Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc

Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc This is the place to discuss the hardware to keep your digital pics more than just memories.

What's up with Windows 10?
Old 01-25-2016   #1
dave lackey

What's up with Windows 10?

Photography generally sucks. I am a photographer not a computer geek but it seems that computers haunt me everywhere I go!!! I hate computers!!! I spent most of my life designing and building major projects so I have been through dozens of systems only to be constantly harassed... Did I say I hate computers?

Now, I get this little reminder that I can upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 10 free for a limited time... Really? Izzat so?

Supposedly my LR 3.3 and Silverfast and CS2 or Elements will work on Windows 10? Really?

Can someone enlighten me on the wisdom of clicking to upgrade to Windiws 10? Or should I just stick with Windiws 7 now?

Thanks in advance... You guys are the best.

Dave

Old 01-25-2016   #2
mcfingon
Western Australia

My advice Dave is don't upgrade to Windows 10 unless you have some software or hardware that will only work on Windows 10. If everything is working for you on Windows 7, stay with it. There is a free upgrade program, but there are always gotchas with upgrades in my experience - twelve years as an IT support person from Win95 to Win7.

Old 01-25-2016   #3
Erik van Straten

I did an upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1. NEVER do it. The startmenu disapeared. Now I have a computer without e-mail, apps, agenda etc. Simply gone. I can't download Windows 10 again as I am afraid of loosing elementary customized files of Office 2013 that I need for my work.

Erik.

Old 01-25-2016   #4
jonmanjiro