Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > 35mm Film Range Finders > Leica M Film Cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Using Canon lens FD on Leica M
Old 08-31-2011   #1
k-vang
Registered User
 
k-vang is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Using Canon lens FD on Leica M

Hello all,

I just bought a Canon lens FD 17mm f4 with the mint condition, and try to get body Canon F-1 also. However this combo is very heavy and I feel it's not good to handle

As I know that we can use FD lens with Leica M with the combination is using Canon Adapter B with Canon FD lens to LTM camera adapter. Then, we input more Leica M - LTM adapter on Leica M. Is it correct or not? Kindly help to advise.

BR,
Khiem

Last edited by k-vang : 08-31-2011 at 07:49.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #2
Mackinaw
Think Different
 
Mackinaw is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One hour south of the Mackinaw Bridge
Posts: 2,012
You've got it. The Canon Adapter B with a LTM-to-M adapter will allow you to mount your 17mm on your Leica M. You'll have to scale focus though. Just remember to put your FD 17mm in "manual mode" so you can set the correct aperture.

Jim B.
__________________
My fancy-schmancy gallery:

http://snowcountryphotography.com

My RFF Gallery:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/phot...user=1453&sl=m
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #3
k-vang
Registered User
 
k-vang is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackinaw View Post
You've got it. The Canon Adapter B with a LTM-to-M adapter will allow you to mount your 17mm on your Leica M. You'll have to scale focus though. Just remember to put your FD 17mm in "manual mode" so you can set the correct aperture.

Jim B.
Thanks so much for your advice - Jim B.

Btw, I would like to ask for put "manual mode" on FD 17mm. Could you help to explain more?

BR,
Khiem
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #4
ronnies
Registered User
 
ronnies is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by k-vang View Post
Thanks so much for your advice - Jim B.

Btw, I would like to ask for put "manual mode" on FD 17mm. Could you help to explain more?

BR,
Khiem
Don't have the aperture ring set to 'A' (sometimes a circle on older lenses).

Ronnie
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #5
Mackinaw
Think Different
 
Mackinaw is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One hour south of the Mackinaw Bridge
Posts: 2,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by k-vang View Post
Btw, I would like to ask for put "manual mode" on FD 17mm. Could you help to explain more?
If you have the older breechlock FD lens (with the chrome lens mount ring), grab the big lever on the back of the lens (at the 6:00 position) and turn it counterclockwise as far as it goes (it will lock). Now, when you mount the lens, the aperture will move as you turn the aperture ring.

If you have a FDn lens (with the black lens mount ring), you'e going to have to jury-rig something to fit into the big lever slot so it will lock into the manual aperture position.

Maybe Raid will see your post. He came up with something that made it easy to adapt an FDn lens so you could set the aperture manually.

Jim B.
__________________
My fancy-schmancy gallery:

http://snowcountryphotography.com

My RFF Gallery:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/phot...user=1453&sl=m

Last edited by Mackinaw : 08-31-2011 at 08:26.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #6
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
I often use this great lens on a Leica M with Canon Adapter B plus a LTM-M adapter. I use a small piece of aluminum foil with FD lenses to allow me to change aperture settings. Breech lock lens don't have such a need. there,you just change the aperture. The 17mm lens has hardly any distortion.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #7
pagpow
Registered User
 
pagpow is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 816
Can you say a bit more about how you achieve rigidity with the alum foil, Raid? Canon used to sell a small plastic piece to achieve that trick and the capacity is also built into the reverse mounting "hood" that Canon used to sell. I'll see if I can come up with the right reference.
Giorgio
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #8
pagpow
Registered User
 
pagpow is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 816
http://photo.net/nature-photography-forum/00BLfV

this may help, by illustrating the mechanism. The pictured solutions work when the lens is reverse-mounted, not the case here, but should get you started. Raid?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #9
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
Giorgio,
I tried to get the small plastic gadget, but I could not find anyone who sells it.
I roll up small piece of rigid aluminum, and then I turn the lens over to move the aperture lever at the back, then slip in the aluminum foil, and the lens becomes manual.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-31-2011   #10
ronnies
Registered User
 
ronnies is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackinaw View Post
If you have the older breechlock FD lens (with the chrome lens mount ring), grab the big lever on the back of the lens (at the 6:00 position) and turn it counterclockwise as far as it goes (it will lock). Now, when you mount the lens, the aperture will move as you turn the aperture ring.

If you have a FDn lens (with the black lens mount ring), you'e going to have to jury-rig something to fit into the big lever slot so it will lock into the manual aperture position.

Maybe Raid will see your post. He came up with something that made it easy to adapt an FDn lens so you could set the aperture manually.

Jim B.
Doh, I forgot about that requirement ! Sorry !

Ronnie
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2011   #11
pagpow
Registered User
 
pagpow is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 816
Thanks, Raid, I haven't found one for sale either, and was wondering how you got the necessary rigidity.

Giorgio
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2011   #12
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
Tear off a small piece of aluminum foil and fold it several times until you have a small, but rigid, piece of "thingy" that you can insert into the lot where the aperture pin moves. It will stay there securely.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

Last edited by raid : 09-01-2011 at 06:37.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2011   #13
k-vang
Registered User
 
k-vang is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Thanks Raid and all. It's very useful for me.

I will try, if can find an adaptor B.

BR,
Khiem
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2011   #14
tungh
Registered User
 
tungh's Avatar
 
tungh is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 46
Go on and you can not use the yellow spot to focus. It means "scale focus" or "focus by believed" in Vietnameses spoken
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2011   #15
k-vang
Registered User
 
k-vang is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tungh View Post
Go on and you can not use the yellow spot to focus. It means "scale focus" or "focus by believed" in Vietnameses spoken
Nice to see you here!
Noted with thanks,

Khiem
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2011   #16
jamriman
Registered User
 
jamriman's Avatar
 
jamriman is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 153
Sorry for my confusion but can someone please confirm that there is no focus coupling with any of these many FD to M adapters. The only way to focus is guestimating with scale focusing? Many thanks for clarification!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2011   #17
rlouzan
Registered User
 
rlouzan's Avatar
 
rlouzan is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,358
Hi,

No focus coupling, just scale focusing (zone focusing).

Regards,
Robert

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamriman View Post
Sorry for my confusion but can someone please confirm that there is no focus coupling with any of these many FD to M adapters. The only way to focus is guestimating with scale focusing? Many thanks for clarification!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-2011   #18
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
There is no RF coupling possible unless you do some serious machining, such as Amedeo does with his adapters.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2011   #19
ottluuk
the indecisive eternity
 
ottluuk's Avatar
 
ottluuk is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Age: 28
Posts: 442
In case you can't find the Canon adapter B, uncoupled adapters for using various SLR lenses on a Leica M are available from Novoflex. They have Canon FD and a variety of other mechanical mounts.

These things make a lot of sense if you want to use symmetric "mirror lock-up" superwides of the old days or you have, say, a 19mm Elmarit-R lying around. They don't make as much sense when you're trying to save a ton of money since the combined cost for the adapter + a decent SLR wide can easily top the used value of a Voigtländer 15, 21 or 25. The SLR to M adapters are listed at €149 on the Novoflex website.
__________________
Ott Luuk

----------------------
GRD III | 40D | M4

Tumblr.

Last edited by ottluuk : 12-19-2011 at 02:21. Reason: typo
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2011   #20
jamriman
Registered User
 
jamriman's Avatar
 
jamriman is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 153
Many thanks for replies!! Having read Putts review about the canon fd 55 1.2 aspherical lens, on a whim I bought one. I knew there are adapters out there for the FD to M mount to use on my M9. I didn't realize however that I would have to scale focus! Doesnt make sense to use scale focus with a normal lens. Thats how I got myself into this mess. I read a post somewhere that the rayquel adapter has a nice scale to help focus. Anyhow should I just sell the lens and move on? Thanks again for any advice!
John
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2011   #21
ottluuk
the indecisive eternity
 
ottluuk's Avatar
 
ottluuk is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Age: 28
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamriman View Post
Many thanks for replies!! Having read Putts review about the canon fd 55 1.2 aspherical lens, on a whim I bought one. I knew there are adapters out there for the FD to M mount to use on my M9. I didn't realize however that I would have to scale focus! Doesnt make sense to use scale focus with a normal lens. Thats how I got myself into this mess. I read a post somewhere that the rayquel adapter has a nice scale to help focus. Anyhow should I just sell the lens and move on? Thanks again for any advice!
John
You can buy a decent FD body pretty cheaply. Get one, shoot a couple of rolls to see if you like it... and if you end up loving it, you can probably find a specialist shop that can convert it to coupled M-mount for a bunch of $$$.
__________________
Ott Luuk

----------------------
GRD III | 40D | M4

Tumblr.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-2011   #22
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
Get a micro 4/3 camera or NEX and a cheap FD adapter. Your lens will make a terrific portrait lens.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-2013   #23
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,170
I needed today to mount an FD lens on the EP-2 with aperture control, so I added a small aluminum foil piece to the lever and it worked well.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:49.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.