Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > 35mm Film Range Finders > Leica M -- Minolta CLE

Leica M -- Minolta CLE Minolta's electronic successor to the Leica / Minolta CL.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

CLE slow shutter speed in AE mode
Old 01-06-2010   #1
__hh
-
 
__hh's Avatar
 
__hh is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 810
CLE slow shutter speed in AE mode

I recently got/bought my CLE back and am noticing that in AE mode and at slow shutter speeds (anything at 1/4s and slower), the actual shutter opens for much longer than what it should be.

Does anybody else's CLE do that? I have also compared it with a fellow RFFer's CLE and his does the same thing also.

In manual mode, the shutter sounds spot on and everything else about the CLE is just perfect.

Currious.

Please let me know if yours do this also.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-2010   #2
Rogrund
Antti Sivén
 
Rogrund's Avatar
 
Rogrund is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lund, Sweden
Age: 47
Posts: 1,881
Is there film in your CLE? I think the camera has to be loaded with film to give the right shutter speed, because the meter takes the reading from the film surface. If there isn't film, the light is reflected on the dark pressure plate and the shutter speed is much slower.

When I bought my CLE I was worried about the shutter speeds too, but when I loaded the camera everything was just fine.

This is what I think, please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________
regards, Antti

My new RFF Gallery
My flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-2010   #3
Palaeoboy
Joel Matherson
 
Palaeoboy is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 597
Rogrund is correct, in Auto the exposure is partially determined off the film plain, if there is no film its metering off the black pressure plate.

Also you may regularly want to rotate the shutter dial quickly round a few times and back again. The contact underneath get a build up of dirt and this can help clear it off sometimes when the LEDS go whacky. Lets us know if either of these has or hasnt solved the problem.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-2010   #4
__hh
-
 
__hh's Avatar
 
__hh is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 810
Thanks all for the great responses and suggestions
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2012   #5
hudsong
Registered User
 
hudsong's Avatar
 
hudsong is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Age: 26
Posts: 43
Hi,

To resurrect this thread: I have the same problem as above, though with film my CLE is firing at 1/2 to 1/8 when it should be at 1/15 or 1/30... I have tried cycling through the speeds with no change.

I emailed Sherry Krauter and she said she will not CLA it, as no parts are available. I've had the same response from DAG Camera.. Help?
__________________
http://hudsongardner.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2012   #6
sleepyhead
Registered User
 
sleepyhead's Avatar
 
sleepyhead is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,404
Hudsong - just to undefrstand your problem better - your camera is in AE, film loaded, the LED on the meter reads something like 1/30, you press the shutter release, and the shutter stays open for longer than 1/30th?

If that's accurate, what happens in Manual mode (with or without film)?

Also, have you tried brand new, silver-oxide S76 batteries?
__________________
__________________
Yaron
Film for B&W, digital for colour
My flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2012   #7
hudsong
Registered User
 
hudsong's Avatar
 
hudsong is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Age: 26
Posts: 43
Yes, that's exactly the case. I'm using energizer 357. Manual mode is completely fine.

It's the same problem from here:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=18084

I would send it to the shop this guy used, but the thread is from 2006... so...

I called my local shop and they said it would be ~25$ for a cleaning/check. I'll report back later today/tomorrow..

- Hudson
__________________
http://hudsongardner.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2012   #8
sleepyhead
Registered User
 
sleepyhead's Avatar
 
sleepyhead is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,404
Hudson - if the times are fine in Manual mode, then I would guess that there is some kind of electronic problem. Not sure if cleaning the shutter speed dial contacts will help this.

I bought a CLE from an RFF'er a couple of years ago with this exact problem. I used it for a while exclusively in Manual mode with a 21mm Super Angulon (which will not meter properly with the CLE in any case due to the deep-protruding rear lens elements), but after a few months the same RFF member posted an ad saying he regretted selling his CLE, etc. He actually bought the camera back from me!

So, probably not what you were hoping to hear...
__________________
__________________
Yaron
Film for B&W, digital for colour
My flickr
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 21:56.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.