Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Gearhead Delights > Repair / Camera Care

Repair / Camera Care This is a good place to discuss the care and repair of your photo gear. You can share Do-It-Yourself repair and maintenance, as well as your recommendations for pro repairs. This new forum was created 4/1/07. PLEASE title your thread wisely, so others searching for a certain make of camera or repair person can find your thread easily!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Konica Hexar AF shutter release problem
Old 01-08-2017   #1
Nugard
Elvis lives!..
 
Nugard's Avatar
 
Nugard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Age: 29
Posts: 340
Question Konica Hexar AF shutter release problem

Good day to you, folks!

Unfortunately today was a bad day for my black Hexar AF, which was perfectly functioning until this day.. When I turn it on it operates as usual with a small exception - it doesn't take a shot when I press shutter release button completely... It does focus, it does exposure, and everything else seems ok... Also, I might have thought that this issue is caused by the low battery, but I just recently put in a new one... So I'm confused here... And would be really greatful if someone could help me out...
__________________
- Volodimir Petrov -

Olympus OM-1n and heap of lenses
Leica MP and 50 'Cron (tabbed)


flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2017   #2
Nugard
Elvis lives!..
 
Nugard's Avatar
 
Nugard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Age: 29
Posts: 340
Sometimes it does take a shot thought, but I have to press shutter release button like seven times...

is there someone here at all?

where are you, all hexar lovers? can somebody tell me what's wrong with my camera?.. or should I just sell it for parts?
__________________
- Volodimir Petrov -

Olympus OM-1n and heap of lenses
Leica MP and 50 'Cron (tabbed)


flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2017   #3
anerjee
Registered User
 
anerjee is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugard View Post
Sometimes it does take a shot thought, but I have to press shutter release button like seven times...

is there someone here at all?

where are you, all hexar lovers? can somebody tell me what's wrong with my camera?.. or should I just sell it for parts?
I have the same issue. If you are the DIY type, try this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhT3jwYx0LM&t=4s
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2017   #4
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
I have just started having the same problem. I have seen the fix.. but I'm under pressure for time, so if anyone know of a repairer in Europe who can do the job, it would be appreciated!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2017   #5
Nugard
Elvis lives!..
 
Nugard's Avatar
 
Nugard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Age: 29
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by anerjee View Post
I have the same issue. If you are the DIY type, try this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhT3jwYx0LM&t=4s
In this video camera from the beginning of the repairs operation was behaving other way than mine...

My camera is functioning, lcd shows information, it focuses ok, it does meter ok, the only issue is that when I press (after half pressure) complitely - it doesn't fire the shutter... So I have to repeat the same operation again and again until it finally (somehow??) does fire the shutter and takes a shot, rewinds to the next frame and everything starts from the beginning...
__________________
- Volodimir Petrov -

Olympus OM-1n and heap of lenses
Leica MP and 50 'Cron (tabbed)


flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2017   #6
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugard View Post
In this video camera from the beginning of the repairs operation was behaving other way than mine...

My camera is functioning, lcd shows information, it focuses ok, it does meter ok, the only issue is that when I press (after half pressure) complitely - it doesn't fire the shutter... So I have to repeat the same operation again and again until it finally (somehow??) does fire the shutter and takes a shot, rewinds to the next frame and everything starts from the beginning...
This is well-known, i think it's termed the sticky shutter fault.
There's a fix here but unfortunately the pix have expired:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...d.php?t=107262

How is this different to your fault? This camera seems fully-functioning except for the shutter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhT3jwYx0LM
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017   #7
valdas
Registered User
 
valdas is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul T. View Post
This is well-known, i think it's termed the sticky shutter fault.
There's a fix here but unfortunately the pix have expired:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...d.php?t=107262
I have saved an offline version in case anybody needs it...
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017   #8
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Special kudos to Valdas, and the original poster of course.

The tutorial has excellent photos. It looks to be an easier fix than many.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017   #9
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,398
I "fixed" mine by giving the shutter button an extreme workout, repeatedly pressing it over and over and giving it a little sideways pressure at times. After that it it seemed to be happy to work properly again. Might work, might not, worth a try. I may have given it a small squirt of electrical cleaner in there too, can't remember.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017   #10
Nugard
Elvis lives!..
 
Nugard's Avatar
 
Nugard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Age: 29
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by valdas View Post
I have saved an offline version in case anybody needs it...
Can you please post it somehow?
__________________
- Volodimir Petrov -

Olympus OM-1n and heap of lenses
Leica MP and 50 'Cron (tabbed)


flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2017   #11
valdas
Registered User
 
valdas is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugard View Post
Can you please post it somehow?
I have it in pdf, not sure how I can post it here, PM me your email and I will send it to you (tomorrow, don't have this file with me now).
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2017   #12
taomei
Registered User
 
taomei is offline
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 49
I have a similar experience with Steve M. At first I had a camera I got from a used camera swap that seemed to work fine but 4-5 times a roll it would fail to fire after 1/2 press, or lose focus after half-press erratically.

After a couple rolls dealing with this occasionally it seems less frequent and I can hold the finicky half-press well enough to reframe. Had this looked at with Weber Camera in Nebraska, but he says it's not the 'sticky shutter button' problem highlighed by the youTube fix / DIY fix, and that it's a problem with the logic board.

Btw, if it were simply a shutter button problem, Greg Weber with Weber camera swaps the button contact with one from a Konica SLR that's brass and wears better over time.
__________________
Follow Me: Tumblr | Flickr | Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-2017   #13
Nugard
Elvis lives!..
 
Nugard's Avatar
 
Nugard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Age: 29
Posts: 340
Smile

So, what can I say dear fellas...

I've tried advice kindly given by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M. View Post
I "fixed" mine by giving the shutter button an extreme workout, repeatedly pressing it over and over and giving it a little sideways pressure at times. After that it it seemed to be happy to work properly again. Might work, might not, worth a try. I may have given it a small squirt of electrical cleaner in there too, can't remember.
I did only 10-30 pressures as the camera was off, and when I turned it on to try if it works, it actually did fire the shutter almost the hole roll every shot from the first try, so I assume, it was in fact sticky shutter release button issue with dirty contacts inside...

I'm glad that it went that easy and I did not have to take camera apart, thought it's always good to know how...

Anyway, thank you everyone who answered... And I hope this thread may be useful for some other Hexar owners...
__________________
- Volodimir Petrov -

Olympus OM-1n and heap of lenses
Leica MP and 50 'Cron (tabbed)


flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #14
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Thanks very much to valdas for sending me a PDF with the missing photos. I performed the fix and it worked.

As the original thread is hard to find (doesn't have the word 'sticky' in it!) I thought I'd repost the instructions here combined with my pix, for anyone else who encounters the problem. I found it an easy fix - the trickiest part was levering off the silver metal button cover.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #15
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
I'm adding the pix as attachments, as that way they won't expire.

First, you need to carefully peel back the covering on the front just enough to get at two screws. Some parts are stickier than others, but with a small flat screwdriver, both screws, on right and left of the lens, come out easily.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix1.jpg (24.9 KB, 4 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #16
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
and the other side, where the screw is a little further under the cover.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix2.jpg (20.5 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #17
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
After removing the other three screws on the top plate, two at the back, one at the side, you can lift it up carefully.

Lift the top plate carefully out of the way. The leads are long enough that you can work with it attached.

Next look at the shutter assemble. You can see the button, on a circuit board connect via a ribbon cable. This is easy to remove.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix3.jpg (20.0 KB, 5 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #18
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
On my camera, the plastic cover for the small display fell out as I took off the cover. No matter. I reglued it later - but it's tricky actually, use superglue as I did and you might get a smear on the glass.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix4.jpg (25.2 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #19
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
The plastic lock slides over easily. Then slide the ribbon carefully out. I marked mine with a sharpie to show me that I had it inserted the right distance when I reassembled.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix5.jpg (22.4 KB, 4 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #20
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
The ribbon cable is simple to remove.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix6.jpg (25.9 KB, 5 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #21
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Next, remove the three screws attaching the circuit board - they're slightly shorter, IIRC, than the other screws so keep them separate. Lift it away.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix7.jpg (23.0 KB, 4 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #22
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Now you can see the problematic button. The rubber centre is retained by a pressed silver metal cover.You need to gently prise it off. I levered it from the bottom away from the circuit board. This is the trickiest bit, I used a scalpel here as even a tiny screwdriver was too fat. Be careful and patient, find the right angle and it comes off, as you can see.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix8.jpg (28.0 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #23
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Now you'll see the button, sitting on a copper 'spider' (the button might have slid out of position when you removed its retainer).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix9.jpg (30.8 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #24
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Now it's simply a matter of cleaning the three parts: copper "spider", the base, and the bottom of the rubber button. Did I clean the silver cover as well? I can't remember. In my case, I didn't find obvious bits of gunge. I very gently also bent the legs of the spider down... just a tiny bit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix91.jpg (10.6 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-2017   #25
Paul T.
Registered User
 
Paul T.'s Avatar
 
Paul T. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,864
Next is reassembly. This is all straightforward.

As i placed the top plate in position, with the lens away from me, I pulled the hot shoe wires towards me, so they fall into a gap rather than being trapped. The original poster commented how he needed to jiggle the switches around (ie P/A etc) but on mine it fell straight back into position.

I still had film in my camera. So I actually took my first doggie pic! Perhaps I'll post it when I process the roll.

My camera had the sticky shutter fairly bad - it would focus, but only actually trip the shutter erratically. From my three doggie pix, it seems to work perfectly now. I promise I will try and keep the camera cleaner than I have in the past ( I wish I could find another loose cover like the one the camera is supplied with).

Thanks to those who've gone before, and helped me fix this, the camera that's really been most useful to me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fix92.jpg (28.9 KB, 4 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-18-2017   #26
llkk52
Registered User
 
llkk52 is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
I hope no one minds me asking but I also have a Hexar AF that is playing up. I am getting the B.C battery error. I've tried new batteries and cleaning the contacts. I have read elsewhere that it shouldn't be too hard to fix but no one offers anything further. I can follow guides but don't have the experience to open it up and go hunting.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:47.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.