Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Photo Software

Photo Software Discussions of all the photo software - except scanning software which is in the forum with scanners.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Moving Lightroom Library to new computer?
Old 03-17-2015   #1
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 43
Posts: 17,944
Moving Lightroom Library to new computer?

Last time I had to do this (4 years ago) I asked this same question... but can't remember how to do it for the life of me. All of my photos are housed on external drives.

How do I move my lightroom library (and collections) to my new computer so when I point the program at my external hard drive, it recognizes my library and sets it all up just like my old computer?
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-2015   #2
MCTuomey
Registered User
 
MCTuomey's Avatar
 
MCTuomey is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: U.S.
Age: 63
Posts: 3,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
Last time I had to do this (4 years ago) I asked this same question... but can't remember how to do it for the life of me. All of my photos are housed on external drives.

How do I move my lightroom library (and collections) to my new computer so when I point the program at my external hard drive, it recognizes my library and sets it all up just like my old computer?
John, I used these tips when I migrated my catalog and files to a new PC.

http://www.lightroomqueen.com/how-mo...-new-computer/

http://www.photographybay.com/2014/0...-new-computer/
__________________
--Mike (confirmed midget imagist on stilts)

The photographer chances upon a scene that fascinates him. He longs to be a part of it ... recording the scene and including within it his vicarious representative, the participating observer. --- Geoff Dyer

Gear: more than enough, film and digital

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-2015   #3
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 43
Posts: 17,944
Thanks Mike.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2016   #4
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 43
Posts: 17,944
Time to do this again... Still the same for LR 6 right?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2016   #5
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
Time to do this again... Still the same for LR 6 right?
Yes, it's the same as it's always been.

Lightroom finds image files by reference, the file path is stored in the .LRCAT file. Presuming that you have all your image files stored on external file volumes and that the file path to the image files remains the same on a new system*, all that's really required is to move the entirety of a Lightroom catalog folder from one system to the other and then tell Lightroom what catalog folder to use when it is launched. (In Lightroom Preferences, Presets tab, you can also choose whether to store presets with the catalog, limiting access to them to just that one catalog, or leave them in a central location for use with all catalogs. If you have "Store presets with this catalog" checked, the presets folder is in the catalog folder as well; if not, you also need to move your presets from the central Lightroom Presets Folder on the old system to the new system into the matching folder that the Lightroom installation created there.)

* A nuance on the filepath naming is that on Windows systems volume labels are optional. If your Windows system volumes are not labeled, Lightroom uses the letter designation (eg: "E:" or "F:" or "H:", etc) for identifying volumes, which can cause some problems with filepaths to external volumes that are assigned letter designations dynamically at mount time by the underlying hardware and file system protocols. The solution to this is to always add volume labels to your Windows volumes, then the default is for Lightroom to prefer the volume label over the letter designation. This issue does not exist on macOS systems since all volumes are labeled (named).

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2016   #6
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NYC
Age: 43
Posts: 17,944
Thanks Godfrey, I was hoping you'd reply. You helped me 5 years ago with this. I'm just moving from one mac to another with external drives. It's always easy to do with the instructions on the internet (and from you guys), but it still causes me stress for some reason.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.