Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Photo Software

Photo Software Discussions of all the photo software - except scanning software which is in the forum with scanners.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Recovering a corrupted PSD file
Old 11-15-2016   #1
Jake Mongey
Registered User
 
Jake Mongey's Avatar
 
Jake Mongey is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Age: 16
Posts: 356
Exclamation Recovering a corrupted PSD file

I have just had my personal project corrupt on me which i have been timing the total work on totaling 43 hours. Its a PSD file with multiple layers however its 1.3GB. Does anyone know any ways of recovering this.
The image is just grey noise with a black line across and all metadata has gone entirely.
__________________
Should probably spend less time talking more time shooting but unfortunately I dont have to leave my desk to talk
www.jmongeyphoto.co.uk

Last edited by Jake Mongey : 11-15-2016 at 12:27. Reason: Adding more info
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #2
BLKRCAT
100% Film
 
BLKRCAT's Avatar
 
BLKRCAT is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,405
you're probably pooched. Unless you make copies or have time machine on a mac then there isnt much I would know of other than photoshop's auto recovery feature.

Best case you get your file back from a time machine backup or an auto recovery with a few hours lost. Otherwise you have just learned a hard lesson in file management.
__________________
Tumblr Youtube
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #3
Avotius
Some guy
 
Avotius's Avatar
 
Avotius is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,517
I have had a large PSD go corrupt once before and I was not able to recover it, I think its a file size issue, there is a PSB format for larger PSD files.
__________________
Flickr.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #4
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 61
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake Mongey View Post
I have just had my personal project corrupt on me which i have been timing the total work on totaling 43 hours. Its a PSD file with multiple layers however its 1.3GB. Does anyone know any ways of recovering this.
The image is just grey noise with a black line across and all metadata has gone entirely.
I have seen a couple of dedicated PSD file recovery programs available on the 'net. Note that this is NOT a recommendation, since I haven't used any of them. However, they might be worth a careful look (with all the usual caveats about downloading).

Good luck.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #5
rogue_designer
Reciprocity Failure
 
rogue_designer's Avatar
 
rogue_designer is offline
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 41
Posts: 2,454
Which version of Photoshop are you using? 5 and 6 had issues with smart objects and filters - that were corrected in some newer versions. I've also seen this happen with a bad ram segment.

Recovery of the file itself is usually not possible (though rarely can be done). Usually you have to back to an earlier version. I try to make workfile versions periodically for just this reason, though I've been lucky and not had a corruption with the new CC versions. (knock on wood).

If you'd like to throw the file on dropbox, I'd be happy to look at it.
__________________
Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.
Usually using: M4, Rolleiflex 3.5C, Fuji X Pro 1, Canon 5D MkII, Horseman VHR, Horseman 45LX

---
My Flickr | StreetLevel Photography
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #6
Bille
Registered User
 
Bille's Avatar
 
Bille is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 39
Posts: 659
Did PS crash while saving?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2016   #7
Nikos72
Registered User
 
Nikos72's Avatar
 
Nikos72 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 44
Posts: 1,088
With a psd that large you need at least 6 GB of RAM for its working space to open. What are the specs of your computer? Apparently the PSD is not corrupted, but your computer might be not capable of handling it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #8
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,398
Ouch, that's painful. It reminds me of my days when I was learning computers and would work all morning at my job and then turn it off for lunch. Of course everything disappeared because I didn't save it. But 43 hours would be the equivalent of a whole week at most people's jobs! Or, maybe that would only come to maybe 4 hours work time, and the other 39 hours spent looking at "art" websites, emailing people, and sipping coffee while looking out the window. You know, work. Maybe that's why I find retirement exactly like work?

I guess the messages for you if you can't recover it are to always use a tiff file, save as you go along so that you have multiple versions going, or just pitch the whole thing and get a film camera. My recommendation is for the latter, but there is no guarantee you won't shot a whole day before realizing there is no film in the camera either, or that a light leak won't ruin all the best shots . It's important to remember that all things are impermanent too, and some things are more quickly impermanent than others.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #9
Bill Clark
Registered User
 
Bill Clark's Avatar
 
Bill Clark is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota
Age: 69
Posts: 1,883
Sorry to read about the issue you're having Jake.

Thought I'd ask, what were you doing that took so long?

What program, computer and os were you using?

Can you open the file and use the back arrow key and see what happens. Maybe some of your stuff might still be in memory.

During your process did you save it as a psd? I'm guessing you did if you spent 43 hours on your project. After I saved my psd, I would flatten the work and save as a jpeg. I did that mainly so as I could email to the client for approval as well as the lab I used to make prints.

I use CS-4 on an iMac that I bought in 2006.

Hope it works out for you.
__________________
I use my real name. How about you?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #10
Jake Mongey
Registered User
 
Jake Mongey's Avatar
 
Jake Mongey is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Age: 16
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M. View Post
Ouch, that's painful. It reminds me of my days when I was learning computers and would work all morning at my job and then turn it off for lunch. Of course everything disappeared because I didn't save it. But 43 hours would be the equivalent of a whole week at most people's jobs! Or, maybe that would only come to maybe 4 hours work time, and the other 39 hours spent looking at "art" websites, emailing people, and sipping coffee while looking out the window. You know, work. Maybe that's why I find retirement exactly like work?

I guess the messages for you if you can't recover it are to always use a tiff file, save as you go along so that you have multiple versions going, or just pitch the whole thing and get a film camera. My recommendation is for the latter, but there is no guarantee you won't shot a whole day before realizing there is no film in the camera either, or that a light leak won't ruin all the best shots . It's important to remember that all things are impermanent too, and some things are more quickly impermanent than others.
Funny thing is it was a scan from a negative and i was trying to make the best possible digital file from it
__________________
Should probably spend less time talking more time shooting but unfortunately I dont have to leave my desk to talk
www.jmongeyphoto.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #11
Jake Mongey
Registered User
 
Jake Mongey's Avatar
 
Jake Mongey is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Age: 16
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Clark View Post
Sorry to read about the issue you're having Jake.

Thought I'd ask, what were you doing that took so long?

What program, computer and os were you using?

Can you open the file and use the back arrow key and see what happens. Maybe some of your stuff might still be in memory.

During your process did you save it as a psd? I'm guessing you did if you spent 43 hours on your project. After I saved my psd, I would flatten the work and save as a jpeg. I did that mainly so as I could email to the client for approval as well as the lab I used to make prints.

I use CS-4 on an iMac that I bought in 2006.

Hope it works out for you.
Im using photoshop CC on my custom built PC on windows 10.

When i press the back arrow key nothing happens, I can open the original file by pressing CTR + ALT when opening it in photoshop but there is no layer data and all the edits were onto layers.

Yeah i worked onto a PSD File
__________________
Should probably spend less time talking more time shooting but unfortunately I dont have to leave my desk to talk
www.jmongeyphoto.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #12
Jockos
Registered User
 
Jockos's Avatar
 
Jockos is offline
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 893
If I can give one piece of advice: get some kind of backup solution.

If you're using later Windows versions, there's a pretty good one built in:
http://www.howtogeek.com/74623/how-t...-in-windows-8/

Windows 7 has something similar, previous versions:
http://www.howtogeek.com/56891/use-w...ve-your-files/
__________________
Don't trust anything I say or write before I get my morning coffee, at least I don't.

Da gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #13
Bille
Registered User
 
Bille's Avatar
 
Bille is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 39
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake Mongey View Post
Funny thing is it was a scan from a negative and i was trying to make the best possible digital file from it
48 hours on one negative is excessive.

If it helps, you may upload the file anyhwere (Wetransfer ?) and I could try opening it on a Mac with lots of RAM.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2016   #14
Jake Mongey
Registered User
 
Jake Mongey's Avatar
 
Jake Mongey is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Age: 16
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bille View Post
48 hours on one negative is excessive.

If it helps, you may upload the file anyhwere (Wetransfer ?) and I could try opening it on a Mac with lots of RAM.
Its a personal project where the goal is to excessively edit it to be perfect.

Thanks for the offer but I know RAM isnt a problem as my PC has 16GB of DDR4 Ram
__________________
Should probably spend less time talking more time shooting but unfortunately I dont have to leave my desk to talk
www.jmongeyphoto.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-2016   #15
Demi1538524
Registered User
 
Demi1538524 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Hi,Jake
In the past, I have encountered a similar problem and DataNumen PSD Repair at

https://www.datanumen.com/psd-repair/


helps to recover my file. So I recommend you to try it.

Good luck!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-2017   #16
RobinWinter
Registered User
 
RobinWinter is offline
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 13
Its a long shot, but try "GIMP" its a free photoshop alternative and it can open PSD files. I had one that had an error that prevented photoshop from opening the file, but GIMP was able to open it and I was able to delete the layer that was causing the issue and re-save it and it was fixed. Not sure what level of corrupt your file is but it might be worth a shot.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:08.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.