Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Photo Software

Photo Software Discussions of all the photo software - except scanning software which is in the forum with scanners.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Has anyone here who uses ACDSee Mac Pro 3 updated their Apple computer to Sierra?
Old 02-06-2017   #1
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,326
Has anyone here who uses ACDSee Mac Pro 3 updated their Apple computer to Sierra?

If so did it corrupt ACDSee like it has on mine? The program now refuses to display images in the viewing pane of any format. All I get is white blank thumbnails that won't render the image when double clicked and you can't edit them either. Oddly the files are still there and show as complete images if you imbed them on facebook or similar.

I'm waiting to hear back from ACDSee about this but I'm not holding my breath because last time I had any issues with their software they were all but useless. I use LR for PP so this is just back up software ... but it would be nice if it worked because that's what I paid for!
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2017   #2
Freakscene
Deregistered user
 
Freakscene's Avatar
 
Freakscene is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,262
Keith, do you have a time machine backup of your system with the old OS? I'd downgrade back until you can get it sorted. Part of the inherent difficulty in buying third party software, unfortunately.

Marty
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2017   #3
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakscene View Post
Keith, do you have a time machine backup of your system with the old OS? I'd downgrade back until you can get it sorted. Part of the inherent difficulty in buying third party software, unfortunately.

Marty
ACDSee on the mac (with the previous OS) has always refused to render the raw files from my Leica 240. Try and open a DNG from the leica in ACDSee and 'bang' the program crashes and just shuts down. In the windows version as on my Toshiba laptop no problems. I've been on ACDSee's case about the Leica files for as long as I've had the camera and although they acknowledge the problem they have yet to do anything about it so I'm not optimistic about the latest issue. They really don't seem to care too much about their apple version of the software.

The only reason I like ACDSee is because it has a file tree and you don't have to import or export images to work on them.
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #4
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,326
As a follow up to this they actually got in touch with me to let me know they are currently testing a beta version of the software and will be releasing it officially in March. The upgrade will probably cost me around twenty nine dollars and it will be very different to what I've been battling with.
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 23:02.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.