Why does M9 show "L102xxxx" when I hit Play button
Old 11-29-2015   #1
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Why does M9 show "L102xxxx" when I hit Play button

I was trying to look at the 47 images that I'd taken with my M9 and that were on the card. But when I hit the "Play" button, instead of seeing images, I saw a number like L1021116 right in the middle of the screen on the back.

The number changes sequentially when I press the right arrow or left arrow on the back.

Does anyone know what's wrong, why it's doing this and how I can fix it?

I haven't yet tried to put in a new card to see what happens.

Thanks.

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #2
sreed2006
Registered User
 
sreed2006's Avatar
 
sreed2006 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 835
Did you take the lens cap off?
__________________
Sid

My favorite question is "What does this button do?"
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #3
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,170
Have you tried uploading the images to your computer? If you have, and they came out OK, reformat the card in the camera; perhaps something got corrupted.
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #4
Bill Clark
Registered User
 
Bill Clark's Avatar
 
Bill Clark is online now
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota
Age: 68
Posts: 1,834
Perhaps you already are doing this, but before I start taking photos with the card in camera, I will take a peek and from memory in my cranium, double check just to be sure I have put the files on a hard drive, then I format the card before using it. I don't take photos, keep the card in camera, then a while later take some more. At the end of the photo adventure/session I download the photos with a card reader, then put the card back into the camera. And when I start another session, take a peek at what's on the card, OK?, then format. I only use RAW capture, keep it simple, no mistakes or oops!

Hope this helps you.
__________________
I use my real name. How about you?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #5
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by sreed2006 View Post
Did you take the lens cap off?

Is your question a serious one?

When I'm trying to Play back the images so I can see them on the screen, what difference does it make if the lens cap is on or off??

BTW, even though the answer is not relevant to the question, I did have the lens cap off.
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #6
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabelsound View Post
Have you tried uploading the images to your computer? If you have, and they came out OK, reformat the card in the camera; perhaps something got corrupted.
I just tried uploading the images to Lightroom in my computer. Actually, I found out that I'd already uploaded them and had forgotten to format the card after I'd done this. So, knowing they were already uploaded, I reformatted the card. I then took a test image and it played back normally, exactly as it should. Problem solved!

Thanks for your input.

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #7
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,170
Whew! Glad to hear it!
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #8
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Clark View Post
Perhaps you already are doing this, but before I start taking photos with the card in camera, I will take a peek and from memory in my cranium, double check just to be sure I have put the files on a hard drive, then I format the card before using it.
I am already doing exactly what you do, i.e. take a peek at the images on the card in the camera, double check to make sure I've already uploaded them, then format the card before a new photo session. I was trying to take a peek at the 47 images and was stymied that I couldn't see a single image, only the numbers as described in my earlier post. But once I formatted the card, everything is now OK and I can see images once again when I hit the Play button.

Thanks for your help!

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #9
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabelsound View Post
Whew! Glad to hear it!
Me too!!

:-)
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #10
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,170
By the way, ornate_wrasse, I dig your lens collection.
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-29-2015   #11
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabelsound View Post
By the way, ornate_wrasse, I dig your lens collection.
Thank you!

The only changes I'm thinking of making at this time are to possibly sell the CV 28mm 1.9 Ultron (as I now have the 28mm Elmarit) and to perhaps buy a 21mm lens that works on my M9. I'll keep the 21mm Super Angulon for use on my M3.

All the best,

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #12
icebear
Registered User
 
icebear's Avatar
 
icebear is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: just west of the big apple
Posts: 2,683
Hi Ellen,

here a recent post in ref. to the same issue on M240 (not M9) but it could be related :
http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...3&postcount=27

Using good houskeeping for SD cards will help staying out of trouble
__________________
Klaus
You have to be there !
M9, MM & a bunch of glass, Q

my gallery:http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...d=6650&showall
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #13
Vince Lupo
Registered User
 
Vince Lupo's Avatar
 
Vince Lupo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA; Toronto, Ont, Canada
Posts: 3,978
Are you double-clicking on the images directly from the card, or are you downloading them from the computer and then working on them? If you're clicking on an image that's in your card (that is, if you've inserted the SD card into a card reader/card slot in your computer), and then working on it in Lightroom, PhotoShop etc, then that's what will happen. You should download the photo from your card onto your hard drive, THEN work on the photo.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #14
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by icebear View Post
here a recent post in ref. to the same issue on M240 (not M9) but it could be related :
http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...3&postcount=27
"Other thing you should not do is to work on a photo directly from the card -- download the photo from the card onto the computer, then work on it. If you double-click on an image on the card and work on it in say, PhotoShop, when you put the card back into the camera and then try to 'playback' the images, what you will get when you come to that particular image is not the image, but a black screen with the filename "

That is indeed very interesting because that is exactly what it looked like on my screen.

Thanks for pointing this out, it certainly is helpful information.

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #15
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince Lupo View Post
Are you double-clicking on the images directly from the card, or are you downloading them from the computer and then working on them? If you're clicking on an image that's in your card (that is, if you've inserted the SD card into a card reader/card slot in your computer), and then working on it in Lightroom, PhotoShop etc, then that's what will happen. You should download the photo from your card onto your hard drive, THEN work on the photo.
I don't think I double-clicked on the images directly from the card and then worked on them in Lightroom, but maybe I did. This is likely the explanation for why I saw the file number appear on the screen of my M9 instead of the image.

Thanks for your post!

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #16
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by ornate_wrasse View Post
Is your question a serious one?

When I'm trying to Play back the images so I can see them on the screen, what difference does it make if the lens cap is on or off??

BTW, even though the answer is not relevant to the question, I did have the lens cap off.
So it wasn't the lens cap.



Glad u got it sorted.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-30-2015   #17
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
So it wasn't the lens cap.
Indeed it wasn't :-)
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-01-2015   #18
sreed2006
Registered User
 
sreed2006's Avatar
 
sreed2006 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by ornate_wrasse View Post
Is your question a serious one?

When I'm trying to Play back the images so I can see them on the screen, what difference does it make if the lens cap is on or off??

BTW, even though the answer is not relevant to the question, I did have the lens cap off.
My apologies; I was not being serious. It was a poor attempt at humor.

It is great that the cause of the problem was determined by more sincere and helpful RFFers here.
__________________
Sid

My favorite question is "What does this button do?"
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:59.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.