Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

View Poll Results: How do you scan your 35mm B&W film?
I use a flatbed scanner - i.e. Epson V750 photo scanner 273 35.36%
I use a dedicated 35mm scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan V 322 41.71%
I use a dedicated multi-format film scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan 9000 77 9.97%
I use a professional scanner - i.e. drum scanner 25 3.24%
I send mine away to be scanned 48 6.22%
I don't care - I wet print! 27 3.50%
Voters: 772. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 01-12-2014   #41
Vincent.G
平和、愛、喜び
 
Vincent.G's Avatar
 
Vincent.G is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 39
Posts: 1,328
I use an Epson V700 with Epsonscan software and its original film holders. No bells and whistles i.e. no ANR glass; no better scanning holders etc. Works well for me considering its price, versatility and output.
__________________
My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #42
jonmanjiro
Moderator
 
jonmanjiro's Avatar
 
jonmanjiro is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 4,831
Coolscan 5000 with SA-30 so I can scan an entire roll in one go.



Summarit 50/1.5 and Neopan 400


Elmarit 28/2.8 Asph and Neopan 400
__________________
flickr
Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #43
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,398
I wet print, but an old $40 Epson 2450 is what I use. Just for proofing and web posting. I have trouble seeing what is really on a tiny 35mm neg w/ a loupe, and the scanner magnifies all the faults. I have actually used it for inkjet prints back in the day, but it's a lot better with at least 6x4.5. For 6x6, 6x9 and 4x5 it rocks.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #44
kiemchacsu
Registered User
 
kiemchacsu is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
Age: 36
Posts: 701
I am using a Nikon Coolscan IV ED.
First I scan whole roll to JPG 2000dpi using provided Nikon Scan software. Then If I find interesting shots, I may rescan them to TIFF 16bit max resolution 2700DPI then post process later. For TIFF, I follow a tip (read here in RFF) that scan to positive with NO manipulation and then convert it in Photoshop.
I'm happy with the output, you can check it out on my flickr stream
__________________
Cheers,
Trung Nguyen

RF
F
photo essays: Hanoi | Hoi An | Ha Giang | Fish Market
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #45
k__43
Registered Film User
 
k__43's Avatar
 
k__43 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 938
coming from a D40 with M42 Macro-Tubes, I used a Canon 8800f, later a Epson V500, a Plustek 8200 and now I got a Canon FS4000 but only scanned C41 negs so far (w/ great results) .. I'm on the edge of buying a Nikon CS8000. Bank account says no but GAS says yes


[Edit:] GAS won, the bank account is sad. Can't wait to get this thing
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #46
alexnotalex
Registered User
 
alexnotalex is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 447
Scan Dual III for me, scanning at medium resolution with Vuescan, mostly on default settings. 6 frames at a time, could be faster but it's a huge improvement on one at a time.

So much is done in Aperture/Lightroom after I tend to keep the settings simple. Every time I try to "improve" my scanning workflow it just gets worse.

__________________
burning reflected light onto chemical film. It's real
M3 + Rigid Summicron, Nikon D40 and an iphone for that digital look. my Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #47
philipus
ʎɐpɹəʇɥƃıɹq looɟɹəʇƃıɹq
 
philipus's Avatar
 
philipus is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: '(,,,,)°l°
Posts: 1,019
I use a 9000 and used to scan on a V ED (which I still have). I like the 9000 for its versatility and speed. The light source is definitely softer than that in the V which I like, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krötenblender View Post
I used to use a dedicated 35mm Film/Dia-Scanner (Reflecta Crystal Scan 7200). But since a short time I use a different approach: I bought a Leica BEOON from the 1950ies and use the Leica M240 with a 50mm Summilux ASPH at f11 to create 1:1 macro shots. The lens and negative holder are comletely shielded against reflective or stray light with some really sophisticated small black card board constructs... As light source I use a iPad with bright white sceen and a diffusor glass plate over it, where the BEOON stands on.
Intriguing. Could you post an example? I'm surprised thus setup works well for 6x6.
__________________
philipus.com

Camera position: In general as shown in Fig. H and J, but according to requirements other positions are also possible or more practical.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #48
vbsoto
Registered User
 
vbsoto's Avatar
 
vbsoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
I'm using a Epson 3170 w Vuescan. I'm relatively pleased with the results, having printed some to 11x14 thru Costco and Samsclub. I've been scanning my back catalog going on a year now. Get about 3 rolls on a good day as I go about my work at the office.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #49
semilog
curmudgeonly optimist
 
semilog's Avatar
 
semilog is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,683
I was using my dear old Polaroid SprintScan 4000 until it bit the dust
__________________
There are two kinds of photographers:
those who are interested in what a particular camera can't do,
and those who are interested in what it can do.

semilog.smugmug.com | flickr.com/photos/semilog/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2014   #50
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,845
I should answer choices 2, 3 and 5. But I can't.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-2014   #52
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,845
To flesh out my brief earlier response:

- My most recent 'scanning' setup for 35mm slide film is the Olympus E-M1 fitted with MMF-3 mount adapter and the Olympus ZD 35mm f/3.5 Macro lens, itself fitted with a Nikon ES-1 slide copying holder. Fit a slide in, point it at a nice even light source (flat panel light box for me), focus, set f/8, and shoot. It nets an 11 Mpixel image of the full 35mm frame once cropped to the image area. Resolution, dynamic range, and color are extremely good, and you have the raw files for detail tonal curve tweaking.

- For 6x6 and 35mm B&W negative strips, I use either a Nikon Super Coolscan 9000 or Coolscan V (35mm only). The Super Coolscan 9000 has a more diffuse light source and can load 12 exposures at a time (strips of six), the net result is it's a bit gentler on slightly damaged or dirty negs, and can scan more frames*unattended in batch mode (VueScan). The Coolscan V is a bit faster but has a harder light source, it can handle up to six exposures in a load. It's a bit easier to work with for 'non-standard 35mm formats' (like half frame, Robot square, etc) than the 9000.

I scan using VueScan with a raw workflow, that is, scan max resolution setting only the bias to capture the entire dynamic range, output to VueScan raw encapsulated DNG files. I annotate the DNG files with metadata using EXIFtool, then import them into Lightroom. Customized camera calibration files are applied which do the B&W reversal and tonal curve assignment. From there I export/import into 16bit TIFF files for finish rendering.

- For various other B&W negatives, I use a copy camera setup and the aforementioned lightbox...

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-2014   #53
jwcat
Registered User
 
jwcat is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 248
I am using an X-E1 with Nikkor Micro 55mm 2.8 and extension tube. Just started but looks good. I am investigating the Colorperfect program for color negs. Free trial and will do it when my computer gets back up. Slides and B&W look good without it.

http://www.c-f-systems.com/Plug-ins.html#colorperfect

John
__________________
John C
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #54
vbsoto
Registered User
 
vbsoto's Avatar
 
vbsoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
@ Godfrey, I'm using Vuescan in the same way producing raw .tiff. I presumed it was all auto. What do you mean by setting the bias? If you could provide a little detail on that process, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Victor
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #55
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbsoto View Post
@ Godfrey, I'm using Vuescan in the same way producing raw .tiff. I presumed it was all auto. What do you mean by setting the bias? If you could provide a little detail on that process, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Victor
It's mostly auto. If you look at the raw histogram, you can see that sometimes the data falls inside the limit points. Adjusting the capture black point and white point seems to result in shifting the histogram once in LR as well.

I can't say that it does for sure as I haven't done specific testing, I just adjust black and white points to bring the bias in line. This is descendent of my previous workflow when I output TIFF files ... I might be fooling myself into thinking there is something going on when there isn't! ;-)

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #56
Michael Markey
Registered User
 
Michael Markey's Avatar
 
Michael Markey is online now
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Blackpool ,England
Age: 66
Posts: 3,432
Happy with my Epson V500 using Epson software.
Prior to that I was using Ilford for my development and scans.

Should the V500 break I would probably revert to using Ilford again or get a V750.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #57
vbsoto
Registered User
 
vbsoto's Avatar
 
vbsoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Thanks Godfrey.

Victor
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #58
wakarimasen
Registered User
 
wakarimasen's Avatar
 
wakarimasen is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 996
I'm really surprised about the proportion of people using a flatbed. For some reason, I thought most people scanning 35mm film would be using a dedicated scanner.
__________________
tap tap tap...
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #59
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakarimasen View Post
I'm really surprised about the proportion of people using a flatbed. For some reason, I thought most people scanning 35mm film would be using a dedicated scanner.
Dedicated film scanners have gotten a bit thin on the ground, and flatbed scanners have improved enough to make them usable, if not ideal.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #60
Bruno Gracia
Registered User
 
Bruno Gracia's Avatar
 
Bruno Gracia is offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ronda (Spain)
Age: 32
Posts: 732
I'm with Godfrey, and very happy with the V750.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #61
dof
Fiat Lux
 
dof's Avatar
 
dof is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 636
I take a combination approach:

Every roll gets scanned by a local lab at a resolution that allows for decent 4x6 prints. Those scans, when imported into Lightroom effectively become contact prints, only much larger of course. I typically print the ones I like best and get a feel for how they look on paper at that size.

Over time I edit, keeping notes on which negatives I want at higher resolution, or a difference in the scan exposure. After gathering up a number of keepers, I rent time on an Imacon scanner at a local rental lab. There I typically scan at the highest res available.

Overall it's been a good approach - it provides flexibility and ease of working with my negatives while minimizing the time spent to initially see all of them. The time commitment and deep expense go mainly into just the best of the best.
__________________
-J.
---------------------------------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-15-2014   #62
DNG
Film Friendly
 
DNG's Avatar
 
DNG is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Camby, Indiana. USA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,955
I use a V700 in 16bit Gray Mode for B&W
48 bit for Color slides or negatives
35mm at 3200dpi-3800dpi
larger between 2200-2800dpi

I use Epson Scan also..
I do most of editing in Lr 5.x and PS14, just a little tweaking in Epson Scan..
Epson Scan with the supplied carriers allow for automatic framing of each neg/slide, and with 12 negs/slides per scan... that saves a ton of time!!!
__________________
Feedback Link
Flickr: My Street
Other Gallories
Nikon: F2, FM2n, EM, Konica FS-1, Fuji X100T
Nikkor: 24mm f/2.8 Ais, 28mm f/3.5 Ai, 50mm f/1.4 N/Ai
Hexanon: 40mm f/1.8 AR, 57mm f/1.2 AR

Last edited by DNG : 03-27-2015 at 10:02. Reason: Update Info
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2014   #63
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
For a fast scan I use my Nikon LS-2000. For a larger more detailed scan I use my Canon FS4000US for the higher native dpi. For larger than 135 film I use my flatbed. Yes I'm very happy with the results.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2014   #64
heller
Registered User
 
heller is offline
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
I scan on Hasselblad Flextight X5.
www.scanningfilm.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2014   #65
jhalmu
Registered User
 
jhalmu is offline
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 8
For 120mm I use Epson V600 and Betterscanning anti-newton holder. For 35mm I use Plustek 8100. Software is Vuescan + PS + LR. For colorfilm, which I not do very much yet, I have Color Perfect waiting.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2014   #66
Stuart John
Registered User
 
Stuart John's Avatar
 
Stuart John is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 574
Here are a few from my "D800 Scanner" Film APX100 stand develop for way too long unfortunately.






__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photogsjm/
http://www.sjmphotography.co.nr/

Canonet QL17, Canonet 28, Zorki C
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2014   #67
AndersG
Registered User
 
AndersG's Avatar
 
AndersG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 208
For 35mm film I use my old (for digital gear) Canon 30D with a EF 50mm f/1.8 II and an extension tube. The magnification doesn't match completely so after cropping I have about 5Mpixels left. That is more than enough for my "contact sheet" register and web use. I use VueScan for processing 30D RAW images of negative film.

Should I want one of my film images on paper I'd be inclined to try wet printing again - but currently I have that gear packed away.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-2014   #68
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 443
I voted send my away, but also I use a flatbed scanner (Epson V500).

Not having dedicated processing facilities at home, for my new work I send my films (B&W) to be developed and high resolution scanned. For my archived own developed films I use the V500 using Epson software, which, while not ideal - they come nowhere near the quality of the profession scans - suits my needs.

Here in the UK I use AgPhotoLabs for processing. I have no connection with the company, except as a customer.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-2014   #69
Tokoza
Registered User
 
Tokoza is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Atherton View Post
I voted send my away, but also I use a flatbed scanner (Epson V500).

Not having dedicated processing facilities at home, for my new work I send my films (B&W) to be developed and high resolution scanned. For my archived own developed films I use the V500 using Epson software, which, while not ideal - they come nowhere near the quality of the profession scans - suits my needs.

Here in the UK I use AgPhotoLabs for processing. I have no connection with the company, except as a customer.
I found the Epson sofware sufficient with v500. And I can’t really see the need for multi sampling with this scanner (a possible option with Vuescan) and with other a flat bed scanners, because of the additional image blurring that is given. When a negative is read with multiple scans the starting point for each scanning is slightly different. With a dedicated scanner this difference should become greatly reduced.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-2014   #70
Ron (Netherlands)
Registered User
 
Ron (Netherlands)'s Avatar
 
Ron (Netherlands) is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,921
Nikon Coolscan 8000, for 35mm and medium format.
Below a scan from a 35mm neg:

__________________
__________________
When day is done......

Leica: IIa synch conversion, IIIb, M6 TTL Millenium, Rolleicord V, Rolleiflex 3.5F, Rolleiflex 2.8A

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-2014   #71
whited3
Registered User
 
whited3's Avatar
 
whited3 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 214
I digitize my 135 negs with my dslr as a handful have mentioned. I definitely like the results. Details being: Window light; Tripod; Canon slide duplicator for FL Bellows; Canon FD 50mm f3.5 macro @ f8; whichever extension tubes to get the correct magnification; 1ds mk2 @ 100 or 200 ISO. Shooting in manual, I set up my exposure & focus one time, hand hold the duplicator to my lens (yep, that's right), and blast through a 36 roll at a leisurely 15 or 20 minutes (includes fully enjoying my negs for the 1st time too).

I find it's typically quite easy to contain & center the entire histogram of a B&W negative in camera using window light. C41 is more tricky due to the orange film base typically resulting in blown reds and/or underexposed blues (net effect is harsh correction in post). I solve this by lighting off of a royal blue backdrop (again from window light) typically resulting again in fully contained & centered histograms. I thought about rigging up some dedicated setup with a speedlight, but I find the above so easy to set up and tear down I just don't care to change.

Having captured the above in raw, I am quite comfortable inverting and post processing. Minimal cropping (pixel loss) is needed, shadows and highs are nice and malleable, film grain is nicely resolved. Color correction was troublesome at first, but after having adopted the blue backdrop trick, it's a snap.

No idea if this is the best way... I am just really comfortable and familiar with the whole workflow so it's great for me. That and I only needed the macro lens, tubes, and slide duplicator - less than $100
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-2014   #72
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokoza View Post
I found the Epson sofware sufficient with v500. And I can’t really see the need for multi sampling with this scanner (a possible option with Vuescan) and with other a flat bed scanners, because of the additional image blurring that is given. When a negative is read with multiple scans the starting point for each scanning is slightly different. With a dedicated scanner this difference should become greatly reduced.
To be clear Tokoza, I don't multi-sample.

My biggest issue with the V500 is getting negatives flat using the supplied flimsy plastic carriers. I suspect I should invest in glass carriers, which at some point I may do.

Also, I might try a SLR/macro lens set up, which brings me to the other bane of my life: speed. With V500 I find scanning time-consusming and boring, which is now why I send my films away.

While on the subject of scanning, I have to say the posted drum scans on the drum scan thread, especially large format, are absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing them.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2014   #73
fuji645
Registered User
 
fuji645 is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 126
I use a Microtek i900 and SilverFast for 35mm and 120 but I checked the Nikon Coolscan since my equipment wasn't listed.
__________________
Fuji GS 645, Nettar 6x6, Kiev III and a bunch of other stuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-2014   #75
quicksilvermike
quicksilver
 
quicksilvermike's Avatar
 
quicksilvermike is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Quezon City,Philippines
Age: 59
Posts: 30
I used Epson V600! Very reliable!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2014   #76
van_d
Registered User
 
van_d is offline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 111
^ Ditto. Except mine seems to act funny with slide film. But I don't shoot slide film anymore, so it makes little difference for me.
__________________
Fuji X100S, Klasse S | Konica Hexar AF | Yashica A | Olympus XA2 | Nikon F90, D90

My Blog
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-06-2014   #77
lukitas
second hand noob
 
lukitas's Avatar
 
lukitas is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brussels, belgium
Posts: 762
the poll is incomplete.

I use a D3100 clamped to the stand of an enlarger.
__________________
lukitas

Gallery

photos by lukitas
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-18-2014   #78
maxwell1295
Registered User
 
maxwell1295's Avatar
 
maxwell1295 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 533
Pakon F135 + dedicate XP laptop...this is easily the best purchase I've made for 35mm film, including any of the cameras I've bought.
__________________
Canon EOS 1n, Fuji GA645, Pentax 6x7, Olympus OM-1, Polaroid 360, Rollei 35

My Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-18-2014   #79
srmulcahy
Sean Mulcahy
 
srmulcahy's Avatar
 
srmulcahy is offline
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 28
I use a Plustek Opticfilm 8100 with Vuescan. At the start of each roll I scan an area between the negatives and lock the film exposure. For Arista Premium 400 in XTol this has been consistently an exposure value of ~1.49. From there the scanned negatives look great and I usually just adjust the curves and contrast in Gimp.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-20-2014   #80
Jonik
Registered User
 
Jonik is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 34
I voted wet prints, but come tomorrow I'll be scanning as well! new Proscan 7200 on the way!!! :-)
__________________
-John
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:55.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.