Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Sony Alpha 7 / NEX Mirrorless > Sony NEX APS-C format

Sony NEX APS-C format For the many Sony fixed lens digital compact cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Sony RX100 min. size image
Old 12-14-2013   #1
JMQ
Registered User
 
JMQ is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 793
Sony RX100 min. size image

Hi, does anyone know if the Sony RX100 can take images smaller than 5M (and standard quality)? I ask because certain websites require a smaller image to post, e.g. RFF, and going through LR to reduce the image size is a PITA. Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #2
furbs
Registered User
 
furbs's Avatar
 
furbs is offline
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 523
A random full-size (5472x3080), OOC JPG from the RX100 weighs in at 4.7 MB. Of course they may be smaller or larger, depending upon the type of image.
__________________
anthony flickr

found a chair beside a window
found a place where i belong
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #3
JRG
Registered User
 
JRG is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMQ View Post
Hi, does anyone know if the Sony RX100 can take images smaller than 5M (and standard quality)? I ask because certain websites require a smaller image to post, e.g. RFF, and going through LR to reduce the image size is a PITA. Thanks in advance.
Per the instruction manual, 295 Standard quality 3:2 JPEGs will fit on a 2GB card. (Depending on the subject, of course.)

Why use LR? IrfanView will resize a JPEG more or less instantly. [I'm sure there are other bits of freeware that would work as well.]
__________________
Cat herder by trade, now partly retired
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-2013   #4
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 61
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMQ View Post
Hi, does anyone know if the Sony RX100 can take images smaller than 5M (and standard quality)? I ask because certain websites require a smaller image to post, e.g. RFF, and going through LR to reduce the image size is a PITA. Thanks in advance.
Here's an extract on image sizes from the RX100 user manual (click to enlarge):-
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Extract.jpg (159.6 KB, 18 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-2013   #5
JMQ
Registered User
 
JMQ is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 793
Thank you for all you input and advice. It doesn't look like you can size it any smaller than ~4.2 M in the camera, and the only way is to resize on a 3rd party software. Thanks JRG, I will look at another software other than LR (irfanview will unfortunately not work for me as I am a Mac user).
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-15-2013   #6
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,185
If u are on a mac, just use iPhoto and under "file export" option pulldown, u can specify file size including a custom option which allows u to specify down to the pixel.

I use this all the time in aperture to create max files of 1024x1024. iPhoto will do essentially the same thing.

Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-2014   #7
lhotse
Registered User
 
lhotse is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 24
Another option on mac, if you were so inclined, would be to write an automator script which resized images through preview.

If you did it right you would simply have to drag a file or folder onto the script icon and it would produce new copies of all files at the selected size - the only disadvantage to this would be that you wouldn't have much control over sharpening etc.

Look here for more details: http://www.maclife.com/article/howto...ages_automator
__________________
Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-2014   #8
Dan Daniel
Registered User
 
Dan Daniel is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,261
IN the image menu, I set it to Image Size-S: 5.0M and Quality - Standard, and get a jpg under 2 mb.

Of course this is a permanent small file. Shooting at a higher quality and reducing in anotherp rogram makes better use of the camera, yes?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-2014   #9
Darthfeeble
Accidental Photographer
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,087
I use Aperture and it will allow you to email directly from the library. You get a choice of three sizes in the email message window. Somewhere in that mess has to be the perfect size.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:46.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.