Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Rangefinder Forum > The Business Of Photography

The Business Of Photography This is the place to ask questions about the business of being a photographer -- including but not limited to business set up, marketing, copyright, and the ever popular how much to charge.

Photo assisting/ Studio Intern
Old 04-06-2011   #1
Dwayneb9584

Photo assisting/ Studio Intern

Hey all,

Just wanted to ask if any of you on here every assisted or worked as an intern for a professional photographer. I have an interview with one on Friday and it's unpaid and I'm pretty bumbed by that. However, I can use the studio space in return and gain lots of experience from him. What's you take on this?

Old 04-06-2011   #2
Roger Hicks

When I was a little younger than you, I worked as an assistant. The money was lousy but it was an earnest of good intent, and, as you say, I got to use the studio and learned a LOT. Working for nothing looks like exploitation to me. But I was doing it a third of a century ago. If things have changed that much, perhaps photography is a field to avoid.

Cheers,

R.

Old 04-06-2011   #3
EcoLeica
Check out my blog!!!

Depending on how much time you are going to help the photographer I'd say its a good deal (you must have money to eat). Being able to use a studio space is a wonderful way to compensate you for your time. Also be a sponge...learn as much as you can. I have been in similar situations and what little money i made was no where near as important as the experience I gained.

CHeers

Old 04-06-2011   #4
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.

I agree with Roger, don't work for free. If you're working, you should be paid. This photographer is not a school, you aren't working for him just to learn. He's making money off your labor, and if your work is really worth nothing to him, I'd ask why he wants you.

Back home again in Indiana

http://www.chriscrawfordphoto.com