Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Non Rangefinder Cameras > Point-N-Shoot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Konica Hexar AF Hexar button fix step-by-step
Old 06-17-2011   #1
bensyverson
Registered User
 
bensyverson is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 630
Talking Konica Hexar AF Hexar button fix step-by-step

Recently, both of my Hexars developed the dreaded shutter button problem. The buttons went from "fluky" to "completely inoperable" in a few short days, so I decided to attempt a fix and document my steps. It was much easier than I expected!

First, you need to carefully peel back the covering on the front just enough to get at two screws. I found that a tiny flathead screwdriver helped in getting between the body and the covering and leveraging it up.





After removing the other three exposed screws on the top plate, you can lift it up carefully. You shouldn't need to desolder the hotshoe—just position the top plate so it's out of your way.



Using a small screwdriver, open the ribbon cable lock and slide the ribbon cable out. Then unscrew the three screws holding the green PCB to the camera:



Underneath, you'll see the problematic button.



You'll need to pry the metal part of the button off of its plastic base, carefully. I chose to do this in an area where there was no danger of breaking a PCB trace:



It can be a little tricky to catch the metal rather than the plastic when you're trying to pry it off. But when you catch it just right, it'll pop right off:



Removing that metal cover, you'll see a plastic button and metal contact on top of the plastic base:



Carefully remove them, and then clean them. I just used a q-tip and a little rubbing alcohol. Then I polished them briefly with a microfiber cloth. In an attempt to improve contact, I bent the little legs of the metal "crab" piece down, very slightly.



Be sure to clean off the base of the button as well. In the case of one of my Hexars, I think a few tiny specks of dirt on this base were the cause of the malfunction. This button is clearly not very well designed.





Wipe everything with a microfiber cloth to ensure that everything is 100% dry and clean, then carefully reassemble everything, working backward.

Take the opportunity to use a microfiber cloth on the inside of the viewfinder elements. They can get dusty.

When it comes time to replace the top plate, the aperture and mode dials need to meet up with parts on the green PCB. A good method for me was eyeballing it to get it close, partially closing the top cover, and then carefully turning the dials back and forth until they clicked into their places. I also had to push the hotshoe wires around to keep them from getting caught. You'll know everything is correctly in place when the top cover meets up with the body without any resistance.

That's it! Both of my Hexars have been restored to perfect health. Because that button has such a tiny contact, I wouldn't be surprised if I need to repeat this maintenance step every year or two.

I've also posted a gallery of these images elsewhere. There was once a good Hexar wiki on Silvergrain Labs, but it seems to have disappeared. Until anyone objects, I've posted an archive of that information on Scribd.
__________________
me on flickr

Last edited by bensyverson : 06-17-2011 at 14:23.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2011   #2
kzphoto
Registered User
 
kzphoto's Avatar
 
kzphoto is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,175
Nice. I'm sure this will be of some help to everyone.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2011   #3
johannielscom
985 & 532/16
 
johannielscom's Avatar
 
johannielscom is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6,724
Yup, I've done several of 'em like this.

There used to be a pictorial on the SilverGrain wiki showing this as well, but I recently read it was gone and indeed all links to it were dead. I planned on creating my own pictorial but since I do not own a Hexar at the time the project got stuck

Like KZ said, this sure will help some folks out! Kudos!
__________________
Cheers, Johan Niels

My photography & gear articles: www.johanniels.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2011   #4
bensyverson
Registered User
 
bensyverson is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 630
Thanks, guys! I just edited the post, because I remembered that I posted an archive of the Silvergrain information on Scribd. It recommends replacing the button altogether, but I'm not quite there yet.
__________________
me on flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-2011   #5
Dr Gaspar
Registered User
 
Dr Gaspar's Avatar
 
Dr Gaspar is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 175
I was having the same problem. Thanks a bunch man!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-2011   #6
cee
Registered User
 
cee is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 39
Very much appreciated!

Thank you.
__________________
Konica Hexar AF
Nikon F100
Ricoh GR Digital
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-2011   #7
Dr Gaspar
Registered User
 
Dr Gaspar's Avatar
 
Dr Gaspar is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 175
Hey one question, since I'm doing it right now. When you said:

"Using a small screwdriver, open the ribbon cable lock and slide the ribbon cable out. Then unscrew the three screws holding the green PCB to the camera"

I can open the ribbon, pulling it to the right lighty, but then I have to pull up to get the cable out?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-2011   #8
Dr Gaspar
Registered User
 
Dr Gaspar's Avatar
 
Dr Gaspar is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 175
Ok, nevermind! I fixed it two hours ago. Again, thank you!

Was kinda hard to lift the metal cover, but after a few minutes... I got it right.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-2011   #9
bensyverson
Registered User
 
bensyverson is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 630
Sorry I missed your post, Dr Gaspar! Glad you got it worked out. That metal cover is definitely the trickiest part!
__________________
me on flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-2011   #10
filmfan
Registered User
 
filmfan's Avatar
 
filmfan is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,877
Nice one. I have done this twice now-- the first time was a horror show, while the second time only took 10 minutes.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-2011   #11
Frank Petronio
Upwind of Rochester
 
Frank Petronio's Avatar
 
Frank Petronio is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rochester, NY, USA
Posts: 1,905
Thanks! Currently sans-Hexar but I have a habit of buying them over and over.

Is there a source to buy an entirely new switch if desired?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #12
ijohnnyz
shoot pictures not people
 
ijohnnyz's Avatar
 
ijohnnyz is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 124
Here you go frank. Alps SKRNPAE010.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...2bCHudIw%3d%3d

http://alps-electric-inc-aei.industr...s-s/skrnpa.htm
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2011   #13
dogbunny
Registered Boozer
 
dogbunny's Avatar
 
dogbunny is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 537
Thanks for this.

I just fixed mine and it seems to be working better. Though I think I got a few grey hairs at the moment of popping off the metal clip, it was a successful operation. I bent down the "crab legs" slightly as suggested. Good to go!

Cheers,

DB
__________________
Deserve your dream -- Octavio Paz
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2012   #14
bensyverson
Registered User
 
bensyverson is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 630
I did this again recently, and this time around, I didn't remove the ribbon cable—I just pushed the circuit board aside and held it down with the strap (it wanted to snap back).
__________________
me on flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2012   #15
Richard G
Registered User
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Richard G is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 37,47 S
Posts: 3,547
It looks like it is better to prise up the metal cover from the side rather than from the front as there is no metal bar beneath where the flat bladed screw driver is inserted.
__________________
Richard
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2012   #16
bensyverson
Registered User
 
bensyverson is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 630
You can't do it from the side... There are tabs at the front and rear, and one of those tabs needs to be disengaged.
__________________
me on flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2012   #17
Richard G
Registered User
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Richard G is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 37,47 S
Posts: 3,547
You can only rotate the flat blade so far before meeting the bottom bar of the tab, but I suppose it's best to get started there. I suspect I'll end up having to do this eventually.
__________________
Richard
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2012   #18
jaimiepeeters
Registered User
 
jaimiepeeters is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
hi guys

I fixed my Hexar myself today. As expected I did damage something :'( but apparently not that serious.

One of the legs of the cable ribbon holder got broken while removing, but when placing it back it seemed to still really lock the cable tightly.

I hope this will stay this way, though it took me quite some force to get the cable lock in the socket, so I would be very surprised if it would easily fall out.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2012   #19
dogbunny
Registered Boozer
 
dogbunny's Avatar
 
dogbunny is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 537
I did the same thing--just the lower portion of one of the legs. It went back on secure, the same as yours. I've seen no ill effects--works fine. I've been using the camera for a couple of months since the fix.
__________________
Deserve your dream -- Octavio Paz
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2012   #20
jaimiepeeters
Registered User
 
jaimiepeeters is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogbunny View Post
I did the same thing--just the lower portion of one of the legs. It went back on secure, the same as yours. I've seen no ill effects--works fine. I've been using the camera for a couple of months since the fix.
thank god!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2012   #21
jaimiepeeters
Registered User
 
jaimiepeeters is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Hey guys

anybody had done this and still, at the end of their first next roll of film, experienced a shutter issue?

I did the step by step cleaning and it all seemed to work out well. But today during the last 10 shots of the current and first roll after cleaning, I noticed the shutter not firing all the time. When I press really hard it would fire.

Should I go through the process again?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2012   #22
md2008
Registered User
 
md2008's Avatar
 
md2008 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimiepeeters View Post
Hey guys

anybody had done this and still, at the end of their first next roll of film, experienced a shutter issue?

I did the step by step cleaning and it all seemed to work out well. But today during the last 10 shots of the current and first roll after cleaning, I noticed the shutter not firing all the time. When I press really hard it would fire.

Should I go through the process again?
Yes. I had to do mine three times before the fix "took". Each time I did it, I thought everything looked immaculate. I didn't do anything differently each time I repeated either. It's been almost a year now with no shutter problems.
__________________
RFF Gallery
Hexar AF Journal
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2012   #23
jaimiepeeters
Registered User
 
jaimiepeeters is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
OK!

is there anything that you might have overlooked the first time. In a sense of not having cleaned something well enough, not having made sure something made contact? Just trying to figure out what to do to make it perfect.

I dont mind having to do it 3 times, if that makes it successful.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2012   #24
md2008
Registered User
 
md2008's Avatar
 
md2008 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimiepeeters View Post
OK!

is there anything that you might have overlooked the first time. In a sense of not having cleaned something well enough, not having made sure something made contact? Just trying to figure out what to do to make it perfect.

I dont mind having to do it 3 times, if that makes it successful.
I guess it just took three cleanings - next time, I'll just clean for longer or repeat a few times before I reassemble. I think maybe the base wasn't getting cleaned very well because I used just a little cleaning solution on the Q-tip each time since I didn't want to get anything wet into the camera. The crabby think I actually soaked in cleaning solution so I'm pretty sure that was clean from the first time.
__________________
RFF Gallery
Hexar AF Journal
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2012   #25
jaimiepeeters
Registered User
 
jaimiepeeters is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Noted.. will redo the entire process as soon as I can get my hands on a tiny screwdriver again.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:16.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.