Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X-Pro Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

rented XPro2 7 day rental conclusion.....
Old 12-09-2016   #1
danielsterno
making soup from mud
 
danielsterno's Avatar
 
danielsterno is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 730
rented XPro2 7 day rental conclusion.....

Hi:

Rented Xpro2 & 23mm F2 & X Mount( for Leica glass). I would deeply appreciate set up hints AND how do I turn off the bloody pointer (I am forever hitting it-do not like the pointer and I don't need it for street, Ill just keep in center),
knee jerk, not in love with ISO on Shutter dial for quick adjustment-specially in very low light setting)- experience is coming from my only digitalrig x100 that I keep in manual....
just trying to keep it simple for manual or (A or S mode) and ISO when needed... last- insight on how to be productive in OVF- as always much thanks in advance..... D
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #2
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 295
Press and hold the pointer down. A menu option will come up where you can set it to ON, Push to Unlock or Off. Try Push to Unlock.

"not in love with ISO on Shutter dial for quick adjustment-specially in very low light setting)"

You aren't using a film camera. The ISO is also displayed in the OVF and the LCD/EVF. Just lift and twist and watch the ISO on any of the screens.

If you don't want to use the dial at all...

Set Dial to A. Press and Hold right rear button. When the menu pops up set it to ISO Auto Setting. Press Right and the Auto ISO menu will pop up. Press right again and you will be in the first setting. Set Default to 200, Max at whatever and set Min Shutter speed to 1/4 of a second. When you want to change ISO just press right button three times and then select the Minimum ISO. Except in very very low light (below 1/4 of a second) the minimum will be your shooting ISO.

Or just use Auto ISO as intended. Once you get used to it you will learn to trust.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #3
Fotobot
Registered User
 
Fotobot is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 31
Is there no way to transfer the ISO setting entirely to one of the front or rear dials? Or perhaps to the Q menu? Or to a function button?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #4
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 295
No, it is already on a locking marked dial. It can't be changed to another one, that would be very confusing if the ISO dial didn't adjust ISO anymore.

You can work around this in the method I mentioned about. This is *very* quick in operation without accidentally changing ISO, which could happen if it were remapped to the front or rear command dials. Those are easily turned.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #5
danielsterno
making soup from mud
 
danielsterno's Avatar
 
danielsterno is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 730
RE ISO: If I keep the ISO on A(auto) (within shutter dial) I can set up the Fn for the 3 options ISO Auto setting versus having to go into menu...... its Day 1, learning my way around the camera. I have it for 7 days...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #6
Tin
Registered User
 
Tin is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 286
There are three options for the Auto ISO---Auto 1, Auto 2, and Auto 3. Obviously one can set those up differently for different shooting situations. For any one of these to work, you have to set the ISO dial to "A". But you can also override your Auto settings anytime by using the Auto ISO Dial. Just take it off "A" and turn to whichever ISO setting you want to use at that moment. You'll never have to go back into the Menu. I find that very convenient and let you have the best of both worlds.

Tin
__________________
Tinís Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-2016   #7
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 295
Yes, and you can set six of the buttons to custom functions to avoid going into the menus. Or only needing the menus and the Q menu.

I keep mine
FN => Film Simulation
Up => Drive
Right => Auto ISO settings
Down => AF Mode
Left => Face/Eye Detect

Have fun!

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

XPro2 7 day rental conclusion.....
Old 4 Weeks Ago   #8
danielsterno
making soup from mud
 
danielsterno's Avatar
 
danielsterno is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 730
XPro2 7 day rental conclusion.....

ALL:
Thanks again- approaching day 7, packing up the XP2 tonight. My conclusion is: I like it. I'll miss it BUT getting a XT2 tomorrow for a comparison for 5 days until the X100f specs come out on 1/20/17 tp make a final decision nitpicks: Yes; still; do not understand the decision of the ISO within the Shutter Speed dial but its doable, with ISO options on a Fn button. In all fairness to my X100 1st gen. I did a few different quick side by side comparison images, while the XP2's sensor is 2 x's the x100 sensor size (12 vs 24 as you know) x100 did not do bad on IQ, matter of fact, the orig sensor gives a different feel that I almost prefer to the new Fuji X-Trans Sensor, its not a huge difference but its there... Of course, the XP2 takes 1/2 of the time it takes to get out of sleep mode vs x100. and I do like the stealth-ness of the x100 with the fixed lens vs. I used the new 23mm f2 on the XP2. I will use the 23mm f2 that on the XT2 and the 27mm pancake which will give me the compact feel I'm looking for. and I like the focal length... Last, enjoyed having my leica glass on a digital camera for the first time on the XP2, the Rigid 50mm summicron looked great.... Thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #9
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 295
"Last, enjoyed having my leica glass on a digital camera for the first time on the XP2, the Rigid 50mm summicron looked great...."

Did you try this using the ERF mode to have a real optical viewfinder while still being able to manually focus the lens?

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #10
danielsterno
making soup from mud
 
danielsterno's Avatar
 
danielsterno is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
"Last, enjoyed having my leica glass on a digital camera for the first time on the XP2, the Rigid 50mm summicron looked great...."

Did you try this using the ERF mode to have a real optical viewfinder while still being able to manually focus the lens?

Shawn
S-Thanks for checking in! Yes. its certainly another area that that the manual gives little insight but after playing I got it- had the highlight in red, the full view was very cool..... I know there are areas that I hardly scratched the surface but I understand how far the Hybrid since my x100-which was minimal.... Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:58.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.