Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 3 Weeks Ago   #561
help!
Registered User
 
help! is offline
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
The ScanMate 5000 datasheet says that the dimensions of the scanner are 840 x 410 x 340 mm (wxhxd). Can someone confirm these measurements?
  Reply With Quote

Drum for scanmate 5000
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #562
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Drum for scanmate 5000

Hello, greetings from Hungary.
I need help.
I bought scanmate 5000 scanner but the drum is in very poor condition.
Not usable.
I would like to find a drum.
Please help.
Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0821.JPG (95.0 KB, 23 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #563
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Hello
i bought a while ago my ScanMate 11000. Now i tried to scan a 16 bit negative without conversion in CQ 5.0 .
The File Format is Tiff RGB 16bit. The negative is a 6x4,5 color negative and i tried to scan in the highest resolution 11000.
I have read here that there is a bug so that i can use only 10500 pixel per line.

So i have tried to scan in slices with a maximum of 20 mm vertically.
But after some time, i think around 60% i got an error.

Error no 1847 DtoNormalizestream - SVRead FileProcfailure.

if i scan the slice horizontally the error would not appear but my images where damaged because of the bug.

Does anybody know this problem.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #564
Michel154
Registered User
 
Michel154's Avatar
 
Michel154 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
Hello
i bought a while ago my ScanMate 11000. Now i tried to scan a 16 bit negative without conversion in CQ 5.0 .
The File Format is Tiff RGB 16bit. The negative is a 6x4,5 color negative and i tried to scan in the highest resolution 11000.
I have read here that there is a bug so that i can use only 10500 pixel per line.

So i have tried to scan in slices with a maximum of 20 mm vertically.
But after some time, i think around 60% i got an error.

Error no 1847 DtoNormalizestream - SVRead FileProcfailure.

if i scan the slice horizontally the error would not appear but my images where damaged because of the bug.

Does anybody know this problem.

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
Hello, greetings from Hungary.
I need help.
I bought scanmate 5000 scanner but the drum is in very poor condition.
Not usable.
I would like to find a drum.
Please help.
Thank you.
there is was one here in Poland i could ask how much the person is asking
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #565
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michel154 View Post
there is was one here in Poland i could ask how much the person is asking
Thank you Michel.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #566
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
Hello
i bought a while ago my ScanMate 11000. Now i tried to scan a 16 bit negative without conversion in CQ 5.0 .
The File Format is Tiff RGB 16bit. The negative is a 6x4,5 color negative and i tried to scan in the highest resolution 11000.
I have read here that there is a bug so that i can use only 10500 pixel per line.

So i have tried to scan in slices with a maximum of 20 mm vertically.
But after some time, i think around 60% i got an error.

Error no 1847 DtoNormalizestream - SVRead FileProcfailure.

if i scan the slice horizontally the error would not appear but my images where damaged because of the bug.

Does anybody know this problem.

Thanks
It's not a bug. It's a hardware limitation, scanmates buffer can only handle 10500px at 16bit. You need to be careful not to go over it or the files will be messed up.

This limit only applies vertically on the drum, and horizontally in the preview. The scanner scans the image line by line, so one line can only be as large as the scanner's buffer.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #567
weppo
Registered User
 
weppo is offline
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 22
For those of you that might experiment problems with colorperfect similar to the ones i experimented (see previous posts). I uninstalled photoshop and installed it back and everything is working fine. Dont know what happened, but this procedure solved it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #568
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Thank you monkey fist

I think i solved the problem. I reinstalled QC and now everything works at least at my last two scans.

Does anybody know where i can get a copy of ColorTrio for Mac OS9.

It is missing in my Copy of CQ 5.2 and every copy i found on the web was for different OSīs or where faulty.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #569
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
Thank you monkey fist

I think i solved the problem. I reinstalled QC and now everything works at least at my last two scans.

Does anybody know where i can get a copy of ColorTrio for Mac OS9.

It is missing in my Copy of CQ 5.2 and every copy i found on the web was for different OSīs or where faulty.

Thanks
Wasnīt ColorTrio a windows software? If you got CQ, you don't need ColorTrio, it's 8bit only software anyhow.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #570
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
No there was a version for mac.
I donīt know if there was a specific one for os9 or only OS X
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #571
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
I saw on this blog, the really cool mod from netsoft2k with the ir cut of filter.
I found this one on eBay

http://www.ebay.de/itm/191875149656?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Is it possible to mount such filter directly in front of the halogen lamp on my Scanmate 11000?
Is these one also so effektive as the mentioned one?
How do i profile / calibrate the scanner for negative in 16bit Tiff RGB.

I would try out the way like mentioned. Scanning in 16bit Tiff RGB with a correct profile then convert it in ColorNeg.

Questions over Questions ; )

Thanks

Franz
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #572
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
I saw on this blog, the really cool mod from netsoft2k with the ir cut of filter.
I found this one on eBay

http://www.ebay.de/itm/191875149656?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Is it possible to mount such filter directly in front of the halogen lamp on my Scanmate 11000?
Is these one also so effektive as the mentioned one?
How do i profile / calibrate the scanner for negative in 16bit Tiff RGB.

I would try out the way like mentioned. Scanning in 16bit Tiff RGB with a correct profile then convert it in ColorNeg.

Questions over Questions ; )

Thanks

Franz
I think the IR/UV filter degrades because of the heat, so placing it directly in front of the lamp would probably destroy it pretty fast. The lamp gets really hot.

You need an IT8 target for calibration, if you get one.. make sure you are getting the reference file with it. Without it, it's useless.

CQ has calibration process for IT8 targets. So you can use CQ to create the profile.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #573
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 260
PMT gain adjust do the trick too.
__________________
Jack

www.horns.pl
www.horns-diy.pl
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #574
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Hi, I polished the scratched drum. It looks amazing but the software (color trio) says after focus calibration: "could not adjust focus on the selected area, try another place on the image"
I suspect, the focus distance changed after polish.
Can I switch the focus manually?
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #575
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 260
Haze is gone? Use marker to catch focus on the drum (remove with ethyl alcohol).
__________________
Jack

www.horns.pl
www.horns-diy.pl
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #576
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfist View Post
I think the IR/UV filter degrades because of the heat, so placing it directly in front of the lamp would probably destroy it pretty fast. The lamp gets really hot.

You need an IT8 target for calibration, if you get one.. make sure you are getting the reference file with it. Without it, it's useless.

CQ has calibration process for IT8 targets. So you can use CQ to create the profile.
Thank you for the hint with the lamp!

Does it work with a negative it8 target too?
I only know it8 targets for slide film
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #577
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzagaja View Post
PMT gain adjust do the trick too.
Hi jzagaja

how do i perform a gain adjust

Thank you
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #578
docf
Registered User
 
docf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
Hi, I polished the scratched drum. It looks amazing but the software (color trio) says after focus calibration: "could not adjust focus on the selected area, try another place on the image"
I suspect, the focus distance changed after polish.
Can I switch the focus manually?
Wow
How do you polish such a hazed drum? I have a scratched spare one to polish.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #579
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 260
If you see color cast in shadows it means one of the tube is weak (soft cant balance it) - use potentiometer one or two turns on color that dominates and you can see difference.
__________________
Jack

www.horns.pl
www.horns-diy.pl
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #580
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Yes, haze gone!
The CT focus calibration catch the mark from the drum, but the b&w positives are still out of focus.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #581
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
Wow
How do you polish such a hazed drum? I have a scratched spare one to polish.

Thanks

I found an old master. He worked 2 days on.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #582
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
Yes, haze gone!
The CT focus calibration catch the mark from the drum, but the b&w positives are still out of focus.
Slide positives.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #583
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 135
You will need to focus on the negative. Select a small area with high contrast like a line or film markings on the edes.
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #584
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
You will need to focus on the negative. Select a small area with high contrast like a line or film markings on the edes.
Doesn't work.
It seems the lens distance has changed.
Possible?
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Week Ago   #585
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 135
Yes it's possible because the focus motor only moves the lens a small distance.

Did it work before polishing? I ask because failed focus can be a result of many other things.
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #586
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Yes it's possible because the focus motor only moves the lens a small distance.

Did it work before polishing? I ask because failed focus can be a result of many other things.
Yes, I tested with the scratched drum. The focus was perfect.
Then I delivered with my car a bumpy ride to home.
After I didn't tested, the drum goest to polishing.
After polishing out of focus.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #587
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 260
Try emulsion out.
__________________
Jack

www.horns.pl
www.horns-diy.pl
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #588
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzagaja View Post
Try emulsion out.
I tried, the problem is same. With reflection too.
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #589
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Hi, I find the problem.
The scratches was too deep and we polished too much. 1mm.
The film far from the lens and the scanner can't focusing.
The conclusion: I need a new drum!
Please let me know if anyone knows a drum for sale.
Thank you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #590
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 260
where are you located?
__________________
Jack

www.horns.pl
www.horns-diy.pl
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #591
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzagaja View Post
where are you located?
Hungary, Budapest
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Days Ago   #592
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by docf View Post
Thank you for the hint with the lamp!

Does it work with a negative it8 target too?
I only know it8 targets for slide film
There are no it8 targets for negative film. The idea is that if you use any transmissive it8 to make yourself a profile, you can use it on your negative scans. The negative will have more accurate colors this way. You know, red is red even on a negative until you make it into a positive.

Basically same idea if you would make a profile for the reflected scanning, anything you scan on it will then have correct colors. Just that positive it8 targets took this a step further when every film had separate IT8 targets for perfect output.

Overall it's always good to have a profile for the hardware, otherwise it's hard to convert the file into any other profile like for editing, paper profile for printing or for web.
  Reply With Quote

Old 1 Day Ago   #593
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Dear Members,
I am still searching a drum for scanmate 5000.
Please help.
Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:38.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.