A7 toggle between screen and EVF?
Old 10-28-2015   #1
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,171
A7 toggle between screen and EVF?

I fear the answer to this question is no, but here goes: is there any way to assign one of the function keys on the A7 to toggle between LCD and EVF? One of the annoying quirks of this camera is that, if you have it set to EVF only, and then hit the play button to look at your photos, the photos appear in the EVF, not on the screen. Which is...crazy? So I can't just leave it set to EVF at all times; I have to be able to toggle the two.

BUT it appears impossible to assign one of the buttons to this function, which is even crazier. There's the option to assign one to "turn off" the LCD, but it doesn't actually turn it off; it merely blacks it out.
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #3
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,171
Wow, that's...it's hard to believe. Of all the options for assigning the buttons, they leave that one out??

I predict that my fingers are going to be memorizing some deep dives into the menus...

thanks, uhoh7!
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #4
ColSebastianMoran
Registered User
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,559
You can on the A7Rii, see this blog entry.

I tried it on my A7, but the menu items aren't there.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now:
Rollei Panoramakopf (Pano head)
Kiev 88 TTL Metered Prism (working!) and Mamiya C Flash Bracket
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #5
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,186
Sounds like a fw update that will never happen on the first gen a7 cameras unless there is a big public outcry like the compress raw...from my experience w/ the Sony cameras I've had in the past.

Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #6
mabelsound
Registered User
 
mabelsound's Avatar
 
mabelsound is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 46
Posts: 6,171
vexing indeed.
__________________
flickr insta twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #8
Emile de Leon
Registered User
 
Emile de Leon is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 506
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKRma7PDW10
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2015   #9
trisberg
Registered User
 
trisberg's Avatar
 
trisberg is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
I would agree that some of the choices/restrictions for configuring the A7 make little sense. Has anyone found a way to adjust the viewfinder brightness outside of the menus? Looks like I can assign monitor brightness to a custom button but not viewfinder brightness. This also seems truly odd.

-Thomas
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:29.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.