Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Fixed Lens 35mm RF

Fixed Lens 35mm RF This forum is dedicated to the numerous and popular fixed lens rangefinders, including but not limited to the Canon Canonets, Konica III and S series, Minoltas, Ricohs, Vivitars, and so many others. Note fixed lens Olympus , Yashicas, Argus and Retina have separate forums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Canonet 28 with canolite problem
Old 02-04-2017   #1
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Canonet 28 with canolite problem

Hi, I have a question about my canonet 28 with canolite d flash. The canonet works perfectly fine on both auto and manual aperture mode. The flash also fires when I am having the camera set on a manual aperture but when I put the camera on automatic mode in low light situations the canonet wont allow me to take a picture. Does anyone have an idea what might cause this problem or what I am doing wrong? I'm quite new to using the canonet with the canolite flash. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #2
johnnyrod
More cameras than shots
 
johnnyrod is offline
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Doncaster, UK
Posts: 305
Have you read the manual? From what i remember, the Canonet won't take pictures if the light is too low, in auto, so of course wouldn't trigger the flash. Normally you'd want to use manual aperture otherwise you don't have any control over the flash intensity - the shutter speed with an electronic flash is irrelevant as its duration is maybe 1/10,000 second so shorter than any shutter speed.
__________________
How does this thing work?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #3
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,109
I suspect the camera isn't detecting the presence of the flash. With the camera set to A it should be automatic, if I'm not mistaken. If it doesn't know there is a flash connected, it likely thinks the light is too low, in which case it won't let the camera fire.

Have you checked the hot shoe contacts? Maybe one of the wires leading from the hot shoe is corroded...
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #4
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrod View Post
Have you read the manual? From what i remember, the Canonet won't take pictures if the light is too low, in auto, so of course wouldn't trigger the flash. Normally you'd want to use manual aperture otherwise you don't have any control over the flash intensity - the shutter speed with an electronic flash is irrelevant as its duration is maybe 1/10,000 second so shorter than any shutter speed.
From what I understand from the manuals the manual aperture settings are to be used with external flashed that are not the canolite d. The canonlite d has an extra hot shoe connection that should let the caninet know there is a canolite flash attached which is synced with the auto settings of the canonet. So I would assume the canonet should fire with low light conditions and a flash attached.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #5
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitimageview View Post
I suspect the camera isn't detecting the presence of the flash. With the camera set to A it should be automatic, if I'm not mistaken. If it doesn't know there is a flash connected, it likely thinks the light is too low, in which case it won't let the camera fire.

Have you checked the hot shoe contacts? Maybe one of the wires leading from the hot shoe is corroded...
I did actually, checked both the camera and the flash inside and outside, all shiny like new. Thats why i'm puzzled it does not work
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #6
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 379
On the Canonet 17 there are geen numbers on the lens barrel to engage the Canonlite D, I never qwned a 28 but if there are any, try those. Welcome to the forum.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #7
Dwig
Registered User
 
Dwig's Avatar
 
Dwig is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Key West, FL, USA
Posts: 1,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canonsven View Post
... The canonlite d has an extra hot shoe connection that should let the caninet know there is a canolite flash attached which is synced with the auto settings of the canonet. So I would assume the canonet should fire with low light conditions and a flash attached.
Correct and maybe not.

It's correct that the Canonette 28 (and QL17 GIII) will detect the presence of a fully recycled Canonlite D and switch from a metered autoexposure mode to a guide number "auto" mode. The cameras will alter their f/stop based on the focus setting while the flash fires at full power all the time.

If memory serves (at my age it's not 100% reliable...), the cameras will lock the shutter release if they are focused either too close or too far away for proper exposure.
__________________
----------
Dwig
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #8
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 379
I just looked at the manual and the flash should sync in "A" mode as long as the shutter speed is between 1/30 and 1/600. What type of battery replacement are you using?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #9
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwig View Post
Correct and maybe not.

It's correct that the Canonette 28 (and QL17 GIII) will detect the presence of a fully recycled Canonlite D and switch from a metered autoexposure mode to a guide number "auto" mode. The cameras will alter their f/stop based on the focus setting while the flash fires at full power all the time.

If memory serves (at my age it's not 100% reliable...), the cameras will lock the shutter release if they are focused either too close or too far away for proper exposure.
Thats exactly how I thought it worked, however I tried that but it still wont let me take a picture
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #10
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madNbad View Post
I just looked at the manual and the flash should sync in "A" mode as long as the shutter speed is between 1/30 and 1/600. What type of battery replacement are you using?
I am using a alkaline v625u 1,5v. Could it be that I need a zink-air battery to make it work?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #11
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 379
No, your replacement should work just fine. What ISO film are you using? According to the manual the flash won't fire if your speed is less than 1/30th in A mode.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-2017   #12
Canonsven
Registered User
 
Canonsven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madNbad View Post
No, your replacement should work just fine. What ISO film are you using? According to the manual the flash won't fire if your speed is less than 1/30th.
I was using iso100 film but I tried every other iso setting on the camera from 50 to 400
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:53.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.