Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Being a Photographer > Technique: How To Shoot It

Technique: How To Shoot It Ask questions about how to take pics, as well as share your own favorite shooting tips.

Calculating light by eye (without a light meter) indoors
Old 02-19-2015   #1
Redseele

Calculating light by eye (without a light meter) indoors

Hi everyone,

I've been shooting with a Leica M3 for a couple of years now. Without a meter I resort to the Sunny 16 rule to shoot in the sun under different conditions (cloudy, hazy, no shadows, etc.) and I've got a hold of it relatively well. However, I ended up giving when I realized that I also shot pretty often indoors (which sort of justified getting an M6 in addition to my M3 ).

So here's my question: how do you calculate light without a meter indoors?

I realize there are other practical ways of doing this (handheld meter, using the M6's light meter, etc.). That's what I'm doing right now. However, I met a guy (a photographer with a few decades of experience) a few days ago who could very quickly calculate aperture and shutter speed almost perfectly without using a meter. I was amazed by this ability and I want to learn more about it. Unfortunately I won't be seeing him very often, so I was wondering if the community could help me out with some pointers of how to go about learning to do this.

As an example, how to go about doing this by looking at how much light come through windows, how far away something is from a window, the type of artificial light used (incandescent vs. artificial day light), etc.

Finally, another question: I can shoot very well outside on the sun, but how much should I compensate for shadows (for instance, shadows under a tree or next to a building in different light conditions, etc.)