Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M9 / ME

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 01-22-2017   #41
k__43
Registered Film User
 
k__43's Avatar
 
k__43 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonB View Post
If I understand what you're saying about it "sleeping," try turning off discrete mode. Sometimes my M9 won't recognize that I've released the shutter button, so I need to wiggle it a bit for the camera to reset things for the next shot. With the standard shutter mode, it should reset the shutter immediately after release. If that solves your problem, you can do like I do: whenever it stops responding, just jiggle the shutter a little bit, and it'll wind up for the next shot.

Cheers,
Jon
same here
just press the shutter again and after releasing it "advances" again.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #42
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
Hi Duane,
Thanks.
I have not done steps 1 or 3.

Raid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duane Pandorf View Post
I thought I'd throw in my .02 here Raid.

1. Reset camera to factory defaults. From the Menu button choose Reset to get the camera back to original settings.

2. As already mentioned and you verified ensure you're using an SD card that's 16gb or less in size and no faster than 45mb/s.

3. SD Formatter. Use SD formatter to "initially" format the SD card on your computer.

4. Put card in camera and use the Menu selection and choose Format SD card and select Yes. No need to select the Overwrite choice.

5. Deselect the Discreet option in the Advance Menu selection.

6. After downloading images to computer and backing up put SD card back in camera and use Format SD card selection.

I've been following this procedure on my M-E for over 3 years and not had any issues.

(Note: I don't have any scientific evidence and can't find which forum I've read this before but I believe using SD Formatter software to inialize your card will ensure you get the best performance on writing/reading the card)
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #43
uhoh7
Registered User
 
uhoh7 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,806
I think updating to latest firmware would a good idea---be sure you don't get the firmware made for the new sensor, though.

Mine is 1.202, installed by Leica. I have used discreet mode with no problem, but I just use the normal mode usually.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #44
Lss
Registered User
 
Lss is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhoh7 View Post
Mine is 1.202, installed by Leica. I have used discreet mode with no problem, but I just use the normal mode usually.
IIRC version 1.176 is the last stable firmware version. Perhaps you can test whether version 1.202 now fixes the discreet mode problem. I have not seen anyone say it has been fixed.
__________________
Lasse
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #45
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
How do you download a firmware update to the Leica camera? On the card?
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #46
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
I will today take out the M9 for a spin. Our weather just switched from stormy weather with thunderstorms to calm and sunny. Should be a pretty sunset.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #47
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 12,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by raid View Post
How do you download a firmware update to the Leica camera? On the card?
On the Leica website where you download the firmware file there is an accompanying text instruction file. The firmware download arrives as a zip file (for example m9-1_176.zip) that must be unzipped to reveal contents (for example m9-1_176.upd) which you copy to an SD card in the top-level of the file structure...

Instructions for updating the LEICA M9 Firmware
1. Format an SD memory card in your LEICA M9.
2. Turn off the camera and insert the card into an SD card reader – either integrated or connected to your computer. (A reader is required for Firmware updates).
3. Download the Firmware file from the Leica M9 site using the “UPDATES” link and unzip the file.
4. Save the unzipped file (for instance m9-1_176.upd) at the top level of the card’s folder structure.
5. Remove the card properly from your card reader, insert the card into the camera and close the bottom cover.
6. Turn on the camera using the main switch and wait for at least 3 seconds before continuing with step 7.
7. Confirm the prompt that appears in the monitor as to whether you want to update the firmware on the camera (for example to version 1.176).
The update process takes around 180 seconds. You will then be prompted to restart the camera using the main switch.
8. Turn the camera off and back on again.
Note:
• If the battery does not have sufficient charge, you will see a corresponding warning message.
• If you update the firmware on your M9, the camera will be set back to the default settings. This also applies to the folder and file numbers.
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #48
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
Thanks, Doug. I will carefully follow the instructions that you have posted here.

I just got back from using the M9. It behaves better when in standard shutter mode. In one case I got a big scare. I took quickly photo after photo, and the camera shut down. It said "shutter failure". Then it worked again. Is this the beginning of end, or has anyone here seen such a message for one image only? I hope that it is the older firmware. Is this a very costly repair, if it persists?
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #49
pyeh
Registered User
 
pyeh is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Taylor Square
Age: 56
Posts: 325
Raid,
Definitely do not use "discreet"with "continuous". For the M9 little brain, this is an oxymoron and it will freeze it. Also, as people have said, best to use no bigger than 16GB cards. I use 32 GB cards from time to time without trouble though, but I'm going to stop tempting fate. Use a new or different card at the first sign of freezing.
I haven't had the shutter failure message, but I've had freezes when I've shot too many frames in quick succession. I don't use "continuous" because of this. You also have to keep an eye on the flashing red light next to the screen and wait for it to stop flashing before you review pictures.
Sometimes I accidentally turn the switch to continuous, which is very easy to do, so I make sure to never set the camera to discrete.
My two M9s are right now having an onsen holiday in Tokyo to replace corroding sensors. I miss them.
__________________
Peter

Last edited by pyeh : 01-22-2017 at 15:42. Reason: added word
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-22-2017   #50
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
Hi Peter,
It was such a situation where the red light was blinking and I took additional photos. I will change the card to be on the sage side.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-29-2017   #51
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,665
Update: I formated the card and I switched away from discreet mode to standard mode since the camera uses firmware 1.196 which is known not to work well with the discreet mode. Just got back from a sunset (birds) shoot and the M9 functioned beautifully and without any faults. The OEM battery was fully charged.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007

http://raid.smugmug.com/
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:34.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.