Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M -- Leica CL / Minolta CLE

Leica M -- Leica CL / Minolta CLE This forum is about all things Leica CL and Minolta CLE, remarkable compact M cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

CLE: Auto+SelfTimer for long exposures
Old 02-13-2016   #1
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
CLE: Auto+SelfTimer for long exposures

Hi all,

The other night I tried a long exposure using the self-timer, since I didn't have a release cable at hand.
So, camera in AE mode, self-timer, fire.

Around 10 seconds were needed for correct exposure, so I was hoping the CLE to expose at least for it's longer possible shutter speed (around 5 secs) but the camera made exposures of around 1 second.

Is this normal?

What is your experience?
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2016   #2
YouAreHere
Registered User
 
YouAreHere's Avatar
 
YouAreHere is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 121
I just checked mine. Frankly I've never used the self-timer ( on any camera). Whereas in manual activation the shutter fired long, when I used the self-timer to trip the shutter, it fired short. This may be normal operation. Ordinarily I would tell you to use B instead but then the self-timer won't work at all (at least per the manual).
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2016   #3
YouAreHere
Registered User
 
YouAreHere's Avatar
 
YouAreHere is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 121
Well I found the way to 'trick' it - just set EV to +2. Then tripping the shutter via the self-timer gave the long fire.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2016   #4
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouAreHere View Post
I just checked mine. Frankly I've never used the self-timer ( on any camera). Whereas in manual activation the shutter fired long, when I used the self-timer to trip the shutter, it fired short. This may be normal operation. Ordinarily I would tell you to use B instead but then the self-timer won't work at all (at least per the manual).
I would have used B, but without a cable release I wished Auto to work whit the self-timer.
Looks like it doesn't...
Thanks a lot for your help
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2016   #5
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouAreHere View Post
Well I found the way to 'trick' it - just set EV to +2. Then tripping the shutter via the self-timer gave the long fire.
Did that also the other night (but just +1) and still fired short...
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2016   #6
YouAreHere
Registered User
 
YouAreHere's Avatar
 
YouAreHere is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 121
Try +2. Also:

1. Check your battery strength and type. I use exclusively silver oxide type, never alkaline.

2. ASA should be 1000 or less. My testing was done at ASA100.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-2016   #7
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 3,251
This chart may be handy
http://www.kenrockwell.com/leica/cle.htm#range

Neither one of my CLEs shoots longer than 5 seconds.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2016   #8
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
Batteries are fresh, but not sure about type.
CLE manual says Silver-Oxyde or alkaline are fine, but for "heavy sustained cold weather operation (approx. -10 C)" use silver-oxyde. It was not cold at all and battery check LED lit very bright.
I'm shooting Portra 160, it should fire up to aprox 5 secs in auto... but in low light and using seft-timer it didn't...

Huss:
Thank you.
Yes, I know that chart; what I found strange and I'm asking about, is that it didn't fired longer than 1 second
instead of maximum possible (around 5), when "correct" exposure was around 10 seconds.
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-18-2016   #9
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
I can't make my camera shoot longer than 2 seconds in AE, no matter the settings.
Even at ASA 25 and +2 compensation and not using the self-timer.
No silver-oxide batteries tested yet.

I read around this is normal: some shoot down to 5 seconds at 25 ASA but most shoot down to 2 seconds.
I'd like confirmation though.

In fact the manual specs a slowest speed of 1/2 second in AE...
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-18-2016   #10
Palaeoboy
Joel Matherson
 
Palaeoboy is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by fer_fdi View Post
I can't make my camera shoot longer than 2 seconds in AE, no matter the settings.
Even at ASA 25 and +2 compensation and not using the self-timer.
No silver-oxide batteries tested yet.

I read around this is normal: some shoot down to 5 seconds at 25 ASA but most shoot down to 2 seconds.
I'd like confirmation though.

In fact the manual specs a slowest speed of 1/2 second in AE...
This is correct most shoot only down to 2 seconds while a batch are able to be induced to shoot down to 5 seconds. There is no explanation why. It is neither a later or early modification either. Out of my 3 CLE's. 2 only go to 2 seconds and 1 goes to 5 seconds. But its serial number is in between both of the 2 second ones. So its pot luck what you get!
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-18-2016   #11
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
thanks a lot Palaeoboy, I was going to investigate serial numbers but I see I don't need to.

How great this community is, thank you all
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-2016   #12
fer_fdi
Registered User
 
fer_fdi's Avatar
 
fer_fdi is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Barcelona & Empordą, Spain
Posts: 373
time have passed and shot 23 rolls with my beloved CLE. Mainly Potra 160, Lomo 100 and TMax 100

I didn't found this (2'' vs 5'' max AE time) to be a problem at all; in situations of very low light were I still used AE, the camera choose a faster than 2 seconds speed, and for longer exposures I always use it on B with a release cable (and use my iPhone and/or my intuition to measure)
Also, for long exposures between 2 and 5 seconds, the AE on the CLE would not apply a reciprocity failure factor to the exposure, so...

I'm delighted at how well my CLE measures light. Of course it could be great to have AE Lock sometimes, but I'm extremely pleased anyhow and never miss anything (ok, maybe a small rubber grip area) And not missing anything is happiness :P

I used alkaline batteries all this time but recently switched to EPX76 silver-oxide because of their steady discharge plateau.
__________________
~
Fer
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:09.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.