Mac OSX 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and Nikonscan?
Old 09-01-2009   #1
Mark Wood
Registered User
 
Mark Wood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 412
Mac OSX 10.6 (Snow Leopard) and Nikonscan?

It's a question that's bound to crop up sooner or later, given Nikon's apparent determination to not update the Mac version of Nikonscan. Well, having done the risky experiment and updated a 2.4 GHz Intel MacBook from OS10.5.whatever to 10.6, Nikonscan still seems to be working with a Coolscan IV (LS40). Not exactly extensive testing (one transparency and one colour negative scanned so far!) but no obvious problems yet.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2009   #2
Mackinaw
Think Different
 
Mackinaw is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One hour south of the Mackinaw Bridge
Posts: 2,726
This is good news. I'll be updating to 10.6 later this fall and was wondering if Nikonscan would still work.

Jim B.
__________________
My fancy-schmancy gallery:

http://snowcountryphotography.com

My RFF Gallery:

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/phot...user=1453&sl=m
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2009   #3
fixbones
.......sometimes i thinks
 
fixbones is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 761
I am looking to buy a coolsscan.
Can i just confirm with you guys that it works fine with Mac OS 10.5??
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-2009   #4
Mark Wood
Registered User
 
Mark Wood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixbones View Post
I am looking to buy a coolsscan.
Can i just confirm with you guys that it works fine with Mac OS 10.5??
I didn't have any apparent problems installing and running it on two Intel-based Macs running on OS10.5 (with all of the Apple updates) but I guess that isn't a definitive answer.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #5
Jamie123
Registered User
 
Jamie123 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,741
Here's what Nikon has to say: http://support.nikontech.com/app/ans...ail/a_id/16522

Anyways, I'm a PC user but have heard that there were already stability issues with OS 10.5 and Nikon Scan. Vuescan should work, though, and I'm sure there's going to be a version that supports 10.6.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #6
Rayt
Registered User
 
Rayt's Avatar
 
Rayt is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,638
I just bought Snow Leopard upgrades for my Macs. I guess I am not going to install them now.
  Reply With Quote

All fine
Old 09-02-2009   #7
loic.sans
French expat in London...
 
loic.sans's Avatar
 
loic.sans is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 39
All fine

I have just upgraded to snow leopard. I am scanning as I write this, It works beautifully ( Nikon coolscan VED)
__________________
Leica M9 / M7 - 50 summicron - 35 summicron ASPH - Canon RF 135 f3.5 - 75 Summarit.
Mamiya C330F - 80mm sekor f2.8 - 180mm sekor super f4.5 - 105mm sekor f3.5

flickr - Jpgmag - 500px - loicsans
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #8
HuubL
hunter-gatherer
 
HuubL's Avatar
 
HuubL is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Age: 64
Posts: 2,401
Good to know it works for you. I've installed SL and going to scan this weekend.
__________________
Grain, not Noise!
My cameras
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #9
rya
Registered User
 
rya is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 177
Thank you all for trying this, losing Nikonscan was my reason for holding out on upgrading.

Once the quirks were figured out, using Nikonscan with 10.5 has always worked well for me.
__________________
r's camera obscura
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #10
loic.sans
French expat in London...
 
loic.sans's Avatar
 
loic.sans is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London
Age: 40
Posts: 39
Update, Nikon scan 4.02 and Snow Leopard 10.6 works very well. I even have the impression that it scans faster.
__________________
Leica M9 / M7 - 50 summicron - 35 summicron ASPH - Canon RF 135 f3.5 - 75 Summarit.
Mamiya C330F - 80mm sekor f2.8 - 180mm sekor super f4.5 - 105mm sekor f3.5

flickr - Jpgmag - 500px - loicsans
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #11
Mark Wood
Registered User
 
Mark Wood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by loic.sans View Post
Update, Nikon scan 4.02 and Snow Leopard 10.6 works very well. I even have the impression that it scans faster.
I'm glad it wasn't just my imagination! It would be useful if Nikon would be more specific about the nature of the problems as I've yet to encounter any with 10.5 or 10.6. Now, dare I update my main computer...?!?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #12
bwcolor
Registered User
 
bwcolor is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 2,357
Snow Leopard arrives tomorrow and my 9000ED has yet to be unboxed from B&H. So, thanks for the report.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #13
jke
Registered User
 
jke's Avatar
 
jke is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 290
Worked in 10.5 and works in 10.6. If anything, it seems to work a bit better in 10.6.

Note that according to Nikon, when you update to 4.02, NikonScan may still report that it is 4.0 due to a glitch but that the update has indeed occurred.

However, my Epson 2100 has developed a strange color cast on color prints, so I don't know what is up with that.
__________________
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-2009   #14
Mark Wood
Registered User
 
Mark Wood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by jke View Post
Worked in 10.5 and works in 10.6. If anything, it seems to work a bit better in 10.6.

Note that according to Nikon, when you update to 4.02, NikonScan may still report that it is 4.0 due to a glitch but that the update has indeed occurred.

However, my Epson 2100 has developed a strange color cast on color prints, so I don't know what is up with that.
Aha, that's explained why my iMac still believes it's using version 4.0!!

Oddly, my Epson 870 has developed a problem with a regular, very fine band appearing on prints but that's with OSX 10.5 and it was working fine a few months ago with the same operating system/driver. No amount of cleaning (and expensive ink wasting!) seems to have any effect. Probably time for a new printer...
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2009   #15
nightfly
Registered User
 
nightfly is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,721
Just a heads up that apparently Photoshop has issues with Snow Leopard both CS3 and CS4. Crashes opening and closing files etc:

http://www.macnn.com/articles/09/09/...lash.vulnerab/

I'll wait a month or two before upgrading till they sort it out. Excellent rant on this by Merlin Man here:

http://www.kungfugrippe.com/post/177715198/confessional

And a priceless screenshot:

  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2009   #16
Praxis Unitas
Registered User
 
Praxis Unitas is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 65
I'm using vuescan and snow leopard on a mac pro. No problems. Very snappy/ reliable. I had an awful time with 10.5 and Nikon scan... crashes galore...
__________________


Prax•is |'prak səs| noun formal :
From Greek; Practice, as distinguished from theory.

U•ni•tas |yoō' nĭ täs| noun :
Latin; The state or quality of being in accord; harmony.

  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2009   #17
wray
Registered User
 
wray's Avatar
 
wray is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 626
Using CS3 and Snow Leopard (after reinstalling Photoshop), I have had no problems including scanning from my Epson V700!
__________________
Be yourself. Everyone else is taken. - Oscar Wilde
  Reply With Quote

Snow Leopard and Silverfast AI
Old 09-03-2009   #18
msheppler
Registered User
 
msheppler is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 94
Snow Leopard and Silverfast AI

Anyone running SL and Silverfast AI?

cheers,
Michael
__________________
Leica M3, Agfa Isolette III, Yashica T4
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-2009   #19
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,507
I get a "Cannot Set Window Error" with the LS-8000. Puzzling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msheppler View Post
Anyone running SL and Silverfast AI?

cheers,
Michael
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2009   #20
vnall
Registered User
 
vnall is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2
I have used Nikon Scan 4.02 to scan in thousands of photos with an iMac 24" and OS 10.5 which I upgraded to 10.6.2. It irritates me that Nikon has not resolved the problem with the crashing and hanging of their software . Nikon Scan either hangs or crashes about every 50 to 100 scans. Shutting the scanner down and restarting the scanner and software lets me continue to scan, although I then have to reset the scan counter. I go through this perhaps a 1/2 dozen times a day. Otherwise the scanner (Nikon Coolscan V ED) has been a good workhorse.

I have another 10,000 or so negatives to scan. I didn't realize that Vuescan could be used with my Nikon scanner. It is a great program that I use with my flatbed Canon scanner. I will give it a try after my next Nikon crash.

Last edited by vnall : 11-18-2009 at 11:28.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2009   #21
popeye
Registered User
 
popeye's Avatar
 
popeye is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by vnall View Post
I will give it a try after my next Nikon crash.
Do or Do Not, there is no try...

I gave up on NS 4 after scanning b/w negs. I use it to batch scan my friend's slides as she has a certain workflow and expectation of output as the scanner is hers. It does work acceptably for this purpose, but is does crash and require power cycling of the scanner, clearing of the slide and a restart of the app. Aside from that the interface is wonky for adjusting the framing and a pita to get right, and then there's the preview issues when scanning strips.

Vuescan otoh is far easier and faster to both preview and scan that the process of scanning is less of a pain.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2010   #22
dipalina
Registered User
 
dipalina is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
How can i run mac os x and vista simultaneously? I downloaded Microsoft virtual Pc 2007. I want to run Mac os x on my vista laptop (2GB of ram, so memory is not a problem). Also, will microsoft virtual machine 2007 work on vista basic?
_______________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com

Last edited by dipalina : 01-16-2010 at 21:22.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2010   #23
hlockwood
Registered User
 
hlockwood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston metro area
Posts: 918
I've been having on and off problems with NikonScan for some time on my iMac with OS 10.5.8 (Leopard.) I reconfirmed yesterday, with a call to Nikon, that they are about to release an update to NS that will resolve the inconsistent behavior readily apparent in this thread. The tech guy assured me that the upgrade will be available before the end of this month (January.) About time.

Harry
__________________
Harry Lockwood

Leica M7/0.85, Hexar RF, M9-P and a bunch of lenses.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-2010   #24
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is online now
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 68
Posts: 4,437
any news about the release of the update for Nikonscan ? I did not manage to get any info (in Italy).
rob
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life


my quiet photographer's blog


My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-2010   #25
popeye
Registered User
 
popeye's Avatar
 
popeye is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert blu View Post
any news about the release of the update for Nikonscan ? I did not manage to get any info (in Italy).
rob
From a cursory investigation, there is nothing. Go VueScan, Silverlight etc...
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-2010   #26
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is online now
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 68
Posts: 4,437
Thanks popeye. It seems from other answer that SnowLeopard and Nikonscan work well together. I'm buying in those days a MacBook Pro to put beside my i.mac and I will have SnowLeopard on it. So I'll be in position to compare ! I think I'l keep Tiger on my i-mac because it works without problems with CS3 and my printer (HP9180B) but I heard that are colours management problems with CS3 and snow leopard.
robert
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life


my quiet photographer's blog


My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote

Another delay
Old 03-12-2010   #27
hlockwood
Registered User
 
hlockwood is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston metro area
Posts: 918
Another delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by hlockwood View Post
I've been having on and off problems with NikonScan for some time on my iMac with OS 10.5.8 (Leopard.) I reconfirmed yesterday, with a call to Nikon, that they are about to release an update to NS that will resolve the inconsistent behavior readily apparent in this thread. The tech guy assured me that the upgrade will be available before the end of this month (January.) About time.

Harry
Update: I called Nikon to find out what happened to the promised update to NS. They said they are still working on it but no release date is available.

Harry
__________________
Harry Lockwood

Leica M7/0.85, Hexar RF, M9-P and a bunch of lenses.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-2010   #28
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is online now
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 68
Posts: 4,437
still working on it but no release date is available.

this is my main worry working with hybrid process, of which I' m satisfied. But the weak point is scanning and I'm afraid it will be a problem in a couple of years. Or the scanner itself can have some problem and difficult to repair. Or the continuos improvement of new/upgraded systems (snow leopard appear not too much time after leopard) will make difficult to use the scanner even if it works. Maybe time to start to save for an M9...

robert
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life


my quiet photographer's blog


My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-2010   #29
regularchickens
Registered User
 
regularchickens's Avatar
 
regularchickens is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 222
I'm not holding my breath for an update of any Nikon Scan software, especially for Mac.

As for me, Nikon Scan crashes about once per scanning session in 10.6. Which is to say, it works just like it did in 10.5.
__________________
flickr | tumblr
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-20-2010   #30
krisliu77
Kris
 
krisliu77 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Adelaide
Age: 31
Posts: 17
I use a snow leopard, and my VED works fine.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-21-2010   #31
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is online now
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 68
Posts: 4,437
thanks for positive answer, it seems nikonscan works with snowleopard. I have still doubts about color management (I reda somewhere about difficulties). I'll have a new mac book pro in a few days and I'll compare myself, same files, same printer Snowleopard against Tiger which is installed on the i-mac. Let you know if anything interesting.
robert
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life


my quiet photographer's blog


My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-22-2010   #32
Zonan
Registered User
 
Zonan's Avatar
 
Zonan is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 294
I just got new MBP, and Nikon Scan will not launch with 10.6.3. I have rebooted, etc.- same problem. Looks like this is the end of the line. (:
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-01-2010   #33
Audioslave
Registered User
 
Audioslave is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sweden
Posts: 4
Just got my new 2010 13" MBP running with my Coolscan IV ED using Nikon Scan 4.0.2 on OSX 10.6.3 (snow leopard).

Works great so far, no sign of the problems/crashes that I experienced using a LS-4000 on a 2008 iMac (C2D).

Downloaded Nikon Scan 4 from Nikon and then the update I found on Apple's site:

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...nikonscan.html

/m
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-01-2010   #34
Tim Gray
Registered User
 
Tim Gray is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,837
Got a new laptop with 10.6 preinstalled. Nikonscan works fine just like it did on the old laptop with 10.5, which originally came with 10.4. Or 10.3. And it worked fine on the one before that too. Basically, I've had no problems with Nikonscan under OS X on three different laptops, PowerPC and Intel.
__________________
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-2010   #35
benno
Hack.
 
benno is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Nikon scan is 'working' for me with 10.6.3.

It's still ****ty software. I'm researching Silverfast right now, but it's bloody expensive for what it is.
__________________
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2010   #36
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 4,707
Any further updates on this ?
I'm still on Tiger and with today's release of LightRoom 3 (along with the recent Photoshop CS5 release) I'm now considering moving to Snow Leopard (or maybe Desert Fox, Jungle Gorilla or Domestic Hairless Chihuahua if that's the next Apple OS upgrade ).

I've grown "accustomed to" using Nikon Scan and, for the most part, works just fine for me right now on 10.4.x - I'm using a Nikon 9000.

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2010   #37
Zonan
Registered User
 
Zonan's Avatar
 
Zonan is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 294
After some initial difficulty, and uninstalling/reinstalling, I have been using Nikonscan with 10.6.3. No more problems than with 10.5
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2010   #38
minhhich
Registered User
 
minhhich is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
i use a 4000 ed with vuescan and the combination works like a charm on 10.6.3
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2010   #39
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 4,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by minhhich View Post
i use a 4000 ed with vuescan and the combination works like a charm on 10.6.3
Ya.. I know VueScan works well.. but I'm curious about Nikon Scan

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-15-2010   #40
JPSuisse
Registered User
 
JPSuisse's Avatar
 
JPSuisse is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 419
Hi All

I just wanted to give you a quick heads-up. I was going through updating my software in my software library...


When I got to Nikon Scan, I went to the Nikon website and found a statement from Nikon saying that they don't recommend OS X 10.5 or Windows 7.

Here's the link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answ...,2/r_id/116678

Personally, I'm using a 10.4 still and Vuescan. So, it doesn't affect me. Just thought I'd transmit the information.

Kind regards,

JP
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:07.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.