren't signed for Windows 7, of course), I got my Minolta to work with VueScan!

Here's the proof:



This crappy picture of a bike I have taken long time ago with an Agfa Isola (or something like that) camera.

I just scanned it 10 minutes ago.

Therefore, if you want your old SCSI Minolta scanner to work under Windows 7 64bit - fear not, as it probably can!

Here are the drivers should anyone need them:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18370125/Dri...cy_win7x64.zip

Enjoy!

Cheers
Wojtek

P.S. I take no responsibility if anything goes wrong. But I encourage you to try it!
__________________
wojtekkutyla.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2011   #2
wblynch
Registered User
 
wblynch is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 583
Thank you Wojtek, very useful...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-2011   #3
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
I went through the sign up process on this forum just to say thank you for posting this. Works great.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-2011   #4
johannielscom
985 & 532/16
 
johannielscom's Avatar
 
johannielscom is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,715
Quite interesting I'd say, because that scanner has tabletop dimensions but it can scan 6x9 at close to 1200 dpi and 12-bit. And it's particularly good with slides, IIRC. Which those it does provide rather decent scans!
__________________
Cheers, Johan Niels

My photography & gear articles: www.johanniels.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-2011   #5
wblynch
Registered User
 
wblynch is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 583
The Scan Multi does a great job but it doesn't have digital Ice. So scratches and dust have to be manually removed - before scanning as much as possible.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2011   #6
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
I guess I should clarify that I'm saying thanks for the SCSI fix. I'm using a Nikon LS-2000 because of the file provided by wojtek.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.