Sigma E mount issues : A software problem?
Old 06-08-2016   #1
FPjohn
Registered User
 
FPjohn's Avatar
 
FPjohn is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,557
Sigma E mount issues : A software problem?

Hello All:

My copy of the Sigma 30mm f2.8 only occasionally appeared to be recognized by my Nex 3, F3 or 5n. An A6000 initially failed to recognize it as mounted until set to "Superior" auto. I have had no recognition problems since on the A6000. "Intelligent" auto failed to detect a mounted lense. Would Sony have failed to fully support the Sigma lenses until recently?

yours
FPJ
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2016   #2
Lss
Registered User
 
Lss is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,724
I have used the Sigma 30mm lens on both NEX-5N and the a6000 without such problems.

I need to check out what these two modes (Superior and Intelligent) do, as I don't think I have ever heard of them before. I guess my a6000 is set to whatever is the default value out of the box.


Edit. Ok, so the two modes are actually Auto exposure modes. You had me confused there. I'm pretty sure they don't have anything to do with lens recognition. What the "Superior" Auto seems to add over the "Intelligent" Auto mode is that the camera may automatically stack multiple exposures for JPEG-only output.
__________________
Lasse

Last edited by Lss : 06-08-2016 at 07:14. Reason: checking the auto modes
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2016   #3
FPjohn
Registered User
 
FPjohn's Avatar
 
FPjohn is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,557
Problem may be with my copy of the 30mm F2.8. However there are reports of this issue with other Sigma Emount lenses.

yours
FPJ
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2016   #4
Addy101
Registered User
 
Addy101 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,518
My Sigma 30/2.8 worked great on my Nex 5 and Nex F3 until I dropped it. My 19/2.8 stil works great.
Maybe clean the lens contacts?

These are relatively cheap lenses, there could be something wrong with your lens.
__________________
Das Bild ist ein Modell der Wirklichkeit - Wittgenstein
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2016   #5
FPjohn
Registered User
 
FPjohn's Avatar
 
FPjohn is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,557
My copy has never been reliable until I acquired the A6000. There is no mechanical difference between the auto settings. It is worth noting that while it is inexpensive as you say it is a fine lense optically.

yours
FPJ
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-08-2016   #6
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 6,171
Probably a poor connection, or a dead chip in the lens. That it appears to work in some exposure modes might be pure coincidence, or a side issue of some lens function required by one, but not the other mode being affected.
  Reply With Quote

Higher Tolerances
Old 06-08-2016   #7
FPjohn
Registered User
 
FPjohn's Avatar
 
FPjohn is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,557
Higher Tolerances

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevo View Post
Probably a poor connection, or a dead chip in the lens. That it appears to work in some exposure modes might be pure coincidence, or a side issue of some lens function required by one, but not the other mode being affected.
I suspect the A6000 may be built to higher tolerances and/or that "Superior" is aware of the Sigma when other modes on earlier cameras were not. yours FPJ
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:00.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.