Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Help / Feedback forum

Help / Feedback forum This area should address site improvements and help with the forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 07-03-2015   #121
Larry Cloetta
Registered User
 
Larry Cloetta is offline
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jackson, WY
Age: 67
Posts: 405
How cool would the future be if there was some way you could just drag a jpg. to the place in your message and drop it there, and it would show up. We could call it "drag and drop."
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-03-2015   #122
daveleo
Č quello che č.
 
daveleo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: People's Republic of Mass.
Posts: 3,565
You could upload from your computer into the "gallery" here. Then go to your image in the gallery and right mouse click and copy either "image location" or "image link location".
Then go to the thread you want, and do what Raid says ....
[img] link text [/img]
__________________
Dave


"Insults are pouring down on me as thick as hail." .... E. Manet
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-03-2015   #123
ornate_wrasse
Registered User
 
ornate_wrasse's Avatar
 
ornate_wrasse is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 990
I've been using www.pbase.com to host my images. First I upload my images to that site, which is in my signature. After it's uploaded there, then I copy and paste the link using the box "Insert Image" here on RFF and Voila! the image magically appears here.

Pbase costs $25 per year for me to store my images there.

Ellen
__________________
Images

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

Leica M9, Leica M6, Leica M3 - 21mm 3.4 Super Angulon, 28mm 2.8 Elmarit, 35mm Summicron, Nikkor SC 50mm 1.4, Carl Zeiss Jena 50mm 1.5, CV 75mm 2.5, Nikkor 8.5cm 2.0

Mamiya 6 - 50mm f4, 75mm f3.5, 150mm f4.5

Fuji X-Pro1 - 16-55mm f/2.8, 27mm f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-13-2015   #124
megido
Registered User
 
megido is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 90
I am still having difficulty copying the link from flickr on my iphone.
Anyone out there who is able to do so?
Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2015   #125
Perks
Registered User
 
Perks is offline
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 40
For pasting tumblr: Keep opening the image on a new page until the the url starts with "http://41.media.tumblr.com..." and paste using the image icon
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2016   #126
rybolt
Registered User
 
rybolt's Avatar
 
rybolt is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Posts: 513
Has anyone else had trouble posting a picture from the Safari browser using the image location method? I can go to my website, open an image, click Copy Image Location and then try to paste it into the proper forum box. Nothing happens except I get a broken link symbol. If I do the same things with Firefox it works fine.
Thanks for any help.
Paul
__________________
Fuji X Pro 1,XT 1and XF1 cameras and lenses.
Sony RX1
Leica M6 with black Wetzlar 50mm
A pair of Barnack Anniversary cameras
Who knows how many others

http://www.ryboltcox.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2016   #127
marcr1230
Registered User
 
marcr1230's Avatar
 
marcr1230 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,292
I've done this a number of times but it shouldn't be this hard - flickr is not too concerned apparently

on iOS, go to flickr via Safari, not the app, select the image,
select the share arrow
select BBCode
touch the text box with the link until the iOS select tool appears
slide the left pin all the way left
slide the right pin DOWN (to select till end of line)
the copy button will appear, copy and paste into RFF

unless i'm a complete idiot, photos can't be embedded in this thread - here's a link to what you should see:

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/c...19CE8E2464.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by megido View Post
I am still having difficulty copying the link from flickr on my iphone.
Anyone out there who is able to do so?
Thanks
__________________
Too many cameras, too little time
Gallery: http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg....php?uid=25736
  Reply With Quote

Changing EXIF Info in the Gallery
Old 06-29-2016   #128
Alfasud
Old Toys
 
Alfasud's Avatar
 
Alfasud is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 315
Changing EXIF Info in the Gallery

Frequently, I have uploaded pictures without proper EXIF info. The system gives info about my scanner, not my camera. Is there a way to change EXIF info in my Gallery pictures?

Thanks for any advice .
__________________
Contax IIIa, Konica III, Vitessa L Ultron, Leica iiif (RD), Rollei 35, Minox B, ZI Nettar 510/2, Pentax Q, HP Photosmart 945.

If I age as well as my cameras, I'll do all right
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-29-2016   #129
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is online now
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 12,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfasud View Post
Frequently, I have uploaded pictures without proper EXIF info. The system gives info about my scanner, not my camera. Is there a way to change EXIF info in my Gallery pictures?

Thanks for any advice .
For this I use Marc Rochkind's ExifChanger program, found here: http://basepath.com/new/detail-ExifChanger.php

I don't see a way to add/change EXIF info in RFF, though I believe it can be done in Lightroom...
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-01-2016   #130
Alfasud
Old Toys
 
Alfasud's Avatar
 
Alfasud is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 315
Thanks Doug. I'll give ExifChanger a try.
__________________
Contax IIIa, Konica III, Vitessa L Ultron, Leica iiif (RD), Rollei 35, Minox B, ZI Nettar 510/2, Pentax Q, HP Photosmart 945.

If I age as well as my cameras, I'll do all right
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-14-2016   #131
megido
Registered User
 
megido is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 90
Still unable to post photos here via flickr. I cut and paste the image into the URL window and attempt to upload but get 'invalid file'.
Am I missing something?
  Reply With Quote

posting pics
Old 07-25-2016   #132
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 59
Posts: 19,441
posting pics

I'd love to share a pic of my new to me Contax RTS iii, but when I attempt to upload the image file from my computer, an error message appears telling me it's an invalid file type. I was able to post this photo file at APUG with no problem.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #133
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is online now
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 12,007
Hi Frank... What kind of file type is this upload? And are you trying to place it in a forum thread, or in the gallery?
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #134
lynnb
Registered User
 
lynnb's Avatar
 
lynnb is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6,549
Can you advise the full file name and its size in Kb? A .jpg file under 400Kb should have no problem.

To insert pictures in threads, I think you need to have the file on a photo hosting site such as Flickr. I can only upload pics from my computer to the Gallery. Photos uploaded to threads need to be uploaded from a hosting site as far as I know.

cheers,
__________________
Lynn
RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #135
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 974
This is rather old software. Latest version uses drag and drop.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #136
megido
Registered User
 
megido is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 90
I'm having the same problem. I copy the Flickr url and still get 'invalid file'
Am i missing something?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #137
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 59
Posts: 19,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
Hi Frank... What kind of file type is this upload? And are you trying to place it in a forum thread, or in the gallery?
Hi Doug,

It's a jpeg file on my macbook. It's been modified by SnapSeed photo editor. Trying to place it in a forum thread. It's size is only 119kb.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #138
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is online now
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 40,014
Apug??!!!!
__________________
heart soul & a camera

xe2...xe1...16...23...27...56...55-200

original canon F1...T90...24/2.8...100/2.8...200/2.8...300/5.6
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-2016   #139
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by megido View Post
I'm having the same problem. I copy the Flickr url and still get 'invalid file'
Am i missing something?

Make sure that in Flickr you have the relevant image open (e.g. you are not in photostream etc with image thumbnails - you want the actual image). Also make sure you are accessing Flickr in a browser not in a crappy app like the dumbed down trash one Flikr provides for my Samsung pad.

In the bottom right hand side of the Flickr image screen, now look for and click on the little bent arrow thing that signifies "download".

Then select the BBCode (bulletin board) option (you need a different HTML code depending on how you propose to use the image - To post it on RFF you need the code for a bulletin board).

Then select the image size you wish to download (it gives you an options in a drop down list). You will see the HTML code you need that you can then highlight and copy. As indicated, that HTML is specifically suited to posting on a bulletin board like this one. NOTE: YOU DO NOT WANT THE URL INFO FROM THE ADDRESS LINE IN THE BROWSER AT THE TOP OF THE PAGE- INSTEAD YOU NEED THE HTML CODE WHICH IS ACCESSED AS DESCRIBED ABOVE.

Having copied it, then paste it INTO THE TEXT BOX IN RRF. (i.e. Not into the image upload box you can also open in RRF. ).

Sounds hard. Its not. Do it once and it's a cinch next time.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-2016   #140
megido
Registered User
 
megido is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 90
Thanks! I'm going to give it a go later.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-2016   #141
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,915
Whats going on with RFF?

A while back I posted how to embed an image from Flickr in response to a question about that (see my couple of posts below).

I tried to do just this a few moments ago on another thread and it refuses to use the Flickr HTML. In fact after I click "save" on my post I notice that the Flickr provided HTML that I had copied and pasted into the text box changes into something else. Clearly this RFF site is doing something new to the links provided. The new HTML provides a clickable link to the image in Flickr but does not embed the actual image in my post. Likewise using the "attach image" option above the text box does not work.

Does anyone know what on earth is happening? If people can no longer post images from Flickr on threads in RFF its traffic will fall pretty disastrously given Flickrs role as the preeminent image hosting site.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-2016   #142
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 4,604
I posted some Flickr photos earlier today without any problems. Are you trying to post photos in a forum that doesn't allow photo posting?Most forums allow it but some don't. No idea why though.
__________________
flickr
Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-2016   #143
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonmanjiro View Post
I posted some Flickr photos earlier today without any problems. Are you trying to post photos in a forum that doesn't allow photo posting?Most forums allow it but some don't. No idea why though.
I did not realize that despite being a looooooooooooooooong time RFF user who always posts from Flickr. I suppose it would have to be the answer.

thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-07-2016   #144
sara
Registered User
 
sara's Avatar
 
sara is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MY+LDN
Age: 29
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterm1 View Post
Whats going on with RFF?

A while back I posted how to embed an image from Flickr in response to a question about that (see my couple of posts below).

I tried to do just this a few moments ago on another thread and it refuses to use the Flickr HTML. In fact after I click "save" on my post I notice that the Flickr provided HTML that I had copied and pasted into the text box changes into something else. Clearly this RFF site is doing something new to the links provided. The new HTML provides a clickable link to the image in Flickr but does not embed the actual image in my post. Likewise using the "attach image" option above the text box does not work.

Does anyone know what on earth is happening? If people can no longer post images from Flickr on threads in RFF its traffic will fall pretty disastrously given Flickrs role as the preeminent image hosting site.
I think the reason why you can't embed an image - because Flickr isn't providing a URL with a .jpg at the end? If that is the case, then you cannot embed...correct me if I'm wrong as I haven't used Flickr for ages.
__________________
Your f2.8, Leica kinda girl.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-07-2016   #145
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 4,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterm1 View Post
I did not realize that despite being a looooooooooooooooong time RFF user who always posts from Flickr. I suppose it would have to be the answer.

thanks
You can tell if you can post photos in a particular forum by whether or not there's an Insert Image icon among the post editing options directly above the box you type your post into.

btw its BBCODE for the vbulletin software on which the forum runs that you copy from flickr and paste into a post, not actually HTML.
__________________
flickr
Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-25-2016   #146
mnutzer
Registered User
 
mnutzer is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rybolt View Post
Has anyone else had trouble posting a picture from the Safari browser using the image location method? I can go to my website, open an image, click Copy Image Location and then try to paste it into the proper forum box. Nothing happens except I get a broken link symbol. If I do the same things with Firefox it works fine.
Thanks for any help.
Paul
Yes, since the last update of Safari to MAC OS Sierra the image location method seems to work no longer.
Why it's so complicated to show some pictures here?
Won't show anything until copy and paste will work safely.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 21:58.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.