Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 06-13-2017   #681
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Sheel and I have started a website dedicated to analog photography processes including drum scanners. You can access the early version of the website that includes links to Scanmate Service Manuals: www.analogfilm.camera

What version of the dongle do you need? Mac or PC? Check with ABC-Scan as they may have some or also check ebay.

Pali
Thank you Pali the service manual.
I cleaned the lenses but after cleaning the scanner starts making horizontal green lines. What could be a problem?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg teszt1_c.jpg (65.3 KB, 9 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-13-2017   #682
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
Thank you Pali the service manual.
I cleaned the lenses but after cleaning the scanner starts making horizontal green lines. What could be a problem?
This is most likely not related to cleaning the lense but there is a very small chance that you may need to recalibrate apertures.

Before you do that, try doing white balance calibration and also cleaning the bulb contacts. Use a new bulb if you have one and let me know if this resolves the issue.

Also scan using different apertures and see if this only happening for some apertures.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2017   #683
help!
Registered User
 
help! is offline
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
The filter is cheap but not really of poor quality. It is doing as it promises which is cutting infrared light which the Scanmate's PMTs pick up and cause the red cast in shadows. Unless you are experienced with technology boards, I do not recommend replacing the filter. I know a few people who have changed the filter and every single person needed to adjust the PMTs which is a complicated process.
Thanks for your reply. The range of the R1617 tubes ( #540) is from 300 nm to 850 nm (see https://www.hamamatsu.com/us/en/R1617.html). As far as I know, IR is >700 nm and UV < 400 nm (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light#...M_spectrum.svg). Can you confirm that the filter available on ebay (item number 281437567116) fits well for the ScanMate?

Spectrum Parameter:
Tavg >95% @440-620nm
T =50% @648+-15nm
Tavg <= 1 @ 700-1000nm
T: < 1% @ 1050nm

(http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pair-Camera-...116?rmvSB=true)

Where the red colour cast an issue in the 90s when the ScanMate was new?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2017   #684
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by help! View Post
Thanks for your reply. The range of the R1617 tubes ( #540) is from 300 nm to 850 nm (see https://www.hamamatsu.com/us/en/R1617.html). As far as I know, IR is >700 nm and UV < 400 nm (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light#...M_spectrum.svg). Can you confirm that the filter available on ebay (item number 281437567116) fits well for the ScanMate?

Spectrum Parameter:
Tavg >95% @440-620nm
T =50% @648+-15nm
Tavg <= 1 @ 700-1000nm
T: < 1% @ 1050nm

(http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pair-Camera-...116?rmvSB=true)

Where the red colour cast an issue in the 90s when the ScanMate was new?
That is the same filter that I used so yes, it will work but you will need to find a way to secure it right on top of the fiber cable. Many ways to do it and most prefer to just make a tinfoil padding around it so it stays in the center.

I am not sure if the red cast issue was also noticeable when the scanners were new since I didn't get my first drum scanner until 2015. I do however thing that it is possible that the filter coating may have deteriorated over time under bright light/heat from the bulb.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2017   #685
help!
Registered User
 
help! is offline
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Here comes a pic of the original filter:



It's size is around 10mm x 10mm x 1mm. The inner diameter of the ring is around 14,5mm.

Perhaps the filter available on ebay cuts too much visible red light?

T =50% @648+-15nm

I'll try to find a filter where the full transmission curve is available.

EDIT:

There is a second version of the filter (12 x 12 x 1 mm):

  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2017   #686
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Sheel and I have started a website dedicated to analog photography processes including drum scanners. You can access the early version of the website that includes links to Scanmate Service Manuals: www.analogfilm.camera

What version of the dongle do you need? Mac or PC? Check with ABC-Scan as they may have some or also check ebay.

Pali
I cleaned again and the horizontal green lines disappeared.
Thank you the service manual.
Othervise the color quartet real better than color trio?
I am using classic os 9.2 and os x 10.3.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #687
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
I cleaned again and the horizontal green lines disappeared.
Thank you the service manual.
Othervise the color quartet real better than color trio?
I am using classic os 9.2 and os x 10.3.
I have problems with the focus.
After the focus calibration the images looks not enough sharp.
It seems like a fog or diffusion filter...
What could be a problem?
Thank you for the help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg focus test smvsnik.jpg (150.2 KB, 8 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #688
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 209
Try focusing a different spot or use manual focus adjustments.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #689
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Try focusing a different spot or use manual focus adjustments.

Pali
I tried the different spots but the result is same.
I have only focus calibration and descreening function on my colortrio.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #690
Kamph
Registered User
 
Kamph is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
I tried the different spots but the result is same.
I have only focus calibration and descreening function on my colortrio.
That does indeed look soft.

What aperture are you using? Are you focusing on a high contrast edge?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #691
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamph View Post
That does indeed look soft.

What aperture are you using? Are you focusing on a high contrast edge?
Aperture 1.
Yes, I tired focusing different high contrast area.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #692
Kamph
Registered User
 
Kamph is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 140
Are you using the "auto-focus before each scan" function? My SM seemed to struggle a lot with this function, to the point of it being unusable really. I have to calibrate the focus on each frame to get accurate focus.

I'm not familiar with color trio, so I don't know if it even has the function to auto-focus before each scan.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-2017   #693
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamph View Post
Are you using the "auto-focus before each scan" function? My SM seemed to struggle a lot with this function, to the point of it being unusable really. I have to calibrate the focus on each frame to get accurate focus.

I'm not familiar with color trio, so I don't know if it even has the function to auto-focus before each scan.
It is possible that color quartet more accurate by focusing?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2017   #694
Kamph
Registered User
 
Kamph is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
It is possible that color quartet more accurate by focusing?
I wouldn't be able to tell you, as I've never used Color Trio, but I doubt it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2017   #695
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 209
Try scanning a black and white negative to rule out focus issue. If it work with a high contrast bw negative, then the software is not properly focusing on your negative. You can try CQ for free for 30 days. Just install it and it should work properly.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2017   #696
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Try scanning a black and white negative to rule out focus issue. If it work with a high contrast bw negative, then the software is not properly focusing on your negative. You can try CQ for free for 30 days. Just install it and it should work properly.

Pali
Thank you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #697
Kamph
Registered User
 
Kamph is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 140
Oh, btw if it's your first time using QC then just remember to start QC Scan before QC. Otherwise QC won't recognize the scanner.
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #698
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Question: How can I run the service program for aperure calibration? Or, how can I calibrate aperture. The aperure holes not in the middle.
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #699
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagya View Post
Question: How can I run the service program for aperure calibration? Or, how can I calibrate aperture. The aperure holes not in the middle.
You'll need to make the serial cable as described in earlier posts. I strongly recommend that you read this entire thread which has everything you need to make and use the cable.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 22:40.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.