Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc

Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc This is the place to discuss the hardware to keep your digital pics more than just memories.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Aperture with OS X 8 and beyond: Compatibility?
Old 11-13-2015   #1
Rob-F
It's Only a Hobby
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Posts: 4,850
Aperture with OS X 8 and beyond: Compatibility?

By now we all know that Aperture is being phased out (maybe has been by now). I'm still running Snow Leopard (10.8). There are reports all over the web about dismal results when using Aperture with Lion and perhaps even worse with Mountain Lion.

Questions:

1. What is the latest version of OS X that will still run Aperture 3? I understand that at some point they sabotaged the OS so it won't run Aperture.

2. If Aperture 3 will run on El Capitan, is it any better than with Mountain Lion? Is it the one to get?

3. Same question, with Yosemite. Does it work with Aperture? If so, is it good with Aperture?

There are so many reports of later version than Snow Leopard either running slow, crashing, hanging, or not working at all with Aperture. I want to be really careful. I think my Macbook and iMac are from 2009.

Thanks!
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #2
Timmyjoe
Registered User
 
Timmyjoe's Avatar
 
Timmyjoe is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,983
I'm using Aperture with OS 10.10 (Yosemite) and having no problems with Aperture. Be aware that Yosemite and El Capitan will try to get you to migrate your Aperture files over to the new Photo App. I haven't done that and have no intention of doing that.
__________________
http://www.timcarrollphotography.com

New Photo Books
Sturgis Stories & Scenes From Sturgis
now available
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #3
photomoof
Fischli & Weiss Sculpture
 
photomoof's Avatar
 
photomoof is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 786
The Photo app is really oriented toward use of the iCloud/iPhone, it syncs all photos across all Apple devices, and allows one to keep tiny thumbnails on the iPhone, therefore allows many more photos to be taken on one's phone.

If you are like me and have moved completely to iPhone for vacation and casual photography, then Photo is great. I still have PS but am moving away from it also.

I have never used Aperture, but I very seriously doubt Photo would satisfy anyone used to it.

Photo does however allow use of extensions (like PS plugins) which make it much more useful. I use Pixelmator and Snapheal as extensions.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #4
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is online now
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,166
No issues with Aperture and El Capitan here
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #5
k__43
Registered Film User
 
k__43's Avatar
 
k__43 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 938
dito - 10.11 & Aperture 3 works fine here
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #6
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,185
After u finish upgrading to Yosemite or El-captitan, your version of Aperture could be non-capatible. Just download the latest level, your good to go.

Can't remember anymore if iPhoto had a preference for disable automatic import, but the new photo sure doesn't. Every time I stick a new SD card from different camera, in my iMac, the import menu for photo comes up until I disable it for that camera. A bit of a pain if u have enough different cameras.

If u are a foveon shooter, SPP seems to hang.

A bit more work, but safer if u need the computer a not sure what will work anymore...I would setup a bootable clone drive myself using Carbon Copy Cloner. U could also use Super Duper. Boot off the clone drive and install the new OS X there instead. Good way to check new OS and still be able to use the old one. When u are happy w/ new OS, clone from the bootable u created to the Mac HD.

U can also Google for Yosemite or El-Capitan related issues to c if u have driver or app problems, but Aperture will work..

Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-13-2015   #7
photomoof
Fischli & Weiss Sculpture
 
photomoof's Avatar
 
photomoof is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryLH View Post

Can't remember anymore if iPhoto had a preference for disable automatic import, but the new photo sure doesn't. Every time I stick a new SD card from different camera, in my iMac, the import menu for photo comes up until I disable it for that camera. A bit of a pain if u have enough different cameras.
It offers but it NOT automatic.

Once killed it is killed forever for that device, but it does require two mouse clicks. It would be a PITA if you have hundreds of cards, I only have a dozen, so they are all disabled.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2016   #8
Rob-F
It's Only a Hobby
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Posts: 4,850
Here's a follow-up note:

Both my iMac and my 13" macbook are 2009, supplied with Snow leopard. To be cautious, I tried downloading El Capitan to my Macbook only. Aperture no longer worked ---> Long discussion with Apple ---> No fix for it. I could use Photo, but my version of Aperture is too old. If I had downloaded Aperture 3.6 in time, it would work with El Capitan. But you can't get 3.6 anymore--they took it away ---> their advice: restore Snow Leopard off the Time Machine backup. So I'm restoring from the Time Machine at this moment. Hope it works.

The reason for updating the OS was that a website I use would no longer interact with my computer. Apple told me I could probably get away with using Chrome with Snow Leopard. I'll try that.

Be aware of the finer points before bothering to switch to El Capitan. He said he thought the last version that would still run Aperture is Maverick. He also said he still uses Aperture and hates Photo!
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2016   #9
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,844
I have tested Aperture running on:
2012 Mac mini, 2011 MacBook Air 13", 2013 MacBook Pro 13", 2015 MacBook Pro 15"
... All with El Capitan. No problems

I did a quick test of Aperture running on the macOS Sierra v10.12 preview that was released at Apple's conference last week. Again, no problems.

I suspect the age of your system is the problem, as 2009 hardware cannot support many of the frameworks that are in later versions of macOS.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2016   #10
Rob-F
It's Only a Hobby
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Posts: 4,850
It's the age of my version of Aperture that Apple said is the problem. Had I downloaded Aperture 3,6 in time before they axed it, i would have been OK.
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2016   #11
Darthfeeble
Accidental Photographer
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,087
Oops! Moral of the story is to get updates as soon as you can see that they are good ones. I was a huge Aperture fan but have migrated to Lightroom and really don't feel like going back.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2016   #12
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob-F View Post
It's the age of my version of Aperture that Apple said is the problem. Had I downloaded Aperture 3,6 in time before they axed it, i would have been OK.
So it's just a matter of getting the last revision of Aperture? Hmm. I would think an Apple support representative would be able to get that for you. Wouldn't hurt to ask...

G
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:46.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.