Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Olympus RF

Olympus RF This forum is for the Olympus rangefinders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Olympus 35 DC broken light meter?
Old 08-11-2016   #1
Arbitrarium
Registered User
 
Arbitrarium's Avatar
 
Arbitrarium is offline
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 25
Olympus 35 DC broken light meter?

Hiya, I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. Greetings to the forum!

I recently acquired a 35 DC from Japan via the auction site and swiftly received a refund from the lovely seller because I discovered the light meter is dodgy.

The meter needle will only go down to 1/60 + f4. Even if you put the ASA to 25 and cover the meter in a dark room. Still only 160 + f4. If I jab the back light compensation button it jerks down to 1/30 f2.8 but it struggles.

I can't imagine it's a problem with the trap needle or the aperture blades because sans batteries the needle drops right down to f1.7 and the blades open right up.

I've tried fresh SR44s and LR44s with no difference.

So does anyone know what the problem might be? I assume it must be the meter itself that's knackered. I'm not afraid to dig around inside it if needed.

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2016   #2
nhchen
Registered User
 
nhchen is offline
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 186
I had one that did something similar. I have a feeling that it's caused by the mechanism underneath the accessory shoe that senses if anything is in the shoe or not. The camera light meter may be stuck in its flash mode. I took the top cover off and bent one of the little metal spring tabs a little and that seemed to solve it. I don't know if it will work in your case though!

Nathan
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2016   #3
Arbitrarium
Registered User
 
Arbitrarium's Avatar
 
Arbitrarium is offline
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 25
Hmmm I'll have a look under the top to see if that's the problem. Cheers for the hint!
__________________
Arbitrarium on Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-2016   #4
papaki
Registered User
 
papaki is offline
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 71
Look in the base of the camera for the lightmeter is in there, driving mechanically the needle at the top.
It is the same as the RC:
http://rick_oleson.tripod.com/index-134.html

Look if something is blocking the movement of the needle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:25.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.